2023 New Mexico Bowl Lines - New Mexico St. vs. Fresno St. Odds

New Mexico Bowl Lines - New Mexico State vs. Fresno State Odds

2022 New Mexico Bowl NCAA Football Betting

The New Mexico State Aggies have one of the worst histories in college football. But that is quickly changing under second-year head coach Jerry Kill. In fact, Kill is producing one of the greatest reclamation projects in the history of college football. In his first season, Kill produced a 7-6 record capped off by a win at the Quick Lane Bowl. It was just the second bowl appearance for the Aggies since 1960. This year, New Mexico State made the CUSA championship game, a pipe dream before Kill’s arrival. Additionally, Kill produced the first double digit win season since 1960 and just the second in the history of the program. New Mexico State will face the Fresno State Bulldogs in the New Mexico Bowl.

2023 New Mexico Bowl at a Glance

Date: Saturday, December 16, 2023

Time (ET) / TV: 5:45 PM / ESPN

Venue: University Stadium, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Matchup: New Mexico State Aggies vs. Fresno State Bulldogs

College Football Betting Lines

New Mexico State Aggies -3

Fresno State Bulldogs +3

Total: 51

Money Line: New Mexico State -150, Fresno State +130

New Mexico Bowl Preview

Last game, the New Mexico State Aggies lost 49-35 in the CUSA championship game against the Liberty Flames as 10-point road dogs. The game went over the total of 58. New Mexico State has a record of 10-4 straight up, 10-3-1 against the spread, and 5-9 over/under the total. New Mexico State ranks 32nd for total offense, 64th for passing, 12th for rushing and 57th for scoring. Defensively, they rank 78th overall, 98th against the pass, 52nd against the rush, and 35th for points allowed. Also, New Mexico State ranks 35th for fewest turnovers lost and 122nd for takeaways.

Jerry Kill has enjoyed a remarkable coaching comeback since having to resign as head coach of the Minnesota Golden Gophers in the middle of the 2015 season due to health issues. The New Mexico Bowl is a great reward for his perseverance.

Last game, the Fresno State Bulldogs lost 33-18 against the San Diego State Aztecs as 5-point road favorites. The game went over the total of 47. Fresno State has a record of 8-4 straight up, 4-8 against the spread, and 8-4 over/under the total. Fresno State ranks 71st for total offense, 29th for passing, 119th for rushing, and 51st for scoring. Defensively, they rank 73rd overall, 53rd against the pass, 98th against the rush, and 56th for points allowed. Also, Fresno State ranks 2nd for fewest turnovers lost and 10th for takeaways.

New Mexico Bowl Prediction

In this situation, there will be a large contingent of appreciative New Mexico State fans on hand. Fresno State is without its outstanding head coach, Jeff Tedford, who is ill. New Mexico State will be a tough out for the Bulldogs.

New Mexico Bowl Format

Founded in 2006, the New Mexico Bowl is played at the University Stadium in Albuquerque, New Mexico, home of the New Mexico Lobos. The conference tie-ins are now the Mountain West Conference and CUSA.

Football Betting Bonus

New Mexico Bowl Past Results

2022 BYU SMU 24-23
2021 Fresno State UTEP 31-24
2020 Hawaii Houston 28-14
2019 San Diego State Central Michigan 48-11
2018 Utah State North Texas 52-13
2017 Marshall Colorado State 31-28
2016 New Mexico UTSA 23-20
2015 Arizona New Mexico 45-37
2014 Utah State UTEP 21-6
2013 Colorado State Washington State 48-45
2012 Arizona Nevada 49-48
2011 Temple Wyoming 37-15
2010 BYU UTEP 52-24
2009 Wyoming Fresno State 35-28
2008 Colorado State Fresno State 40-35
2007 New Mexico Nevada 23-0
2006 San Jose State New Mexico 20-12

Six different programs have won the New Mexico Bowl in the past six years. In recent editions of this bowl game, the winning team usually scores a high number of points. Since 2008, the winning team has scored at least 31 points or more. In 2022, BYU beat SMU 24-23, holding off a Mustang 2-point conversion attempt at game’s end to claim victory.

2023-24 College Football Bowl Games

Saturday, December 16
Myrtle Beach Bowl 11:00 AM / ESPN Georgia Southern vs. Ohio
Celebration Bowl 12:00 PM / ABC Florida A&M vs. Howard
New Orleans Bowl 2:15 PM / ESPN Jacksonville State vs. Louisiana
Cure Bowl 3:30 PM / ABC Miami (Ohio) vs. Appalachian State
New Mexico Bowl 5:45 PM / ESPN Fresno State vs. New Mexico State
LA Bowl 7:30 PM / ABC UCLA vs. Boise State
Independence Bowl 9:15 PM / ESPN Texas Tech vs. California
Monday, December 18
Bahamas Bowl (Temporarily Famous Toastery Bowl) 2:30 PM / ESPN Western Kentucky vs. Old Dominion
Tuesday, December 19
Frisco Bowl 9:00 PM / ESPN Marshall vs. UTSA
Thursday, December 21
Boca Raton Bowl 8:00 PM / ESPN USF vs. Syracuse
Friday, December 22
Gasparilla Bowl 6:30 PM / ESPN Georgia Tech vs. UCF
Saturday, December 23
Birmingham Bowl 12:00 PM / ABC Troy vs. Duke
Camellia Bowl 12:00 PM / ESPN Arkansas State vs. Northern Illinois
Armed Forces Bowl 3:30 PM / ABC Air Force vs. James Madison
Famous Idaho Potato Bowl 3:30 PM / ESPN Georgia State vs. Utah State
68 Ventures Bowl 7:00 PM / ESPN Eastern Michigan vs. South Alabama
Las Vegas Bowl 7:30 PM / ABC Northwestern vs. Utah
Hawai'i Bowl 10:30 PM / ESPN San Jose State vs. Coastal Carolina
Tuesday, December 26
Quick Lane Bowl 2:00 PM / ESPN Bowling Green vs. Minnesota
First Responder Bowl 5:30 PM / ESPN Texas State vs. Rice
Guaranteed Rate Bowl 9:00 PM / ESPN Kansas vs. UNLV
Wednesday, December 27
Military Bowl 2:00 PM / ESPN Tulane vs. Virginia Tech
Duke's Mayo Bowl 5:30 PM / ESPN North Carolina vs. West Virginia
Holiday Bowl 8:00 PM / ESPN (15) Louisville vs. Southern Cal
Texas Bowl 9:00 PM / ESPN (20) Oklahoma State vs. Texas A&M
Thursday, December 28
Fenway Bowl 11:00 AM / ESPN (24) SMU vs. Boston College
Pinstripe Bowl 2:15 PM / ESPN Rutgers vs. Miami
Pop-Tarts Bowl 5:45 PM / ESPN (18) NC State vs. (25) Kansas State
Alamo Bowl 9:15 PM / ESPN (12) Oklahoma vs. (14) Arizona
Friday, December 29
Gator Bowl 12:00 PM / ESPN (22) Clemson vs. Kentucky
Tony the Tiger Sun Bowl 2:00 PM / CBS (16) Notre Dame vs. (19) Oregon State
Liberty Bowl 3:30 PM / ESPN Memphis vs. Iowa State
Cotton Bowl 8:00 PM / ESPN (7) Ohio State vs. (9) Missouri
Saturday, December 30
Peach Bowl 12:00 PM / ESPN (10) Penn State vs. (11) Mississippi
Music City Bowl 2:00 PM / ABC Auburn vs. Maryland
Orange Bowl 4:00 PM / ESPN (5) Florida State vs. (6) Georgia 
Arizona Bowl 4:30 PM (Barstool) Wyoming vs. Toledo
Monday, Jan. 1, 2024
ReliaQuest Bowl 12:00 PM / ESPN2 (13) LSU vs. Wisconsin
Citrus Bowl 1:00 PM / ABC (17) Iowa vs. (21) Tennessee
Fiesta Bowl 1:00 PM / ESPN (8) Oregon vs. (23) Liberty
Rose Bowl (CFP Semifinal) 5:00 PM / ESPN (1) Michigan vs. (4) Alabama
Sugar Bowl (CFP Semifinal) 8:45 PM / ESPN (2) Washington vs. (3) Texas
Monday, Jan. 8, 2024
CFP National Championship Game 7:30 PM / ESPN Semifinals Winners

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best NCAA Football Betting Odds, NCAA Football Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Back to Top