CFP National Championship Betting Online - Football Odds

CFP National Championship Betting

CFP National Championship

There is a clear favorite to win the College Football Playoff National Championship Game this season. Georgia has won back-to-back national titles, and the Bulldogs are seen as the team to beat once more by the college football future odds even though Stetson Bennett is now in the NFL. Top contenders Alabama and Ohio State are also replacing their starting quarterbacks, and neither team has shown an ability to reload on defense at the same level as Georgia.

College Football Betting Lines

Carson Beck looks to be the starting quarterback for Georgia entering the 2023 season. Beck saw some action last year, and he won’t be asked to do too much in this offense. The Bulldogs have a ton of talent along the offensive line, and they can run the ball extremely well with Kendall Milton and Daijun Edwards. Tight end Brock Bowers is a real difference maker too because of his superb run blocking and ability to use his frame to get open.

There are a lot of moving pieces for Alabama on both sides of the ball this season. The Crimson Tide only return five starters on offense and five starters on defense, and they don’t have either Bryce Young or Will Anderson. Tyler Buchner and Jalen Milroe are battling for the starting QB job, while the linebacking corps is very raw.

Ohio State should return to the playoff after a two-year absence this season. The Buckeyes haven’t been able to get past Michigan lately, but they have much more talent and might have the best skill position players in the country.

National Championship Game Format

The College Football Playoff National Championship Game pairs the winning teams from the College Football Playoff semifinal rounds. Seven teams have made it to the CFP multiple times since its inception with Alabama and Clemson leading the way. Ohio State and Georgia have both made it to the CFP National Championship Game twice, while Michigan, Notre Dame, and Oklahoma have never made it this far as they are all winless in the CFP.

CFP National Championship Past Results

2022 (No. 1) Georgia (No. 3) TCU 65-7
2021 (No. 3) Georgia (No. 1) Alabama 33-18
2020 (No. 1) Alabama (No. 3) Ohio State 52-24
2019 (No. 1) LSU (No. 3) Clemson 42-25
2018 (No. 2) Clemson (No. 1) Alabama 44-16
2017 (No. 4) Alabama (No. 3) Georgia 26-23 (OT)
2016 (No. 2) Clemson (No. 1) Alabama 35-31
2015 (No. 2) Alabama (No. 1) Clemson 45-40
2014 (No. 4) Ohio State (No. 2) Oregon 42-20
Football Betting Bonus

An SEC team has won the College Football Playoff National Championship Game for four straight seasons. LSU was the most dominant team we’ve seen in years during the 2019 campaign and Alabama smashed Ohio State at the conclusion of the 2020 season. Georgia toppled Alabama in 2021 after a heartbreaking loss to the Crimson Tide at the end of the 2017 season in Atlanta, and the Bulldogs completely dominated TCU from start to finish to win its second straight national championship last season.

CFP National Championship By Team

6 Alabama 3 (2015, 2017, 2020) 3 (2016, 2018, 2021)
4 Clemson 2 (2016, 2018) 2 (2015, 2019)
3 Georgia 2 (2021, 2022) 1 (2017)
2 Ohio State 1 (2014) 1 (2020)
1 LSU 1 (2019) 0
1 Oregon 0 1 (2014)
1 TCU 0 1 (2022)

Two programs have stood above the rest when it comes to college football in the CFP era. Alabama and Clemson have clearly been the two elite programs in the nation, although the Tigers have not made it to the CFP for the last two seasons. These two schools have combined to win five of the last eight national championships, and they met in the National Championship Game four times between 2015 and 2019.

Georgia has emerged as the new team to beat in the current era. The Bulldogs became the first team in the CFP era to win consecutive titles in 2022, and they nearly knocked off Alabama in overtime of the 2017 National Championship Game. Kirby Smart has built a Death Star in Athens, and the Bulldogs look to be a serious contender for the foreseeable future.

Since its inception, two teams have been constant fixtures in the College Football Playoff. Alabama has made it to the CFP seven times and has played in the CFP National Championship Game six times. The Crimson Tide are 3-3 in the national championship, with two of their losses coming to the other power in this era.

Clemson went to the CFP for six straight seasons from 2015 to 2020. The Tigers lost twice in the national semifinals, and they made it to the title game four times. They bested Alabama twice thanks to standout performances from Trevor Lawrence and Deshaun Watson.

Now, it might be Georgia’s turn to dominate. The Bulldogs secured the biggest blowout in national championship history with a 65-7 throttling of TCU at the end of the 2022 season to win their second straight national championship. They are the first team to repeat as national champions in the CFP era.

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best NCAA Football Betting Odds, NCAA Football Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top