Odds to Win NFL AFC West - Football Betting Online

Home > Sports Betting > Football Betting > AFC West

American Football Conference West

NFL AFC West Betting

With four teams that originally began play as charter members of the AFL’s Western Division, the AFC West is the nastiest in football. It’s also been one of the most competitive throughout the years, though the Kansas City Chiefs have a stranglehold on the top spot and don’t appear to be letting go. The Chiefs and Los Angeles Chargers had the best record in the AFC last season at 12-4. Kansas City won the tie-breaker with a better division record, thus earning the No. 1 seed in the conference playoffs and its third straight division title. Oddsmakers have those two in a close race at the top of the division. The Denver Broncos and Oakland Raiders are further down the odds list and aren’t expected to compete, though stranger things have happened.

Odds to Win AFC West at BookMaker.eu

Kansas City Chiefs -184

Los Angeles Chargers +208

Denver Broncos +1438

Oakland Raiders +2094


With MVP Patrick Mahomes running the show, the Chiefs led the NFL in scoring in 2018 and should again put up astronomical numbers. They also improved their defense to make a run at their first Super Bowl since before the league’s merged. Under Andy Reid the Chiefs have posted four straight seasons with double-digit victories while going 65-31 in his six seasons. That regular season success hasn’t translated to the postseason, however, with only two playoff wins in that time. The Chiefs reached the AFC Championship Game last season falling to eventual Super Bowl champion New England in overtime.

Led by Philip Rivers, the Chargers posted their highest win total since 2009 and finished tied with KC for the best record in the conference. Time is running out for the future Hall of Famer to reach the Super Bowl, though the Bolts have a good chance of getting there in 2019. The team remains virtually intact with a bevy of playmakers on offense for the sixth-highest scoring team. The Bolts were a top-10 unit defensively under coordinator Gus Bradley and that was with Joey Bosa and Denzell Perryman missing a number of games. The addition of Thomas Davis will also help.

With Denver and Oakland rebuilding, the division is top-heavy. That doesn’t mean we won’t see wacky things happen. The Broncos’ Week 11 win over the Chargers last season was the clincher for the Chiefs, and the long-standing rivalries always create excitement. The Raiders revamped their roster and it’s hard to tell how things will work out. They seem concerned with getting ready for the move to Las Vegas than winning now. After suffering back-to-back losing seasons for the first time since the early 1970s, the Broncos cut ties with Vance Joseph and named Vic Fangio head coach.

American Football Conference Teams

New England Patriots Cleveland Browns Indianapolis Colts Kansas City Chiefs
New York Jets Pittsburgh Steelers Houston Texans Los Angeles Chargers
Buffalo Bills Baltimore Ravens Jacksonville Jaguars Denver Broncos
Miami Dolphins Cincinnati Bengals Tennessee Titans Oakland Raiders

List of AFC West Winners

2018 Kansas City Chiefs 12-4
2017 Kansas City Chiefs 10-6
2016 Kansas City Chiefs 12-4
2015 Denver Broncos 12-4
2014 Denver Broncos 12-4
2013 Denver Broncos 13-3
2012 Denver Broncos 13-3
2011 Denver Broncos 8-8
2010 Kansas City Chiefs 10–6
2009 San Diego Chargers 13–3
2008 San Diego Chargers 8–8
2007 San Diego Chargers 11–5
2006 San Diego Chargers 14–2
2005 Denver Broncos 13–3
2004 San Diego Chargers 12–4
2003 Kansas City Chiefs 13–3
2002 Oakland Raiders 11–5
2001 Oakland Raiders 10–6
2000 Oakland Raiders 12–4
Full List
1999 Seattle Seahawks 9–7
1998 Denver Broncos 14–2
1997 Kansas City Chiefs 13-3
1996 Denver Broncos 13–3
1995 Kansas City Chiefs 13–3
1994 San Diego Chargers 11–5
1993 Kansas City Chiefs 11–5
1992 San Diego Chargers 11–5
1991 Denver Broncos 12–4
1990 Los Angeles Raiders 12–4
1989 Denver Broncos 11–5
1988 Seattle Seahawks 9–7
1987 Denver Broncos 10–4–1
1986 Denver Broncos 11–5
1985 Los Angeles Raiders 12–4
1984 Denver Broncos 13–3
1983 Los Angeles Raiders 12–4
1982 + Los Angeles Raiders 8–1
1981 San Diego Chargers 10–6
1980 San Diego Chargers 11–5
1979 San Diego Chargers 12–4
1978 Denver Broncos 10–6
1977 Denver Broncos 12–2
1976 Oakland Raiders 13–1
1975 Oakland Raiders 11–3
1974 Oakland Raiders 12–2
1973 Oakland Raiders 9–4
1972 Oakland Raiders 10–3–1
1971 Kansas City Chiefs 10–3–1
1970 Oakland Raiders 8–4–2

With the exception of a few moves here and there, the division hasn’t seen much change since the AFL days. The Raiders moved south and spent 13 seasons in Los Angeles before returning to Oakland in 1995. It looks as though another move is imminent with Las Vegas the site for 2020. The Chargers were based in Los Angeles for their debut 1960 season in the AFL but moved south to San Diego the next year. They packed up again and relocated back to the Los Angeles area in 2017.

Two other teams have been members of the AFC West. The Tampa Bay Buccaneers resided in the division during their inaugural 1976 season but didn’t play a division schedule. Seattle replaced Tampa Bay the following year and remained until the 2002 realignment when they moved to the NFC West. The Seahawks won a pair of division titles during those 25 seasons before the AFC West returned to its four-team grouping.

Following realignment, the West was the only one of the eight divisions to have each member win a division title in the first four years. The Raiders won the first in 2002, which was their third straight overall and their last of 13 between the cities. Oakland tied for the division lead in 2016 but lost both regular season games to the Chiefs. Kansas City ended Denver’s run of five straight division titles, which tied Oakland’s mark from 1972-1976 as the longest in the division.

Most AFC West Division Titles

Denver Broncos 15 2015
Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders 13 2002
Los Angeles/San Diego Chargers 10 2009
Kansas City Chiefs 9 2018
Seattle Seahawks 2 1999

The AFC West has a storied past that dates back to the initial season of the AFL and division matchups are always entertaining because the teams are almost always evenly-matched. Even if they aren’t, just being a rivalry game makes it exciting and unpredictable. The Raiders have won 13 divisions, the second-most behind Denver’s 15, but they are experiencing their longest period without a crown. Oakland won the 2002 title, but hasn’t won since, allowing the Broncos to get six while the Chargers and Chiefs each won five.

The division has sent 16 teams to a Super Bowl with Denver leading the way with eight, the second-most visits of any team. Kansas City hasn’t played in a Super Bowl since the merger, but was victorious in the last game before the leagues joined, beating Minnesota. It was the Chiefs second Super Bowl in the first four years of its existence.

Football Betting Bonus

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best NFL Betting Odds, NFL Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Live Lines

  • Time
  • Teams
  • Spread
  • Total
  • Odds
  • Feb 02

    4:30 PM

    • 101
    • San Francisco 49ers
    • +1-105
    • o54½-105
    • +105
    • 102
    • Kansas City Chiefs
    • -1-115
    • u54½-115
    • -125

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top