NFL Betting Odds - Washington Redskins Season Recap

Home > Football Betting > NFL Betting > Washington Redskins

Washington Redskins Betting

Washington Redskins Betting

Did Daniel Snyder seriously wish everyone a “Happy Thanksgiving” when he introduced Ron Rivera as the next head coach of the franchise on January 2, 2020? That was a rhetorical question and I’m not expecting an answer. But to be clear, the answer is yes. That simply goes to show just how clueless the Washington Redskins are as a franchise, and it would be quite the shock if it actually found a way to thrive under the current leadership group. Regardless of the fact that Rivera is a solid coach and excellent football mind, much work is to be done for Washington to compete with Dallas, Philadelphia and New York for division supremacy in the coming years. With so much to correct on both sides of the ball, you can only look to fix one problem area at a time. Now that a new coach is in tow, it remains to be seen how quickly the turnaround progresses.

Season Recap

Where does one begin to break down the albatross that was the Redskins 2019-20 campaign? We’ll start with the firing of Jay Gruden following the Skins 33-7 defeat at home against the New England Patriots. Gruden looked like a defeated man in the postgame presser firing off short answer after short answer to reporters. The writing was on the wall following that and it quickly surfaced that he would be fired and replaced with interim head coach Bill Callahan. The move resulted in the Skins winning their very next game in a “Toilet Bowl” matchup against the Miami Dolphins, but was then followed up with four straight losses against the 49ers, Vikings, Bills and Jets with three of those teams punching their ticket to the playoffs.

Inexplicably, Washington went out and secured back-to-back wins over the Detroit Lions and Carolina Panthers to further decrease their chances of securing the No. 1 pick in the 2020 NFL Draft. While it did go on to play to the death against the Green Bay Packers in Week 14 to log a third straight cover against the closing NFL odds, the 20-15 defeat was the first of what would be four straight losses to close out the regular season. When the dust cleared on an otherwise forgetful regular season campaign, the Redskins ended up 3-13 SU and 6-10 ATS. Unfortunately, the overall effort wasn’t enough to snag the No.1 pick in the NFL Draft.

This is a team that managed one win through eight tries in front of the hometown faithful and covered the pointspread a total of two times; gross!

After three straight third place NFC East finishes, the Redskins brought up the rear of the standings for the first time since 2014; Gruden’s first season at the helm. With so much bad that came out of 2019, it’s hard to unearth much of any good. Derrius Guice was fun to watch when healthy, but the injury prone stud out of LSU was only able to suit up for five games and made just one start due to his balky knees. One area the team does however look to be set in is at WR1 after Terry McLaurin burst onto the scene with one of the best rookie season’s the franchise has seen in quite some time. Though he only managed to start 14 of 16 games, he was still far and away the leader of the wide receiver corps with 58 receptions that were turned into 919 yards and 7 TD. He and Dwayne Haskins figure to make sweet music with one another for the foreseeable future provided each continues to grow in 2020 and beyond.

2020 Season Preview

As goofy as it looks on paper considering the defense ranked No. 27 both overall and in points allowed, the stop unit was the strength of the team in 2019. Should the Bengals snag Joe Burrow with the No. 1 pick in the draft, it would be shocking if Washington didn’t add Ohio State’s Chase Young to a defensive front that ranked No. 10 for the most sacks tallied in the league. With so many glaring holes on the offensive side of the ball and the defense the strength of the team, it only makes perfect sense to continue building that side of the ball to turn it into an elite unit while the offense continues to find itself.

2019 Washington Redskins Betting Schedule

Week 1 Redskins at Philadelphia Eagles Sunday, Sept. 8, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 2 Redskins vs. Dallas Cowboys Sunday, Sept. 15, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 3 Redskins vs. Chicago Bears Monday, Sept. 23, 8:15 p.m. ET ESPN
Week 4 Redskins at New York Giants Sunday, Sept. 29, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 5 Redskins vs. New England Patriots Sunday, Oct. 6, 1 p.m. ET CBS
Week 6 Redskins at Miami Dolphins Sunday, Oct. 13, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 7 Redskins vs. San Francisco 49ers Sunday, Oct. 20, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 8 Redskins at Minnesota Vikings Thursday, Oct. 24, 8:20 p.m. ET FOX/NFLN
Week 9 Redskins at Buffalo Bills Sunday, Nov. 3, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 10 BYE - -
Week 11 Redskins vs. New York Jets Sunday, Nov. 17, 1 p.m. ET CBS
Week 12 Redskins vs. Detroit Lions Sunday, Nov. 24, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 13 Redskins at Carolina Panthers Sunday, Dec. 1, 1 p.m. ET CBS
Week 14 Redskins at Green Bay Packers Sunday, Dec. 8, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 15 Redskins vs. Philadelphia Eagles Sunday, Dec. 15, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 16 Redskins vs. New York Giants Sunday, Dec. 22, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 17 Redskins at Dallas Cowboys Sunday, Dec. 29, 1 p.m. ET FOX
NFL Football Picks

Past Washington Redskins Seasons

2018 7-9 None
2017 7-9 None
2016 8-7-1 None
2015 9-7 Lost Wild Card Round
2014 4-12 None
2013 3-13 None
2012 10-6 Lost Wild Card Round
2011 5-11 None
2010 6-10 None
2009 4-12 None
2008 8-8 None
2007 9-7 Lost Wild Card Round
2006 5-11 None
2005 10-6 Lost Divisional Round
2004 6-10 None
2003 5-11 None
2002 7-9 None
2001 8-8 None
2000 8-8 None
Full List
1999 10-6 Lost Divisional Round
1998 6-10 None
1997 8-7-1 None
1996 9-7 None
1995 6-10 None
1994 3-13 None
1993 4-12 None
1992 9-7 Lost Divisional Round
1991 14-2 Won Super Bowl
1990 10-6 Lost Divisional Round
1989 10-6 None
1988 7-9 None
1987 11-4 Won Super Bowl
1986 12-4 Lost Conference Championship
1985 10-6 None
1984 11-5 Lost Divisional Round
1983 14-2 Lost Super Bowl
1982 8-1 Won Super Bowl
1981 8-8 None
1980 6-10 None
1979 10-6 None
1978 8-8 None
1977 9-5 None
1976 10-4 Lost Divisional Round
1975 8-6 None
1974 10-4 Lost Divisional Round
1973 10-4 Lost Divisional Round
1972 11-3 Lost Super Bowl
1971 9-4-1 Lost Divisional Round
1970 6-8 None
1969 7-5-2 None
1968 5-9 None
1967 5-6-3 None
1966 7-7 None

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best NFL Betting Odds, NFL Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top