2022 Fiesta Bowl Odds - TCU vs. Michigan Betting

Fiesta Bowl Betting Odds - TCU vs. Michigan

2022 Fiesta Bowl NCAA Football Betting

In 2014 the TCU Horned Frogs were bypassed for the College Football Playoff. Millions of fans and gamblers screamed that it was an injustice. And perhaps it was. The Ohio State Buckeyes got the spot that TCU believed they deserved. And Ohio State went on to win the national championship. This year, not even a loss in the Big 12 championship game to the Kansas State Wildcats could keep the Horned Frogs out. They were simply too good. But on December 31, 2022, TCU will face its toughest opponent yet. The Michigan Wolverines dominated the Big Ten conference to win their second consecutive league title.

2022 Fiesta Bowl at a Glance

Date: Saturday, December 31, 2022

Time (ET) / TV: 4:00 PM ESPN

Venue: State Farm Stadium, Glendale, Arizona

Matchup: Michigan Wolverines vs. TCU Horned Frogs

College Football Betting Lines

TCU Horned Frogs +7.5

Michigan Wolverines -7.5

Total 58.5

Money Line: TCU +230, Michigan -280

Fiesta Bowl Preview

TCU has a record of 12-1 straight up, 9-3-1 against the spread, and 7-6 over/under the total. TCU ranks 16th for total offense, 25th for passing, 25th for rushing and 25th for scoring. Defensively they rank 74th overall, 83rd against the pass, 63rd against the rush, and 57th for points allowed. Also, TCU ranks 36th for fewest turnovers lost and 16th for takeaways.

Michigan has a record of 13-0 straight up, 8-4-1 against the spread, and 5-8 over/under the total. Michigan ranks 27th for total offense, 94th for passing, 6th for rushing and 7th for scoring. Defensively they rank 3rd overall, 22nd against the pass, 3rd against the rush, and 5th for points allowed. Also, Michigan ranks 9th for fewest turnovers lost and 38th for takeaways.

Fiesta Bowl Prediction

Michigan is a slightly less dominant version of the Georgia Bulldogs. The Wolverines are tough and nasty, with one of the nation’s top defenses. TCU is outclassed defensively and on roster depth.

Fiesta Bowl Format

Originally founded in 1971 as a home bowl game for the Arizona State Sun Devils, the Fiesta Bowl has grown into a college football playoff rotation and top-tier postseason game.

Thus, the Fiesta Bowl tie-in is based on the college football playoff. The game has been held at State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona, home of the NFL Arizona Cardinals, since 2007. Previously it was held that Arizona State University Sun Devil Stadium from 1971-2006. The payout is $17 million.

Football Betting Bonus

Fiesta Bowl Past Results

2022 Oklahoma State Notre Dame 37-35
2021 Iowa State Oregon 34-17
2020 Clemson Ohio State 29-23
2019 LSU UCF 40-32
2017 Penn State Washington 35-28
2016 Clemson Ohio State 31-0
2016 Ohio State Notre Dame 44-28
2014 Boise State Arizona 38-30
2014 UCF Baylor 52-42
2013 Oregon Kansas State 35-17
2012 Oklahoma State Stanford 41-38 (OT)
2011 Oklahoma Connecticut 48-20
2010 Boise State TCU 17-10
2009 Texas Ohio State 24-21
2008 West Virginia Oklahoma 48-28
2007 Boise State Oklahoma 43-42 (OT)
2006 Ohio State Notre Dame 34-20
2005 Utah Pittsburgh 35-7
2004 Ohio State Kansas State 35-28
2003 Ohio State Miami, Fla. 31-24 (OT)
2002 Oregon Colorado 38-16
2001 Oregon State Notre Dame 41-9
2000 Oregon State Notre Dame 31-21

Last year the Oklahoma State Cowboys rallied from a 28-7 deficit to beat the Notre Dame Fighting Irish 37-35 in the debut of Notre Dame rookie head coach Marcus Freeman. Oklahoma State finished 11-2 with a final ranking of seventh in the nation.

The 2021 Fiesta Bowl played host to Oregon and Iowa State. The Cyclones were a 4.5-point favorite, and they proved they deserved to be favored as they routed the Ducks, winning 34-17. Iowa State broke the game open in the second quarter, outscoring the Ducks 21-10. The game was decided at the half, as the Ducks led 28-17. Oregon did nothing in the second half and didn’t score at all. Iowa State quarterback Brock Purdy was named the offensive MVP of the game, while O’Rien Vance was named the defensive MVP.

Most All-Time Wins

7 Penn State 1977, 1980, 1981, 1986, 1991, 1996, 2017
5 Arizona State 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, 1982
5 Ohio State 1983, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2015
3 Oklahoma State 1974, 2011, 2022
3 Boise State 2006, 2009, 2014
2 Florida State 1987, 1989
2 Nebraska 1995, 1999
2 Oklahoma 1976, 2010
2 Oregon 2001, 2012

It’s quite appropriate that the Penn State Nittany Lions have the most all-time wins at the Fiesta Bowl at 7. The Nittany Lions pulled off one of the greatest upsets in college football history at the January 2, 1987, Fiesta Bowl. The undefeated Miami Hurricanes hit the town in battle fatigues, with plenty to say. They departed in silence with a 14-10 loss that cost them the national championship.

2022-23 College Football Bowl Games

Dec. 16 Bahamas Bowl 11:30 AM / ESPN Miami (Ohio) vs. UAB
Dec. 16 Cure Bowl 3:00 PM / ESPN Troy vs. UTSA
Dec. 17 Fenway Bowl 11:00 AM / ESPN Cincinnati vs. Louisville
Dec. 17 Celebration Bowl 12:00 PM / ABC Jackson State vs. North Carolina Central
Dec. 17 New Mexico Bowl 2:15 PM / ESPN BYU vs. SMU
Dec. 17 LA Bowl 3:30 PM / ABC Fresno State vs. Washington State
Dec. 17 Lendingtree Bowl 5:45 PM / ESPN Southern Miss vs. Rice
Dec. 17 Las Vegas Bowl 7:30 PM / ESPN Florida vs. Oregon State
Dec. 17 Frisco Bowl 9:15 PM / ESPN Boise State vs. North Texas
Dec. 19 Myrtle Beach Bowl 2:30 PM / ESPN UConn vs. Marshall
Dec. 20 Famous Idaho Potato Bowl 3:30 PM / ESPN San Jose State vs. Eastern Michigan
Dec. 20 Boca Raton Bowl 7:30 PM / ESPN Toledo vs. Liberty
Dec. 21 New Orleans Bowl 9:00 PM / ESPN South Alabama vs. Western Kentucky
Dec. 22 Armed Forces Bowl 7:30 PM / ESPN Air Force vs. Baylor
Dec. 23 Independence Bowl 3:00 PM / ESPN Houston vs. Louisiana
Dec. 23 Gasparilla Bowl 6:30 PM / ESPN Missouri vs. Wake Forest
Dec. 24 Hawaii Bowl 8:00 PM / ESPN Middle Tennessee vs. San Diego State
Dec. 26 Quick Lane Bowl 2:30 PM / ESPN New Mexico State vs. Bowling Green
Dec. 27 Camellia Bowl 12:00 PM / ESPN Georgia Southern vs. Buffalo
Dec. 27 First Responder Bowl 3:15 PM / ESPN Utah State vs. Memphis
Dec. 27 Birmingham Bowl 6:45 PM / ESPN East Carolina vs. Coastal Carolina
Dec. 27 Guaranteed Rate Bowl 10:15 PM / ESPN Wisconsin vs. Oklahoma State
Dec. 28 Military Bowl 2:00 PM / ESPN Duke vs. UCF
Dec. 28 Liberty Bowl 5:30 PM / ESPN Arkansas vs. Kansas
Dec. 28 Holiday Bowl 8:00 PM / FOX Oregon vs. North Carolina
Dec. 28 Texas Bowl 9:00 PM / ESPN Texas Tech vs. Ole Miss
Dec. 29 Pinstripe Bowl 2:00 PM / ESPN Syracuse vs. Minnesota
Dec. 29 Cheez-It Bowl 5:30 PM / ESPN Florida State vs. Oklahoma
Dec. 29 Alamo Bowl 9:00 PM / ESPN Washington vs. Texas
Dec. 30 Duke's Mayo Bowl 12:00 PM / ESPN Maryland vs. NC State
Dec. 30 Sun Bowl 2:00 PM / CBS Pitt vs. UCLA
Dec. 30 Gator Bowl 3:30 PM / ESPN Notre Dame vs. South Carolina
Dec. 30 Arizona Bowl 4:30 PM (Barstool) Ohio vs. Wyoming
Dec. 30 Orange Bowl 8:00 PM / ESPN Clemson vs. Tennessee
Dec. 31 Music City Bowl 12:00 PM / ABC Kentucky vs. Iowa
Dec. 31 Sugar Bowl 12:00 PM / ESPN Alabama vs. Kansas State
Dec. 31 Chick-Fil-A Peach Bowl 4:00 PM / ESPN No. 1 Georgia vs. No 4. Ohio State
Dec. 31 VRBO Fiesta Bowl 8:00 PM / ESPN No. 2 Michigan vs. No. 3 TCU
Jan. 2 ReliaQuest Bowl 12:00 PM / ESPN2 Illinois vs. Mississippi State
Jan. 2 Cotton Bowl 1:00 PM / ESPN USC vs. Tulane
Jan. 2 Citrus Bowl 1:00 PM / ABC LSU vs. Purdue
Jan. 2 Rose Bowl 5:00 PM / ESPN Penn State vs. Utah
Jan. 9 CFP National Championship Game TBD / ESPN CFP Semifinals Winners

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best NCAA Football Betting Odds, NCAA Football Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top