2023 AFC Championship Betting Odds - NFL Lines

2023 AFC Championship Betting

NFL American Football COnference Betting

To no one’s surprise, the Kansas City Chiefs are favored to win the AFC once again. Kansas City has hosted each of the last five AFC Championship Games, and they have gone on to the Super Bowl three times. Cincinnati and Buffalo are seen as the teams with the next best odds to win the AFC, while the only other team that is currently less than 13-1 to win the conference is the New York Jets. Although the Jets haven’t made the playoffs since 2010, they have a great defense and traded for Aaron Rodgers in the offseason.

NFL Betting Lines

AFC Divisions

AFC East

New England won this division for 11 straight seasons and claimed 16 of 17 AFC East titles from 2003 to 2019. However, the Patriots have been supplanted by the Buffalo Bills. Buffalo has now won this division for three straight seasons and drilled New England by 30 points in the playoffs two years ago. The Patriots are actually projected to come in last place in the AFC East as Miami and the New York Jets are both fringe Super Bowl contenders.

AFC North

This has the potential to be the most interesting division in football. Cincinnati is probably the second-best team in the AFC behind Kansas City, and the three other teams in the AFC North could all make the playoffs if they answer some major questions. All three of those questions revolve around quarterback play but the concerns are different for Baltimore’s Lamar Jackson, Cleveland’s Deshaun Watson, and Pittsburgh’s Kenny Pickett.

AFC South

Conversely, this is the worst division in the NFL this season. Houston, Indianapolis, and Tennessee have the longest odds to win the AFC, and Jacksonville is well behind the top teams in the other three divisions in this conference. The Jaguars are hoping that 2021 No. 1 overall pick Trevor Lawrence can take another step forward in his development this season.

AFC West

Incredibly, every team in the AFC West has now won the division 15 times. Each franchise has seen success wax and wane, and it’s now the Kansas City Chiefs’ turn to bask in the sun. Kansas City has won the division for each of the last seven seasons, as the Chiefs have only finished with fewer than 12 wins once in that stretch.

Football Betting Bonus

List of AFC Champions (2000)

2022 Kansas City Chiefs Cincinnati Bengals 23-20
2021 Cincinnati Bengals Kansas City Chiefs 27-24 (OT)
2020 Kansas City Chiefs Buffalo Bills 38-24
2019 Kansas City Chiefs Tennessee Titans 35-24
2018 New England Patriots Kansas City Chiefs 37-31 (OT)
2017 New England Patriots Jacksonville Jaguars 24-20
2016 New England Patriots Pittsburgh Steelers 36-17
2015 Denver Broncos New England Patriots 20-18
2014 New England Patriots Indianapolis Colts 45-7
2013 Denver Broncos New England Patriots 26-16
2012 Baltimore Ravens New England Patriots 28-13
2011 New England Patriots Baltimore Ravens 23-20
2010 Pittsburgh Steelers New York Jets 24-19
2009 Indianapolis Colts New York Jets 30-17
2008 Pittsburgh Steelers Baltimore Ravens 23-14
2007 New England Patriots San Diego Chargers 21-12
2006 Indianapolis Colts New England Patriots 38-34
2005 Pittsburgh Steelers Denver Broncos 34-17
2004 New England Patriots Pittsburgh Steelers 41-27
2003 New England Patriots Indianapolis Colts 24-14
2002 Oakland Raiders Tennessee Titans 41-24
2001 New England Patriots Pittsburgh Steelers 24-17
2000 Baltimore Ravens Oakland Raiders 16-3

Kansas City has taken the mantle from New England as the team to beat in the AFC. The Chiefs have made it to the last five AFC Championship Games, and they have hosted all five of those games as the team with the better record. Patrick Mahomes is already a first-ballot Hall of Fame selection, and it’s clear that the road to the Super Bowl will go through Arrowhead Stadium for the foreseeable future.

AFC Championship Results by Team

New England Patriots 11 2018
Pittsburgh Steelers 8 2010
Denver Broncos 8 2015
Miami Dolphins 5 1984
Oakland Raiders 4 2002
Buffalo Bills 4 1993
Kansas City Chiefs 3 2022
Cincinnati Bengals 3 2021
Indianapolis Colts 3 2009
Baltimore Ravens 2 2012
Tennessee Titans 1 1999
Los Angeles Chargers 1 1994

Pittsburgh and Denver were the two premier teams in the AFC before New England went on the most impressive run we’ve ever seen in the NFL. The Patriots won the AFC nine times from 2001 to 2018 with Bill Belichick and Tom Brady leading the way. The Steelers still have more AFC Championship Game appearances than any other team (16), but the Patriots are right behind with 15 trips to this game.

Access live betting lines and NFL Betting Lines from your mobile device at BookMaker Sportsbook! You can wager on sporting events as they unfold on television with BookMaker’s live betting platform.

Join Now!

Back to Top