2023 Holiday Bowl Betting Lines - Louisville vs. USC Odds

Holiday Bowl Lines - Louisville vs. USC Odds

2022 Holiday Bowl NCAA Football Betting

While the Louisville football program won't be heading to a New Year's Six bowl in their first season under head coach Jeff Brohm, their consolation prize is a trip out west against one of the top brands in college football. The Cardinals have been selected to play in the DirecTV Holiday Bowl and will face USC on Wednesday, December 27, at Petco Park in San Diego, Calif. This is Louisville's 12th bowl appearance over the last 14 seasons, their 21st bowl appearance over the last 26 seasons, and their 26th overall. Led by interim head coach Deion Branch, the Cardinals won the Fenway Bowl 24-7 over Cincinnati last season in what was Scott Satterfield's final year at the helm. USC QB and 2022 Heisman Trophy winner Caleb Williams has opted out of the matchup.

2023 Holiday Bowl at a Glance

Date: Wednesday, December 27, 2023

Time (ET) / TV: 8:00 PM / ESPN

Venue: Petco Park, San Diego, California

Matchup: Louisville Cardinals vs. USC Trojans

College Football Betting Lines

Louisville Cardinals -7.5

USC Trojans +7.5

Total: 58

Money Line: Louisville -310, USC +252

Holiday Bowl Preview

Last game, the Louisville Cardinals lost 16-6 against the Florida State Seminoles as 1.5-point favorites. The game went under the total of 46.5. Louisville has a record of 10-3 straight up, 6-6-1 against the spread, and 6-6-1 over/under the total. Louisville ranks 44th for total offense, 53rd for passing, 46th for rushing and 45th for scoring. Defensively, they rank 16th overall, 35th against the pass, 14th against the rush, and 21st for points allowed. Also, Louisville ranks 47th for fewest turnovers lost and 40th for takeaways.

Last game, the USC Trojans lost 38-20 against the UCLA Bruins as 5-point home dogs. The game went under the total of 63. USC has a record of 7-5 straight up, 3-9 against the spread, and 9-3 over/under the total. USC ranks 11th for total offense, 5th for passing, 91st for rushing and 5th for scoring. Defensively, they rank 123rd overall, 118th against the pass, 117th against the rush, and 125th for points allowed. Also, USC ranks 127th for fewest turnovers lost and 110th for takeaways.

Holiday Bowl Prediction

In this situation, Louisville has a better body of work. By contrast, USC is without its key star player.

Holiday Bowl Format

The Holiday Bowl began in 1978, and the matchup currently features schools from the Pac-12 and ACC. Petco Park, home of the San Diego Padres, has been the host of this game since 2022. The payout is $6.5 million in the Holiday Bowl. The Holiday Bowl was long renowned as the best of the non-New Year’s Day Bowl games and for its thrilling finishes. The bowl has lost its shine since the expansion of additional bowl games and the current playoff format that will expand to 12 teams in 2024.

Football Betting Bonus

Holiday Bowl Past Results

2022 Oregon North Carolina 28-27
2021 Cancelled due to COVID
2020 Cancelled due to COVID
2019 Iowa USC 49-24
2018 Northwestern Utah 31-20
2017 Michigan State Washington State 42-17
2016 Minnesota Washington State 17-12
2015 Wisconsin USC 23-21
2014 USC Nebraska 45-42
2013 Texas Tech Arizona State 37-23
2012 Baylor UCLA 49-26
2011 Texas California 21-10
2010 Washington Nebraska 19-7
2009 Nebraska Arizona 33-0
2008 Oregon Oklahoma State 42-31
2007 Texas Arizona State 52-34
2006 California Texas A&M 45-10
2005 Oklahoma Oregon 17-14
2004 Texas Tech California 45-31
2003 Washington State Texas 28-20
2002 Kansas State Arizona State 34-27
2001 Texas Washington 47-43
2000 Oregon Texas 35-30

BYU dominated the WAC at the time of the Holiday Bowl’s inception, and the Cougars appeared in the first seven games. Thanks to BYU, the Holiday Bowl got a reputation for miraculous finishes. BYU erased a 20-point deficit to SMU in the last two minutes of the 1980 game, getting a game-tying touchdown pass from Jim McMahon on the final play. The extra point gave BYU a 46-45 win.

Following two years of COVID cancelations, the Holiday Bowl returned in 2022. Oregon beat North Carolina 28-27, scoring the winning TD on a 6-yard TD pass from Bo Nix to Chase Cota with six seconds remaining in the game. Bucky Irving was the MVP with 149 yards rushing and two TDs for Oregon.

2023-24 College Football Bowl Games

Saturday, December 16
Myrtle Beach Bowl 11:00 AM / ESPN Georgia Southern vs. Ohio
Celebration Bowl 12:00 PM / ABC Florida A&M vs. Howard
New Orleans Bowl 2:15 PM / ESPN Jacksonville State vs. Louisiana
Cure Bowl 3:30 PM / ABC Miami (Ohio) vs. Appalachian State
New Mexico Bowl 5:45 PM / ESPN Fresno State vs. New Mexico State
LA Bowl 7:30 PM / ABC UCLA vs. Boise State
Independence Bowl 9:15 PM / ESPN Texas Tech vs. California
Monday, December 18
Bahamas Bowl (Temporarily Famous Toastery Bowl) 2:30 PM / ESPN Western Kentucky vs. Old Dominion
Tuesday, December 19
Frisco Bowl 9:00 PM / ESPN Marshall vs. UTSA
Thursday, December 21
Boca Raton Bowl 8:00 PM / ESPN USF vs. Syracuse
Friday, December 22
Gasparilla Bowl 6:30 PM / ESPN Georgia Tech vs. UCF
Saturday, December 23
Birmingham Bowl 12:00 PM / ABC Troy vs. Duke
Camellia Bowl 12:00 PM / ESPN Arkansas State vs. Northern Illinois
Armed Forces Bowl 3:30 PM / ABC Air Force vs. James Madison
Famous Idaho Potato Bowl 3:30 PM / ESPN Georgia State vs. Utah State
68 Ventures Bowl 7:00 PM / ESPN Eastern Michigan vs. South Alabama
Las Vegas Bowl 7:30 PM / ABC Northwestern vs. Utah
Hawai'i Bowl 10:30 PM / ESPN San Jose State vs. Coastal Carolina
Tuesday, December 26
Quick Lane Bowl 2:00 PM / ESPN Bowling Green vs. Minnesota
First Responder Bowl 5:30 PM / ESPN Texas State vs. Rice
Guaranteed Rate Bowl 9:00 PM / ESPN Kansas vs. UNLV
Wednesday, December 27
Military Bowl 2:00 PM / ESPN Tulane vs. Virginia Tech
Duke's Mayo Bowl 5:30 PM / ESPN North Carolina vs. West Virginia
Holiday Bowl 8:00 PM / ESPN (15) Louisville vs. Southern Cal
Texas Bowl 9:00 PM / ESPN (20) Oklahoma State vs. Texas A&M
Thursday, December 28
Fenway Bowl 11:00 AM / ESPN (24) SMU vs. Boston College
Pinstripe Bowl 2:15 PM / ESPN Rutgers vs. Miami
Pop-Tarts Bowl 5:45 PM / ESPN (18) NC State vs. (25) Kansas State
Alamo Bowl 9:15 PM / ESPN (12) Oklahoma vs. (14) Arizona
Friday, December 29
Gator Bowl 12:00 PM / ESPN (22) Clemson vs. Kentucky
Tony the Tiger Sun Bowl 2:00 PM / CBS (16) Notre Dame vs. (19) Oregon State
Liberty Bowl 3:30 PM / ESPN Memphis vs. Iowa State
Cotton Bowl 8:00 PM / ESPN (7) Ohio State vs. (9) Missouri
Saturday, December 30
Peach Bowl 12:00 PM / ESPN (10) Penn State vs. (11) Mississippi
Music City Bowl 2:00 PM / ABC Auburn vs. Maryland
Orange Bowl 4:00 PM / ESPN (5) Florida State vs. (6) Georgia 
Arizona Bowl 4:30 PM (Barstool) Wyoming vs. Toledo
Monday, Jan. 1, 2024
ReliaQuest Bowl 12:00 PM / ESPN2 (13) LSU vs. Wisconsin
Citrus Bowl 1:00 PM / ABC (17) Iowa vs. (21) Tennessee
Fiesta Bowl 1:00 PM / ESPN (8) Oregon vs. (23) Liberty
Rose Bowl (CFP Semifinal) 5:00 PM / ESPN (1) Michigan vs. (4) Alabama
Sugar Bowl (CFP Semifinal) 8:45 PM / ESPN (2) Washington vs. (3) Texas
Monday, Jan. 8, 2024
CFP National Championship Game 7:30 PM / ESPN Semifinals Winners

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best NCAA Football Betting Odds, NCAA Football Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Back to Top