New Era Pinstripe Bowl Odds

HomeNCAA Football LinesNCAA Football Articles › New Era Pinstripe Bowl

Teams: Pittsburgh vs. Northwestern
Location: Yankee Stadium, New York, NY
Pinstripe Bowl Date: Wednesday, December 28, 2016
Pinstripe Bowl on TV: 2 p.m. ET, ESPN
Pinstripe Bowl Betting Odds at Pittsburgh -4

New Era Pinstripe Bowl Betting OddsCollege Football Betting Online: There's no two ways around it. The Pinstripe Bowl has been awesome over the years. This bowl game was first played in 2010 and featured one of the best bowl games of that season, a 36-34 Syracuse win over Kansas State. Since then, we've seen two overtime games played out in the Bronx and even had a game in 2013 which featured an offensive lineman winning the MVP of the game!

Yes, there's always something awesome going on at the Pinstripe Bowl, and last year, it was Duke and Indiana playing to a 44-41 slugfest the day after Christmas. The game featured two ties and seven lead changes, and neither team led by more than 10 points at any point or by more than seven in the final two and a half quarters. It was also the very first bowl victory for the Blue Devils in 54 years.

This year, the Pittsburgh Panthers and Northwestern Wildcats are playing in the Pinstripe Bowl as first-timers on both accounts. Northwestern will take some strength in Duke's win last year, as it has just one bowl victory since 1948, that coming in the 2012 Gator Bowl. The Panthers, who beat both Clemson and Penn State this season as a part of a wild 8-4 season, have been beaten in consecutive bowl games and haven't beaten a Power Five foe in a bowl since the 2010 BBVA Compass Bowl against Kentucky.

New Era Pinstripe Bowl Preview

The New Era Pinstripe Bowl is a NCAA Division I FBS college football bowl game that is held at Yankee Stadium in the New York City borough of The Bronx, New York. The bowl is organized by the New York Yankees, who are the primary tenants of the venue, and is currently affiliated with the Atlantic Coast Conference and Big Ten Conference.

In a press conference at Yankee Stadium on September 30, 2009, the Yankee Bowl was announced by the New York Yankees' minority owner Hal Steinbrenner, New York City mayor Michael Bloomberg, Big East commissioner John Marinatto, and Big 12 commissioner Dan Beebe.

On March 9, 2010, the Yankee Bowl official name was announced to be the Pinstripe Bowl with New Era Cap Company agreeing to sponsor the bowl while ESPN agreed to broadcast the bowl. The inaugural game was played on December 30, 2010 and was the first bowl game in New York City proper since the Gotham Bowl pitted Miami against Nebraska at the original Yankee Stadium in 1962.

Starting with the 2014 contest, the New Era Pinstripe Bowl is a matchup between an Atlantic Coast Conference team and a Big Ten Conference team. Initially the game featured a matchup between the Big 12 Conference and the Big East Conference. Rutgers University, the closest FBS school in the New York City area, moved to the Big Ten from the AAC in 2014 and has participated twice in the bowl game.

The ACC agreed to a six year deal with the Pinstripe Bowl, and the Big Ten agreed to the alignment for eight years. The ACC has adopted a tiered system so the same conference position will not necessarily go to the same bowl. quoted sources that 3rd through 6th bowl eligible teams would be tiered with the Pinstripe, Belk, Sun, Gator and Music City bowls.

The winner of the game is awarded the George M. Steinbrenner Trophy, while the David C. Koch MVP Trophy is given to the bowl's most valuable player. The Pinstripe Bowl is one of two FBS bowls held in the Northeast, the other being the Military Bowl in Annapolis, Maryland. It’s also one of three bowls that are played outdoors in what are considered cold-weather cities, joining the Military Bowl and the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl held in Boise, Idaho.

The underdog Duke Blue Devils pulled out a 44-41 overtime win over Indiana in last year’s game, the second consecutive outright win for the dog in overtime, and the fifth cover win for an underdog in the games six-year history.


2015 New Era Pinstripe Bowl – Duke 44, Indiana 41 (ot)

2014 New Era Pinstripe Bowl – Penn State 31, Boston College 30 (ot)

2013 New Era Pinstripe Bowl – Notre Dame 29, Rutgers 16

2012 New Era Pinstripe Bowl – Syracuse 38, West Virginia 14

2011 New Era Pinstripe Bowl – Rutgers 27, Iowa State 13

2010 New Era Pinstripe Bowl – Syracuse 36, Kansas State 34

Don't miss out on your opportunity to cash in college football's Bowl Season, one of the most exciting periods in sports every year. With the sportsbook's college football odds, you'll get daily updates to all available wagers. And when you win, Bookmaker offers several quick and easy payout options for you to collect your winnings.

2016-2017 Bowl Championship Series

2016-2017 College Bowl Games

Join Now!

Live Lines

Back to Top