2024 Sugar Bowl Betting Lines - Washington vs. Texas Odds

Sugar Bowl Betting Lines - Washington vs. Texas Odds

2022 Sugar Bowl NCAA Football Betting

The 2024 Sugar Bowl on Monday, January 1, 2024 will be a College Football Playoff semifinal matchup between the No. 3 Texas Longhorns and the No. 2 Washington Huskies. The winner of the game will play the winner of the Rose Bowl College Football Playoff semifinal game between the No. 1 Michigan Wolverines and No. 4 Alabama Crimson Tide on Monday, January 8, 2024 in the National Championship Game. Despite being ranked higher than Texas and being undefeated, the Huskies are listed as underdogs against the Longhorns in the Sugar Bowl. Washington and Texas are both potent offensively, so the 2024 Sugar Bowl should be a high scoring game. The Longhorns averaged just over 36 points per game, while the Huskies averaged over 37 points per contest.

2024 Sugar Bowl at a Glance

Date: Monday, January 1, 2024

Time (ET) / TV: 8:45 PM / ESPN

Venue: Caesars Superdome, New Orleans, Louisiana

Matchup: (2) Washington Huskies vs. (3) Texas Longhorns

College Football Betting Lines

Washington Huskies +4.5

Texas Longhorns -4.5

Total: 64.5

Money Line: Washington +163, Texas -190

Sugar Bowl Preview

The Longhorns are 12-1 SU and 7-5-1 ATS with five games going over the total and eight going under. Texas is averaging 36.2 points per game and putting up 475.9 yards per contest. They are giving up 17.5 points and allowing 321.9 yards per game. Jonathan Brooks leads the team with 1,139 rushing yards, Quinn Ewers has thrown for 3,161 yards, while Xavier Worthy has 969 receiving yards.

The Huskies are 13-0 SU and 6-6-1 ATS with six games going over the total and seven going under. They are averaging 37.7 points per game which is 11th best in the country and they are giving up 23.6 points per game. Dillon Johnson leads the team with 1,113 rushing yards, Michael Penix Jr. has thrown for 4,218 yards, while Rome Odunze has 1,428 receiving yards.

Sugar Bowl Prediction

The Huskies are unbeaten and arguably played in the toughest conference in the country, but when you watch this team, you can still be underwhelmed. Regardless, the team finds ways to win. What we do know is that they have a lot of playmakers and they will put up points. The problem for the Huskies is a defense that is hit and miss. The Longhorns can also put up points with regularity, and their defense has been solid. The Sugar Bowl is a tough call, as the Longhorns look to be the better team, but laying 4.5-points to an unbeaten team is scary. The best choice may to simply to expect a lot of points and to play the game to go over the total.

Sugar Bowl Format

The Sugar Bowl started in 1935, and the matchup usually features schools from the SEC and at-large conferences. The game takes place at the Caesars Superdome in New Orleans, Louisiana, as the previous venue for this contest was Tulane Stadium in New Orleans from 1934-1974. This game was named the USF&G Sugar Bowl and Nokia Sugar Bowl before Allstate acquired sponsorship rights in 2007.

The Sugar Bowl is part of the College Football Playoff rotation and was part of three semifinal matchups played in 2014, 2018, and 2021. It will host the College Football Playoff semifinal in January of 2024, for the 2023 season.

Football Betting Bonus

Sugar Bowl Past Results

2023 Alabama Kansas State 45-20
2022 (Jan) Baylor Ole Miss 21-7
2021 Ohio State Clemson 49-28
2020 Georgia Baylor 26-14
2019 Texas Georgia 28-21
2018 Alabama Clemson 24-6
2017 Oklahoma Auburn 35-19
2016 Mississippi Oklahoma State 48-20
2015 Ohio State Alabama 42-35
2014 Oklahoma Alabama 45-31
2013 Louisville Florida 33-23
2012 Michigan Virginia Tech 23-20
2011 Ohio State Arkansas 31-26
2010 Florida Cincinnati 51-24
2009 Utah Alabama 31-17
2008 Georgia Hawaii 41-10
2007 LSU Notre Dame 41-14
2006 West Virginia Georgia 38-35
2005 Auburn Virginia Tech 16-13
2004 LSU Oklahoma 21-14
2003 Georgia Florida State 26-13
2002 LSU Illinois 47-34
2001 Miami, Fla. Florida 37-20
2000 Florida State Virginia Tech 46-29

The Alabama Crimson Tide won the Sugar Bowl for the 10th time in late December of 2022, as they defeated Kansas State 45-20. Those people who thought the Crimson Tide would have a letdown after not making the College Football Playoff were wrong, as the Crimson Tide bolted to a 21-10 halftime lead and expanded the lead to 42-10 in the third quarter.

In the Jan. 1, 2022, game between Baylor and Ole Miss, the Bears knocked out Rebels QB Matt Corral early and used its defense for a 21-7 low-scoring win. The 'under' is now 6-1 across the past seven Sugar Bowls.

In Jan. 2021, Ohio State roughed up Clemson 49-28 to punch their ticket to the national title game, a rare 'over' result lately in the Sugar Bowl.

2023-24 College Football Bowl Games

Saturday, December 16
Myrtle Beach Bowl 11:00 AM / ESPN Georgia Southern vs. Ohio
Celebration Bowl 12:00 PM / ABC Florida A&M vs. Howard
New Orleans Bowl 2:15 PM / ESPN Jacksonville State vs. Louisiana
Cure Bowl 3:30 PM / ABC Miami (Ohio) vs. Appalachian State
New Mexico Bowl 5:45 PM / ESPN Fresno State vs. New Mexico State
LA Bowl 7:30 PM / ABC UCLA vs. Boise State
Independence Bowl 9:15 PM / ESPN Texas Tech vs. California
Monday, December 18
Bahamas Bowl (Temporarily Famous Toastery Bowl) 2:30 PM / ESPN Western Kentucky vs. Old Dominion
Tuesday, December 19
Frisco Bowl 9:00 PM / ESPN Marshall vs. UTSA
Thursday, December 21
Boca Raton Bowl 8:00 PM / ESPN USF vs. Syracuse
Friday, December 22
Gasparilla Bowl 6:30 PM / ESPN Georgia Tech vs. UCF
Saturday, December 23
Birmingham Bowl 12:00 PM / ABC Troy vs. Duke
Camellia Bowl 12:00 PM / ESPN Arkansas State vs. Northern Illinois
Armed Forces Bowl 3:30 PM / ABC Air Force vs. James Madison
Famous Idaho Potato Bowl 3:30 PM / ESPN Georgia State vs. Utah State
68 Ventures Bowl 7:00 PM / ESPN Eastern Michigan vs. South Alabama
Las Vegas Bowl 7:30 PM / ABC Northwestern vs. Utah
Hawai'i Bowl 10:30 PM / ESPN San Jose State vs. Coastal Carolina
Tuesday, December 26
Quick Lane Bowl 2:00 PM / ESPN Bowling Green vs. Minnesota
First Responder Bowl 5:30 PM / ESPN Texas State vs. Rice
Guaranteed Rate Bowl 9:00 PM / ESPN Kansas vs. UNLV
Wednesday, December 27
Military Bowl 2:00 PM / ESPN Tulane vs. Virginia Tech
Duke's Mayo Bowl 5:30 PM / ESPN North Carolina vs. West Virginia
Holiday Bowl 8:00 PM / ESPN (15) Louisville vs. Southern Cal
Texas Bowl 9:00 PM / ESPN (20) Oklahoma State vs. Texas A&M
Thursday, December 28
Fenway Bowl 11:00 AM / ESPN (24) SMU vs. Boston College
Pinstripe Bowl 2:15 PM / ESPN Rutgers vs. Miami
Pop-Tarts Bowl 5:45 PM / ESPN (18) NC State vs. (25) Kansas State
Alamo Bowl 9:15 PM / ESPN (12) Oklahoma vs. (14) Arizona
Friday, December 29
Gator Bowl 12:00 PM / ESPN (22) Clemson vs. Kentucky
Tony the Tiger Sun Bowl 2:00 PM / CBS (16) Notre Dame vs. (19) Oregon State
Liberty Bowl 3:30 PM / ESPN Memphis vs. Iowa State
Cotton Bowl 8:00 PM / ESPN (7) Ohio State vs. (9) Missouri
Saturday, December 30
Peach Bowl 12:00 PM / ESPN (10) Penn State vs. (11) Mississippi
Music City Bowl 2:00 PM / ABC Auburn vs. Maryland
Orange Bowl 4:00 PM / ESPN (5) Florida State vs. (6) Georgia 
Arizona Bowl 4:30 PM (Barstool) Wyoming vs. Toledo
Monday, Jan. 1, 2024
ReliaQuest Bowl 12:00 PM / ESPN2 (13) LSU vs. Wisconsin
Citrus Bowl 1:00 PM / ABC (17) Iowa vs. (21) Tennessee
Fiesta Bowl 1:00 PM / ESPN (8) Oregon vs. (23) Liberty
Rose Bowl (CFP Semifinal) 5:00 PM / ESPN (1) Michigan vs. (4) Alabama
Sugar Bowl (CFP Semifinal) 8:45 PM / ESPN (2) Washington vs. (3) Texas
Monday, Jan. 8, 2024
CFP National Championship Game 7:30 PM / ESPN Semifinals Winners

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best NCAA Football Betting Odds, NCAA Football Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Back to Top