NFL Betting Odds - Los Angeles Rams Season Recap

Home > Football Betting > NFL Betting > Los Angeles Rams

Los Angeles Rams Betting

Los Angeles Rams Betting

The Los Angeles Rams posted their third straight winning record this season, but it wasn’t enough for the Rams to make it back to the postseason. The defending NFC champions missed out on the playoffs with a 9-7 record, and some of the luster has finally come off Sean McVay’s star. McVay has been heralded as an offensive guru, but that side of the ball was simply above average in 2019, picking up just 5.7 yards per play. The young coach likely has some ideas to tinker with this offseason to get the Rams back to the postseason in 2020.  

Season Recap

The Rams couldn’t run the ball effectively all season as offensive linemen kept going down with injuries, and their backups weren’t reliable enough to move the chains on the ground. Todd Gurley II finished the year with just 857 yards, averaging only 3.8 YPC. As a team, the Rams averaged 3.7 YPC, and their run game was in the bottom ten in the league.

That hurt Jared Goff considerably as opponents didn’t have to respect play action as much. Much of Goff’s success has come off play action since McVay took over for Jeff Fisher, and the young quarterback made some mistakes with more defenders playing the pass. Goff did complete 62.9 percent of his passes and threw for 4,638 yards but he managed just 22 touchdowns against 16 interceptions. The offensive line pass blocked well too as Goff was only sacked 22 times all year.

Cooper Kupp and Robert Woods both had 1,000-yard seasons for the Rams. Kupp caught 94 passes for 1,161 yards with 10 touchdowns, while Woods hauled in 90 passes for 1,134 yards but only found the end zone twice. Kupp was responsible for nearly half of Goff’s touchdown passes, and only one other player had three scores.

Brandin Cooks was not the same receiver we have seen in the past. A concussion kept Cooks out of a couple games, but he didn’t look right all season for the Rams. He had just 42 receptions for 583 yards and two touchdowns, but he did break some big plays at times.

This defense is one of the most talented units in the league. Aaron Donald probably won’t win Defensive Player of the Year for a third straight season, but he would be a deserved winner. There is no one more dominant on this side of the ball, and he is already a Hall of Famer just six seasons into his career. Donald has had at least eight sacks each year, and that’s unheard of for a defensive tackle. The star from Pittsburgh was a lock to be a Pro Bowler this season with 11.5 sacks and 23.5 tackles for loss.

Donald’s play has freed up Clay Matthews and Dante Fowler Jr. to do work. Matthews and Fowler combined to register 19.5 sacks and 28 tackles for loss this year, and that has made this defense scary. The addition of Jalen Ramsey was huge too, as Marcus Peters was having a rough time in Wade Phillips scheme. Ramsey was as excellent addition, but the Rams did mortgage the future for him, trading multiple picks to Jacksonville to acquire him.

2020 Season Preview

The Rams have a lot of decisions to make in the offseason. They are going to be squeezed because of the salary cap very soon, and it’s unlikely that they will keep Fowler, Michael Brockers, and Andrew Whitworth considering the contracts that are to come for this team. Los Angeles has already spent heavily to keep Goff, Gurley, and Donald as franchise players, and the front office has stated that Ramsey was acquired with the goal of keeping him long-term too.

Offensive line will be the priority for the Rams in the coming months. The big boys up front are getting older and there are some concerns about the health of this unit going forward. Unfortunately, the Rams don’t have many picks in the 2020 NFL Draft after trading for Ramsey, and they will be without first round picks for each of the next two seasons.

Many are calling for the Rams to free up cap space by trading Gurley, but GM Les Snead has publicly shot down that option. Only time will tell whether that’s bluster or if Snead is indeed adamant that he won’t deal Gurley.

2019 Los Angeles Rams Betting Schedule

Week 1 Rams at Carolina Panthers Sunday, Sept. 8, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 2 Rams vs. New Orleans Saints Sunday, Sept. 15, 4:25 p.m. ET FOX
Week 3 Rams at Cleveland Browns Sunday, Sept. 22, 8:20 p.m. ET NBC
Week 4 Rams vs. Tampa Bay Buccaneers Sunday, Sept. 29, 4:05 p.m. ET FOX
Week 5 Rams at Seattle Seahawks Thursday, Oct. 3, 8:20 p.m. ET FOX/NFLN
Week 6 Rams vs. San Francisco 49ers Sunday, Oct. 13, 4:05 p.m. ET FOX
Week 7 Rams at Atlanta Falcons Sunday, Oct. 20, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 8 Rams vs. Cincinnati Bengals Sunday, Oct. 27, 1 p.m. ET CBS
Week 9 BYE - -
Week 10 Rams at Pittsburgh Steelers Sunday, Nov. 10, 4:25 p.m. ET FOX
Week 11 Rams vs. Chicago Bears Sunday, Nov. 17, 8:20 p.m. ET NBC
Week 12 Rams vs. Baltimore Ravens Monday, Nov. 25, 8:15 p.m. ET ESPN
Week 13 Rams at Arizona Cardinals Sunday, Dec. 1, 4:05 p.m. ET FOX
Week 14 Rams vs. Seattle Seahawks Sunday, Dec. 8, 8:20 p.m. ET NBC
Week 15 Rams at Dallas Cowboys Sunday, Dec. 15, 4:25 p.m. ET FOX
Week 16 Rams at San Francisco 49ers Saturday, Dec. 21 or Sunday, Dec. 22, TBA TBA
Week 17 Rams vs. Arizona Cardinals Sunday, Dec. 29, 4:25 p.m. ET FOX
NFL Football Picks

Past Los Angeles Rams Seasons

2018 13-3 Lost Super Bowl
2017 11-5 Lost Wild Card Round
2016 4-12 None
2015 7-9 None
2014 6-10 None
2013 7-9 None
2012 7-8-1 None
2011 2-14 None
2010 7-9 None
2009 1-15 None
2008 2-14 None
2007 3-13 None
2006 8-8 None
2005 6-10 None
2004 8-8 Lost Divisional Round
2003 12-4 Lost Divisional Round
2002 7-9 None
2001 14-2 Lost Super Bowl
2000 10-6 Lost Wild Card Round
Full List
1999 13-3 Won Super Bowl
1998 4-12 None
1997 5-11 None
1996 6-10 None
1995 7-9 None
1994 4-12 None
1993 5-11 None
1992 6-10 None
1991 3-13 None
1990 5-11 None
1989 11-5 Lost Conference Championship
1988 10-6 Lost Wild Card Round
1987 6-9 None
1986 10-6 Lost Wild Card Round
1985 11-5 Lost Conference Championship
1984 10-6 Lost Wild Card Round
1983 9-7 Lost Divisional Round
1982 2-7 None
1981 6-10 None
1980 11-5 Lost Wild Card Round
1979 9-7 Lost Super Bowl
1978 12-4 Lost Conference Championship
1977 10-4 Lost Divisional Round
1976 10-3-1 Lost Conference Championship
1975 12-2 Lost Conference Championship
1974 10-4 Lost Conference Championship
1973 12-2 Lost Divisional Round
1972 6-7-1 None
1971 8-5-1 None
1970 9-4-1 None
1969 11-3 Lost Divisional Round
1968 10-3-1 None
1967 11-1-2 Lost Divisional Round
1966 8-6 None

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best NFL Betting Odds, NFL Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Live Lines

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top