2021-22 College Football Playoffs Betting

2021-22 College Football Playoffs Betting

2021-22 NCAA Football Playoff Betting

The College Football Playoff has had a lot of familiar faces since its inception for the 2014 season. Alabama and Clemson have each made it to the CFP six times with the Crimson Tide only missing out in 2019 and the Tigers only failing to make it in the first year of its existence. Ohio State and Oklahoma have each taken four trips to the national semifinals, and the only other school with multiple trips to that stage is Notre Dame.

2021 CFP National Championship Odds

Alabama +260

Clemson +550

Georgia +650

Oklahoma +650

Ohio State +675

LSU +2500

Texas +2500

Texas A&M +2500

Florida +3300

Iowa State +3300

Oregon +3300

All Other Teams are +5000 or More

The defending national champions are the favorites to win the national championship ahead of the 2021 season. Although Mac Jones, DeVonta Smith, Jaylen Waddle, Alex Leatherwood, and Patrick Surtain II were taken in the first 17 picks of the 2021 NFL Draft, the Crimson Tide have a bevy of talented youngsters eager for the opportunity to show their stuff. There may be some hiccups early as Bryce Young gets used to calling the shots under center, but the defense and ground game will be strong.

D.J. Uiagalelei is ready to take the reins at Clemson. He has had time to learn from Trevor Lawrence, and he is out to lead the Tigers to their seventh straight ACC title. His team will have a massive test early in the season though as Clemson hosts Georgia in the most hyped Labor Day weekend game in at least five years.

Georgia might finally have a quarterback in USC transfer J.T. Daniels. The Bulldogs were a completely different team when Daniels took over last season, and his play has this team thinking about that elusive national championship. Kirby Smart must be willing to take the governor off this offense for the Bulldogs to actually compete with Alabama and others though.

The other favorite coming into this season is Oklahoma. However, the Sooners first have to prove they can win a game in the CFP. They are 0-4 in the CFP semifinals, and they have lost three of those semifinal games by double digits.

College Football Playoff Format

Over the last several weeks of the regular season, the College Football Playoff Selection Committee gets together and votes on its Top 25. The committee is tasked with ultimately choosing the best four teams in America to play against each other.

The locations of the national semifinals move every season. The Cotton Bowl and Orange Bowl are tied together, the Rose Bowl and Sugar Bowl are tied together, and the Peach Bowl and Fiesta Bowl are paired together. Once every three years one of those pairs hosts the national semifinals, and they play home to the Selection Committee bowl games in the other two seasons.

Most National Championships (Since Poll Era, 1936)

13 Alabama 1961, 1964-65, 1973, 1978-79, 1992, 2009, 2011-12, 2015, 2017, 2020
8 Notre Dame 1943, 1946-47, 1949, 1966, 1973, 1977-78
7 Oklahoma 1950, 1955-56, 1974-75, 1985, 2000
7 USC 1962, 1967, 1972, 1974, 1978, 2003-04
6 Ohio State 1942, 1954, 1957, 1968, 2002, 2014
5 Miami 1983, 1987, 1989, 1991, 2001
5 Nebraska 1970-71, 1994-95, 1997
4 Minnesota 1936, 1940-41, 1960
4 Texas 1963, 1969-70, 2005
4 LSU 1958, 2003, 2007, 2019
3 Florida State 1993, 1999, 2013
3 Florida 1996, 2006, 2008
3 Clemson 1981, 2016, 2018
2 Auburn 1957, 2010
2 Army 1944, 1945
2 Michigan 1948, 1997
2 Michigan State 1952, 1965
2 Penn State 1982, 1986
2 Pittsburgh 1937, 1976
2 Tennessee 1951, 1998
1 BYU 1984
1 Colorado 1990
1 Georgia 1980
1 Georgia Tech 1990
1 Maryland 1953
1 Oklahoma State 1945
1 Syracuse 1959
1 TCU 1938
1 UCLA 1954
1 Washington 1991

USC is one of the most storied programs in college football history. The Trojans have won over 800 games in their history, claimed 11 national championships, 39 conference titles, have appeared in 54 bowl games and they’ve had the most players selected in the NFL Draft.

Joining the Pacific Coast Conference, which eventually morphed into the present-day Pac-12, in 1922, USC made an immediate impact. The Trojans won the first of their league titles and defeated Penn State in the Rose Bowl to finish the year 10-1. By 1939 the Trojans would have four recognized national championships and six Rose Bowl victories without a loss. Prior to 1975 the conference did not allow its teams to participate in any Bowl game other than the Rose Bowl. The Trojans played in 20 of their 38 Rose Bowl games before 1975 going 14-6.

If there was a dead era of USC football it started in the late 1950s. From 1957 to 1961 the Trojans experienced four losing seasons and did not appear in a bowl. They broke out of that funk in a big way in 1962, capping an undefeated season with a Rose Bowl win and the program’s fifth national championship. Under John McKay, the program’s winningest coach, USC won four national championships and 127 games. The Trojans won back-to-back national titles under Pete Carroll in 2003 and 2004, though the last was vacated by the NCAA due to sanctions related to Reggie Bush.

Throughout the program’s history no coach had ever won 10 or more games in his first two seasons. Helton broke that spell with 11 wins in 2017 and got the Trojans their first Pac-12 title and first since 2008 when the team was competing in the Pac-10 Conference. The team suffered a downturn in 2018 and will aim to put that in the rearview mirror with better success in 2019.

Football Betting Bonus

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best NCAA Football Betting Odds, NCAA Football Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top