Odds to Win NFL AFC South - Football Betting Online

Home > Sports Betting > Football Betting > AFC South

American Football Conference South

NFL AFC South Betting

With the help of Peyton Manning, the Indianapolis Colts owned the AFC South from its inception winning nine of the first 13 titles. They’ve gone four years without a crown, their longest drought in the division’s history, but after a standout 10-win campaign under rookie coach Frank Reich in 2018, the Colts are the favorite to win the division in 2019. The Houston Texans aren’t going to give it up easily, though. The Texans won the title in 2018 by a game over the Colts, their third crown in four seasons. The teams met in a wild card playoff game with the Colts getting the victory. It was the second straight season two division teams qualified for the postseason after having just one the previous four campaigns.

Odds to Win AFC South at BookMaker.eu

Indianapolis Colts -127

Houston Texans +363

Jacksonville Jaguars +485

Tennessee Titans +645


Indy is a negative odds favorite to win its first division crown since 2014 and Andrew Luck has everything to do with that. Luck missed the entire 2017 season and the Colts won four games, prompting a change at the coaching position. With Luck back under center and Reich calling the plays, the Colts improved 25 spots to rank fifth in scoring. For the first time since 2014 Luck started all 16 games throwing for 4,593 yards and 39 touchdowns.

The Colts also had a massive improvement on the defensive side of the football allowing the 10th fewest points in the NFL. They had been near the bottom of the rankings in points and yards allowed per game in each of the previous three seasons when they failed to post a winning record. Following a tough start to last season, the Colts put things together winning nine of their final 10 games, knocking off Tennessee in the finale to qualify for the playoffs. They went to Houston and dominated the Texans for their first postseason win in four years.

With Deshaun Watson getting some of his weapons back this season, the Texans should also be in the running for another division title. The back end of the defense was impacted by the loss of Tyrann Mathieu, but they still have J.J. Watt, Jadeveon Clowney and Whitney Mercilus up front to form one of the best groups in the division and the league. Houston and Indy combined to win nine of the past 10 AFC South titles and they will be in the hunt once again.

We don’t know what the Jacksonville Jaguars are going to be like this year. One of the biggest disappointments in 2018, the Jags flopped to five wins a season after winning their first AFC South title and coming within a victory of the Super Bowl. The Blake Bortles era came to an end after the former No. 3 overall pick struggled to find any consistency in his game. The Jags have a relentless defense that they rode to the AFC Championship two seasons ago and they now have former Super Bowl MVP Nick Foles to run the offense.

American Football Conference Teams

New England Patriots Cleveland Browns Indianapolis Colts Kansas City Chiefs
New York Jets Pittsburgh Steelers Houston Texans Los Angeles Chargers
Buffalo Bills Baltimore Ravens Jacksonville Jaguars Denver Broncos
Miami Dolphins Cincinnati Bengals Tennessee Titans Oakland Raiders

List of AFC South Winners

2018 Houston Texans 11-5
2017 Jacksonville Jaguars 10-6
2016 Houston Texans 9–7
2015 Houston Texans 9–7
2014 Indianapolis Colts 11–5
2013 Indianapolis Colts 11–5
2012 Houston Texans 12–4
2011 Houston Texans 10–6
2010 Indianapolis Colts 10–6
2009 Indianapolis Colts 14–2
2008 Tennessee Titans 13–3
2007 Indianapolis Colts 13–3
2006 Indianapolis Colts 12–4
2005 Indianapolis Colts 14–2
2004 Indianapolis Colts 12–4
2003 Indianapolis Colts 12–4
2002 Tennessee Titans 11–5

Since its creation in 2002, the AFC South has housed the same teams. Jacksonville and Tennessee came over from the AFC Central, Indianapolis moved from the AFC East and the Texans were an expansion team that year. The Colts dominated for much of the division’s existence, but it’s been extremely competitive the past four years. The Texans have captured three of the last four crowns, a run interrupted in 2017 when the Jags captured their only crown.

The Titans won the very first title and they would be the only team standing between the Colts and nine consecutive divisions. Indy won a record five straight from 2003 to 2007 only to see Tennessee stop the run in 2008. The Colts would win the next two and add back-to-back titles in 2013 and 2014 for their all-time high of nine. Houston claimed consecutive division crowns and all five of theirs have come in the past eight seasons.

The 2007 campaign saw every division team finish the regular year at or above .500, three teams won at least 10 games and all three qualified for the postseason. Indy won the crown with a 13-3 record while Jacksonville (11-5) and Tennessee (10-6) each qualified for the playoffs as a wild card. The Texans ended the year 8-8. The combined 42-22 record was the best for any division in NFL history.

Most AFC South Division Titles

Indianapolis Colts 9 2014
Houston Texans 5 2018
Tennessee Titans 2 2008
Jacksonville Jaguars 1 2017

Since 2009 it’s been back and forth between Indy and Houston with the teams winning nine of 10 titles. Tennessee and Jacksonville both won multiple division titles while members of the old AFC Central. The Titans won a pair as the Oilers and captured their own in 2000. Jacksonville won back-to-back in 1998 and 1999, just three years after joining the NFL. It’s been a bit bumpier since realignment. Tennessee has two South crowns while the Jags captured their first in 2017.

Indianapolis is the only AFC South member to partake in a Super Bowl, doing it twice with a win in the 2006 season and a loss following the 2009 campaign. Since the Colts’ victory in Super Bowl XLI, every other division in the NFL has had a member win at least one Big Game, giving the South the longest Super Bowl victory drought.

Football Betting Bonus

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best NFL Betting Odds, NFL Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Live Lines

  • Time
  • Teams
  • Spread
  • Total
  • Odds
  • Feb 02

    4:30 PM

    • 101
    • San Francisco 49ers
    • +1-105
    • o54½-105
    • +105
    • 102
    • Kansas City Chiefs
    • -1-115
    • u54½-115
    • -125

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top