2019 Independence Bowl Betting Lines - College Bowl Games Odds

Home > Sports Betting > Football Betting > Walk-On's Independence Bowl

2019 Walk-On's Independence Bowl Betting Odds

Independence Bowl Betting Odds

In the first-ever meeting between Duke and Temple, the Blue Devils left no doubt who was the better team. After going into half down six points, Duke put it on Temple in the second half, outscoring their opponent 35-0. Daniel Jones threw four touchdowns in the comeback and ended the day with 423 yards and five touchdowns through the air. For all we know, that could have been the one game that Dave Gettleman watched, and that’s why Jones was the No. 6 overall pick in the 2019 NFL Draft.

2019 Walk-On's Independence Bowl at a Glance

Date: Thursday, December 26, 2019

Time: 4:00 p.m. ET

Venue: Independence Stadium

Location: Shreveport, Louisiana


Matchup: SEC vs. ACC / Notre Dame

Walk-On's Independence Bowl Format

Through the 2019 season the Independence Bowl will have primary agreements with the Atlantic Coast Conference and the Southeastern Conference. Secondary affiliations are with Conference USA and the American Athletic Conference.

For the first five years, the Southland Conference champion was the bowl host. However, looking to gain prominence among the group of bowl games, organizers ended the affiliation with the Southland and were granted open-ended status on both sides.

Two at-large teams squared off until the 1995 season when an agreement was reached with the SEC. The Mountain West and Big 12 have also been affiliated with the Independence Bowl however the current conference alignment was established in 2012 with an extension reached in 2014.

A three-year title sponsorship agreement was reached with Baton Rouge-based Walk-On’s Bistreaux and Bar prior to the 2017 matchup between Florida State and Southern Miss.

Walk-On's Independence Bowl Game Results (Since 2000)

2018 Duke Temple 56-27
2017 Florida State Southern Miss 42-13
2016 North Carolina State Vanderbilt 41-17
2015 Virginia Tech Tulsa 55-52
2014 South Carolina Miami (Fla.) 24-21
2013 Arizona Boston College 42-19
2012 Ohio Louisiana-Monroe 45-14
2011 Missouri North Carolina 41-24
2010 Air Force Georgia Tech 14-7
2009 Georgia Texas A&M 44-20
2008 Louisiana Tech Northern Illinois 17-10
2007 Alabama Colorado 30-24
2006 Oklahoma State Alabama 34-31
2005 Missouri South Carolina 38-31
2004 Iowa State Miami (Ohio) 17-13
2003 Arkansas Missouri 27-14
2002 Mississippi Nebraska 27-23
2001 Alabama Iowa State 14-13
2000 Mississippi State Texas A&M 43-41 (OT)

The McNeese State Cowboys represented the Southland Conference in three of the first five Independence Bowls, winning the inaugural game, 20-16, in a mild upset over Tulsa on December 13, 1976.

Dropping the Southland as host conference in 1981, the bowl hit it big with at-large teams Texas A&M and Oklahoma State, coached by Jimmy Johnson at the time. The Aggies won that matchup 33-16. Attracting a title sponsor for the 1990 game, the Poulan Weed-Eater Independence Bowl resulted in the only tie game with Louisiana Tech and Maryland playing to a 34-34 draw.

A record bowl game crowd of 50,459 packed Independence Stadium on December 28, 1997 to watch the LSU Tigers defeat Notre Dame 27-9. The Tigers made their second appearance in three years after besting Michigan State, 45-26, in the 1995 edition.

The ACC has dominated play recently with four straight wins. It is the longest run of success for a conference in this bowl game since the SEC won nine straight between 1995 and 2003.

Most All-Time Wins at Walk-On's Independence Bowl

4 Mississippi 1986, 1998, 1999, 2002
3 Air Force 1983, 1984, 2010
2 Louisiana Tech 1977, 2008
2 Alabama 2001, 2007
2 Missouri 2005, 2011
2 Southern Miss 1980, 1988
2 Virginia Tech 1993, 2015
2 Georgia 1991, 2009
2 LSU 1995, 1997

It’s not surprising to see a number of schools from the state of Louisiana with multiple appearances at the Independence Bowl. La. Tech has played four times with a 2-1-1 record with its last victory coming in 2008. Now a member of the lower-level FCS, McNeese State out of Lake Charles won the maiden Independence Bowl and played in three of the first five contests before the bowl dropped the Southland Conference as its host.

The Tigers of LSU made their only two appearances in a three-year stretch winning both times. Monroe was the last Louisiana school to appear, losing to Ohio in the 2010 edition in its only appearance.

Ole Miss leads the way with five all-time appearances in bowl history while cashing in a record four victories. The Rebels matched Air Force as the only teams to win back-to-back games, turning the trick in 1998 and 1999. Three years later the Rebels won again, knocking off Nebraska for their record win.

2019-20 College Bowl Games Betting Schedule

College Football Playoff
Dec 28 Peach Bowl Atlanta, GA / 4 or 8 PM TBA vs. TBA
Dec 28 Fiesta Bowl Glendale, AZ / 4 or 8 PM TBA vs. TBA
Jan 13 CFP National Championship New Orleans, LA / TBA Semifinal Winners
Selection Committee Bowl Games
Dec 28 Cotton Bowl Arlington, TX / Noon At-large vs. At-large
Dec 30 Orange Bowl Miami Gardens, FL / 8 PM ACC vs. Big Ten/SEC/ND
Jan 1 Rose Bowl Pasadena, CA / 5 PM Big Ten vs. Pac-12
Jan 1 Sugar Bowl New Orleans, LA / 8:45 PM Big 12 vs. SEC
Other Bowl Games
Dec 20 Bahamas Bowl Nassau, Bahamas / 2 PM C-USA vs. MAC
Dec 20 Frisco Bowl Frisco, TX / 7:30 PM American vs. Sun Belt
Dec 21 Celebration Bowl Atlanta, GA / 12:00 PM MEAC vs. SWAC
Dec 21 New Mexico Bowl Albuquerque, NM / 2 PM C-USA vs. Mountain West
Dec 21 Cure Bowl Orlando, FL / 2:30 PM American vs. Sun Belt
Dec 21 Boca Raton Bowl Boca Raton, FL / 3:30 PM MAC vs. American
Dec 21 Camelia Bowl Montgomery, AL / 5:30 PM MAC vs. Sun Belt
Dec 21 Las Vegas Bowl Las Vegas, NV / 7:30 PM Pac-12 vs. Mountain West
Dec 21 New Orleans Bowl New Orleans, LA / 9 PM C-USA vs. American
Dec 23 Gasparilla Bowl Tampa, FL / 2:30 PM C-USA vs. ACC/American
Dec 24 Hawaii Bowl Honolulu, HI / 8 PM BYU vs. American
Dec 26 Independence Bowl Shreveport, LA / 4 PM SEC vs. ACC/Notre Dame
Dec 26 Quick Lane Bowl Detroit, MI / 8 PM Big Ten vs. ACC/Notre Dame
Dec 27 Military Bowl Annapolis, MD / Noon American vs. ACC/Notre Dame
Dec 27 Pinstripe Bowl The Bronx, NY / 3:20 PM Big Ten vs. ACC/Notre Dame
Dec 27 Texas Bowl Houston, TX / 6:45 PM Big 12 vs. SEC
Dec 27 Holiday Bowl San Diego, CA / TBA Big Ten vs. Pac-12
Dec 27 Cheez-It Bowl Phoenix, AZ / 10:15 PM Big 12 vs. Pac-12
Dec 28 Camping World Bowl Orlando, FL / Noon Big 12 vs. ACC/Notre Dame
Dec 30 First Responder Bowl University Park, TX / 12:30 PM Big Ten vs. C-USA/ACC
Dec 30 Music City Bowl Nashville, TN / 4 PM SEC vs. ACC/Big Ten/ND
Dec 30 Redbox Bowl Santa Clara, CA / TBA Big Ten vs. Pac-12
Dec 31 Belk Bowl Charlotte, NC / Noon SEC vs. ACC/Notre Dame
Dec 31 Sun Bowl El Paso, TX / 2 PM Pac-12 vs. ACC/Notre Dame
Dec 31 Arizona Bowl Tucson, AZ / 4:30 PM Mountain West vs. Sun Belt
Dec 31 Alamo Bowl San Antonio, TX / 7:30 PM Big 12 vs. Pac-12
Dec 31 Liberty Bowl Mephis, TN / 3:45 PM Big 12 vs. SEC
Jan 1 Outback Bowl Tampa, FL / 1 PM Big Ten vs. SEC
Jan 1 Citrus Bowl Orlando, FL / 1 PM Big Ten vs. SEC
Jan 2 Birmingham Bowl Birmingham, AL / 3 PM SEC vs. American
Jan 2 Gator Bowl Jacksonville, FL / 7 PM SEC vs. ACC/Big Ten/ND
Jan 3 Idaho Potato Bowl Boise, ID / 3:30 PM MAC vs. Mountain West
Jan 4 Armed Forces Bowl Fort Worth, TX / 11:30 AM Mountain West vs. Big Ten
Jan 6 Mobile Alabama Bowl Mobile, AL / 7:30 PM MAC vs. Sun Belt

2019 NCAA Football Schedule

NCAA Football Teams

Football Betting Bonus

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best NCAA Football Betting Odds, NCAA Football Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Live Lines

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top