Canadian Football League Odds - CFL Online Betting

Canadian Football League Betting

Canadian Football League Betting

The CFL will be back in action in 2021, as the Canadian Football League will begin play on August 5, 2021. The entire CFL season a year ago was wiped out due to COVID-19 and Canada is still having problems with the virus. The 2021 CFL season will run from early August until late November. The CFL schedule will be played over 16 weeks with teams playing 14 regular season games. The CFL playoffs will begin in late November and the 108th Grey Cup is set for December 12, 2021 in Hamilton.

2021 CFL Betting Odds

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 3-1

Saskatchewan Roughriders 9-2

Calgary Stampeders 5-1

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 5-1

Toronto Argonauts 6-1

Edmonton Eskimos 8-1

Montreal Alouettes 9-1

British Columbia Lions 10-1

Ottawa Redblacks 12-1

The 2021 CFL season was supposed to begin in June but because Canada is still having problems with COVID-19, the season was pushed back to start in August. The CFL has to deal with a Canadian government that is extremely restrictive and because of the strict rules, CFL games in 2021 will focus mostly on intra-divisional games. Each team will play 14 games, with approximately eight games within the division and each team will have two bye weeks, except for Toronto, as they will have three. Due to COVID-19, there will be no preseason. The regular season begins on Thursday, August 5, 2021 with the Hamilton Tiger-Cats visiting the Winnipeg Blue Bombers.

“We’re so excited to kick off this season,” said CFL Commissioner Randy Ambrosie, Commissioner to the media, “Excited for our players, our coaches, our partners and especially our fans, who have stuck with us and stood by us. It’s going to be a great season leading to a Grey Cup that promises to be an incredibly special moment in history for our game, our league and our country.”

CFL games in 2021 will be shown on TSN in Canada and on the ESPN family of networks and ESPN+ in the United States.  “I want to thank everyone who has made this schedule and this season possible, from players to governors to partners to fans, and all of the health care workers, front line workers and scientists who have done so much to allow us to endure this pandemic and start to emerge from it,” Ambrosie said to the media, “The 2021 CFL season will be one we’ll truly never forget. It will be a celebration of our game, our gratitude, and our pride. it will culminate in a Grey Cup that will shine a very positive light on our host, the city of Hamilton, our league and our future. We believe this season and this Grey Cup will signal more than the return of the CFL. It can show the world that Canada is back.”

East Division Teams

Hamilton Tiger-Cats Orlondo Steinauer Tim Hortons Field
Montreal Alouettes Mike Sherman Percival Molson Memorial Stadium
Ottawa Redblacks Rick Campbell TD Place Stadium
Toronto Argonauts Corey Chamblin BMO Field

West Division Teams

BC Lions DeVone Claybrooks BC Place
Calgary Stampeders Dave Dickenson McMahon Stadium
Edmonton Eskimos Jason Maas Commonwealth Stadium
Saskatchewan Roughriders Craig Dickenson Mosaic Stadium
Winnipeg Blue Bombers Michael O’Shea IG Field

Since the late 1950s, the CFL has typically had nine franchises. However, there has been some vacillation in that number over the years. The CFL had nine teams from 1958 to 1986, but then the Montreal Alouettes folded the day before the 1987 season was to start. The league had eight teams until the mid-1990s when the CFL nearly doubled in size because of the United States expansion. Seven American teams joined the league during that time, but Baltimore was the only city where the Canadian game was a success. In just three years, the American teams were all gone, making it a fully Canadian game once more.

The CFL lost its longest-tenured team, the Ottawa Rough Riders, after 120 years of football in 1996. Fortunately, the league was able to put a team back in Montreal that year to keep the league static at eight teams. A new team in Ottawa bumped the league back up to nine teams in 2002, but the number of CFL franchises dropped down to eight once more after Ottawa folded after just four seasons in the league. There were just eight teams until 2014 when the Ottawa Redblacks were founded, and the league has been stable at nine teams since that point.

Differences Between the NFL and CFL

There are a number of important differences between the NFL and CFL, but we’re only going to focus on a few. One of the first things you notice when watching a CFL game is the size of the field. CFL fields are 10 yards longer in the field of play and have end zones that are 20 yards deep. Fields up north are about 20 percent wider too, so CFL games are played with an extra player on both sides. Goalposts in the CFL are on the goal line and not at the back of the end zone like they are in the NFL.

Another major difference is the number of downs you have to achieve a first down. In the American game, you have four downs to pick up 10 yards, but in the Canadian game, it’s just three. That leads to far more passing (and punting) in the CFL than you see in the NFL.

Additionally, CFL’s similarity to rugby is seen in two major areas. First, there is a one-yard neutral zone between offensive lines and defensive lines in the CFL that cannot be crossed before the ball is snapped. Secondly, teams can score a single point by kicking the ball through the end zone in what’s called a single or a rouge.

Grey Cup Titles Among Active Teams

Toronto Argonauts 17
Edmonton Eskimos 14
Winnipeg Blue Bombers 11
Calgary Stampeders 8
Hamilton Tiger-Cats 8
Montreal Alouettes 7
BC Lions 6
Saskatchewan Roughriders 4
Ottawa Redblacks 1

The Toronto Argonauts have won more Grey Cups than any other team in the CFL. They won their first Grey Cup in 1914, defeating the University of Toronto Varsity Blues 14-2, and Toronto won its 10th title in 1952. The Argos overcame a three-decade title drought to win in 1983, and they have won six Grey Cups in the last three decades.

A handful of franchises have three-peated, but only the Edmonton Eskimos have won five straight Grey Cups. The Eskimos dominated the CFL in the late 1970s and early 1980s, as Warren Moon lit up the league. Moon led Edmonton to its last four Grey Cups, and it took five years for the Eskimos to win again after he left for the NFL.

The unluckiest team in the history of the Grey Cup is Saskatchewan. The Roughriders have made 19 appearances in the Grey Cup final, but they have just four championships to show for it. They have lost some heartbreakers over the years too, none more painful than losing the 2009 Grey Cup to Montreal after too many men on the field penalty with no time left.

Football Betting Bonus

Access live betting lines and Football Betting Articles from your mobile device at BookMaker Sportsbook! You can wager on sporting events as they unfold on television with BookMaker’s live betting platform. Real-time spreads, totals, props and, money line odds are all available by clicking here so start betting with BookMaker now!

Join Now!

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top