2024 Cycling Odds - Cycling Grand Tours Betting

Cycling Betting Online

BookMaker Cycling Betting Online

The sport of cycling has three major annual events. The Giro d’Italia, Tour De France, and Vuelta a España are the three most important events in the sport. They are known as Grand Tours, and they are all three-week-long races broken down into daily stages. From a gambling perspective, the Grand Tour races are the only ones that draw any noticeable betting handle, and the Tour de France dwarfs the other two Grand Tour events as the Super Bowl of cycling. The Tour de France generates more gambling activity than all other cycling events combined.

2024 Cycling Grand Tours Schedule

2024 Giro d' Italia

Date: May 4-26, 2024

Last Seven Winners

2023 – Primoz Roglic (SLO)

2022 – Jai Hindley (AUS)

2021 – Egan Bernal (COL)

2020 – Tao Geoghegan (GBR)

2019 – Richard Carapaz (ECU)

2018 – Chris Froome (GBR)

2017 – Tom Dumoulin (GBR)

2016 – Vincenzo Nibali (ITA)

2023 Giro d’Italia Recap

Primoz Roglic expanded his Grand Tour portfolio by winning the Giro d’Italia to add to his three Spanish Vuelta titles.

The former ski jumper became the first Slovenian rider to win the Giro, and he did it dramatically, claiming the lead in the penultimate stage — taking the pink jersey fromGeraint Thomas in the final Saturday’s mountain time trial.

It was the direct opposite of what happened in the 2020 Tour de France when fellow Slovenian Tadej Pogacar took the lead from Roglic in another penultimate-day mountain time trial.

During the podium celebration, Roglic’s son, Lev, joined him on the stage and seemed more excited than his dad.

Riding a pink bike and wearing a pink helmet and pink socks, Roglic took it easy during the mostly ceremonious final stage, an 84-mile leg through the cobblestoned streets of Rome that concluded next to the Roman Forum.

Mark Cavendish, who announced that he will retire at the end of the season, won the 21st and final stage in a sprint finish.

Roglic, who rides for the Jumbo-Visma team, finished 14 seconds ahead of Thomas and 1 minute, 15 seconds ahead of Joao Almeida in the overall standings.

It’s the smallest finishing gap between the top riders in the Giro since Eddy Merckx won by 12 seconds ahead of Gianbattista Baronchelli in 1974.

Roglic’s time trial victory on Monte Lussari was his only stage win of the race. He was injured after crashing on a wet and slippery descent in Stage 11, one of several falls he had during the three-week race.

It was Cavendish’s 17th career stage win in the Giro, to go with his 34 victories at the Tour de France and three at the Vuelta — for a total of 54 stage wins at Grand Tours. The British rider started his sprint early enough that he was ahead of a crash in the final straight involving several competitors.

Also, at age 38, Cavendish became the oldest rider to win a Giro stage, beating the record held by Paolo Tiralongo, who was 37 when he won a stage in 2015.

Of course, many fans and gamblers associate cycling and the Tour de France with perpetual doping scandals. From the very start of the Tour de France in 1903, cheating has been part of the fabric of the event. The first Tour de France winner, Maurice Garin, set the standard for this tradition. Garin was stripped of his win in the second Tour de France in 1904.

Namely, Lance Armstrong lives in cycling infamy as the greatest cheater of all time. Armstrong won the Tour de France every year from 1999 through 2005, only to be stripped of each title for doping. The three winners before Armstrong were also stripped of their titles for doping.

However, Armstrong made a lot of money before he was caught, as did many gamblers who rode his wave and cashed in their tickets before the story blew up.

In recent years, the sport has significantly improved in cleaning up its competitors and image. The last disqualified rider was Floyd Landis in 2006. Since then, Alberto Contador and Chris Froome had close calls but kept their titles. Most important of all, gamblers kept their winnings regardless.

2024 Tour de France

Date: June 29-July 21, 2024

Last Seven Winners

2023 – Jonas Vingegaard (DEN)

2022 – Jonas Vingegaard (DEN)

2021 – Tadej Pogacar (SLO)

2020 – Tadej Pogacar (SLO)

2019 – Egan Bernal (COL)

2018 – Geraint Thomas (GBR)

2017 – Chris Froome (GBR)

2016 – Chris Froome (GBR)

2023 Tour de France Recap

There are few things more difficult than defending a Tour de France title, but Jonas Vingegaard proved up to the task. The quiet Dane showed up in Bilbao prepared, fended off two weeks of attacks from the explosive Tadej Pogacar, and proved strongest in the decisive third week of the biggest race on earth. A stage win in the hilly Stage 16 time trial, followed by a massive time gain on the Stage 17 climb to Col de la Loze, saw Vingegaard win the Tour by 7 minutes and 29 seconds. Team Jumbo-Visma also wins the overall Teams classification by over 13 minutes.

The Danish rider Vingegaard won the Tour de France for the second straight year as cycling's most storied race finished on the famed Champs-Élysées in Paris.

With a huge lead built up over main rival Tadej Pogacar, the 2020 and 2021 winner, Vingegaard knew the victory was effectively his again before the largely ceremonial stage at the end of the 110th edition of the Tour.

Vingegaard drank champagne with his Visma-Jumbo teammates as they lined up together and posed for photos on the way to Paris.

It had been a three-week slog over 2,116 miles with eight mountain stages across five mountain ranges. Vingegaard seized control of the race over two stages in the Alps.

Little had separated the two rivals until Vingegaard finished a time trial 1 minute, 38 seconds ahead of Pogacar on the final Tuesday, then followed up the next day by finishing the toughest mountain stage of the race almost six minutes ahead of his exhausted rival.

The Slovenian rider responded by winning the penultimate stage on the final Saturday. However, Vingegaard still had an insurmountable lead of 7 minutes, 29 seconds going into the final stage -- a mostly ceremonial event that is contested at the end by the sprinters.

Belgian cyclist Jordi Meeus won the final stage in a photo finish between four riders on the line, just ahead of Jasper Philipsen, Dylan Groenewegen, and Mads Pedersen.

British cyclist and Pogacar teammate Adam Yates took third place overall. At the same time, Belgian rider Jasper Philipsen won the green jersey for the points classification, and Italian competitor Giulio Ciccone took the polka-dot jersey for the mountains classification. Vingegaard's Jumbo-Visma won the team classification.

2024 Vuelta a España

Date: August 17 – September 8, 2024

Last Seven Winners

2023 – Sepp Kuss (USA)

2022 – Remco Evenepoel (BEL)

2021 – Primoz Roglic (SLO)

2020 – Primoz Roglic (SLO)

2019 – Primoz Roglic (SLO)

2018 – Simon Yates (GBR)

2017 – Chris Froome (GBR)

2016 – Nairo Quintana (COL)

Cycling Betting Bonus

Most Individual Grand Tour Wins

11 Eddy Merckx 5x Tour de France, 5x Giro, 1x Vuelta
10 Bernard Hinault 5x Tour de France, 3x Giro, 2x Vuelta
8 Jacques Anquetil 5x Tour de France, 2x Giro, 1x Vuelta
7 Alberto Contador 2x Tour de France, 2x Giro, 3x Vuelta
7 Fausto Coppi 2x Tour de France, 5x Giro
7 Chris Froome 4x Tour de France, 1x Giro, 2x Vuelta
7 Miguel Indurain 5x Tour de France, 2x Giro

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best Cycling Betting Odds, Cycling Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Back to Top