NFL Betting Odds - New Orleans Saints Season Recap

Home > Football Betting > NFL Betting > New Orleans Saints

New Orleans Saints Betting

New Orleans Saints Betting

That Week 10 home loss to the Atlanta Falcons coming out of the bye ultimately cost Sean Payton and the New Orleans Saints after all. Had Drew Brees and company come out on top of that matchup, it wouldn’t have been forced to host last Sunday’s wild-card matchup against a Minnesota Vikings team that proved to be much better than the No. 6 seed it was deemed. Because of it, the Saints lost in the playoffs to the Vikings for the second time in the last three seasons and were sent home with its tail between its legs only to think about what might have been. Much to the chagrin of the franchise and its die-hard fan base, online sportsbooks didn’t shed a single tear in taking one of their biggest Super Bowl LIV liabilities off the books.

Season Recap

As great the Week 1 comeback win over the Houston Texans was on Monday Night Football to kick off the season, the prospects of a successful 2019-20 campaign soured immediately after once Brees went down with a thumb injury to his throwing hand the following week against the Rams in Los Angeles. Much to the delight of ownership, Teddy Bridgewater was able to step right in and lead the team to five straight victories to let it be known New Orleans wasn’t going anywhere anytime soon even with its first ballot Hall of Fame quarterback roaming the sideline. In relief of Brees, Bridgewater led the Saints to five wins and pointspread covers throwing for 1,384 yards and a 9:2 TD/INT ratio. He’s now an unrestricted free agent, so it will be interesting to see if upper management ponies up to bring him back or allow him to latch onto another team.

The latter is likely to occur with Taysom Hill also in the mix, but let’s not forget about Brees who already holds a number of NFL QB records and added more to the mix in 2019 when he eclipsed Peyton Manning’s touchdown record fittingly against the Indianapolis Colts under the lights of Monday Night Football in Week 15. Michael Thomas played a large role in allowing him to be in a position to break those records by putting forth the greatest single season of his career. While No. 13 only caught 9 TD passes, he reeled in a whopping 149 receptions to shatter the record previously held by Marvin Harrison. He also surpassed Randy Moss for the most receiving yards through a player’s first four seasons! Inked through 2024, Thomas is sure to continue breaking records in the bayou for years to come.

Though the season ended prematurely, the Saints were super kind to NFL bettors in going 13-4 SU and an even more impressive 11-6 ATS laying chalk in each of their last 10 games.

2020 Season Preview

The Saints have dealt with adversity in each of the previous two seasons and still put forth NFC South championship caliber seasons that were cut short. First it was the “Minnesota Miracle” that ended their 2017-18 campaign in gut-wrenching fashion.

They returned to the playing field and amassed a 13-3 record to win the division a second straight time. Then it was the overtime loss to the Rams last season that brought about a rule change that changed the landscape of the NFL for the foreseeable future. Still, New Orleans went about its business by logging another 13-3 record to snag division bragging rights a third straight time.

While the NFC South possesses a number of what looks to be solid teams on paper, the Saints still look to be the cream of the crop even if they make few changes this upcoming offseason. They went 5-1 SU and 4-2 ATS versus the Falcons, Panthers and Buccaneers in 2019 and each of those teams has more questions than answers heading into 2020. With the No. 24 pick in the 2020 NFL Draft, upper management might want to make it a point to select a difference maker in the secondary. As good the run defense was this past season with Cameron Jordan and company proving to be nothing short of a stonewall in allowing just over 91 yards per game (No. 3), the pass defense was once again the defense’s Achilles Heel which was highly evident this past Sunday when it gave up huge chunk plays to Adam Thielen, Stefon Diggs and most importantly, Kyle Rudolph.

2019 New Orleans Saints Betting Schedule

Week 1 Saints vs. Houston Texans Monday, Sept. 9, 7:10 p.m. ET ESPN
Week 2 Saints at Los Angeles Rams Sunday, Sept. 15, 4:25 p.m. ET FOX
Week 3 Saints at Seattle Seahawks Sunday, Sept. 22, 4:25 p.m. ET CBS
Week 4 Saints vs. Dallas Cowboys Sunday, Sept. 29, 8:20 p.m. ET NBC
Week 5 Saints vs. Tampa Bay Buccaneers Sunday, Oct. 6, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 6 Saints at Jacksonville Jaguars Sunday, Oct. 13, 1 p.m. ET CBS
Week 7 Saints at Chicago Bears Sunday, Oct. 20, 4:25 p.m. ET FOX
Week 8 Saints vs. Arizona Cardinals Sunday, Oct. 27, 1 p.m. ET CBS
Week 9 BYE - -
Week 10 Saints vs. Atlanta Falcons Sunday, Nov. 10, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 11 Saints at Tampa Bay Buccaneers Sunday, Nov. 17, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 12 Saints vs. Carolina Panthers Sunday, Nov. 24, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 13 Saints at Atlanta Falcons Thursday, Nov. 28, 8:20 p.m. ET NBC
Week 14 Saints vs. San Francisco 49ers Sunday, Dec. 8, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 15 Saints vs. Indianapolis Colts Monday, Dec. 16, 8:15 p.m. ET ESPN
Week 16 Saints at Tennessee Titans Sunday, Dec. 22, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 17 Saints at Carolina Panthers Sunday, Dec. 29, 1 p.m. ET FOX
NFL Football Picks

Past New Orleans Saints Seasons

2018 13-3 Lost Conference Championship
2017 11-5 Lost Divisional Round
2016 7-9 None
2015 7-9 None
2014 7-9 None
2013 11-5 Lost Divisional Round
2012 7-9 None
2011 13-3 Lost Divisional Round
2010 11-5 Lost Wild Card Round
2009 13-3 Won Super Bowl
2008 8-8 None
2007 7-9 None
2006 10-6 Lost Conference Championship
2005 3-13 None
2004 8-8 None
2003 8-8 None
2002 9-7 None
2001 7-9 None
2000 10-6 Lost Divisional Round
Full List
1999 3-13 None
1998 6-10 None
1997 6-10 None
1996 3-13 None
1995 7-9 None
1994 7-9 None
1993 8-8 None
1992 12-4 Lost Wild Card Round
1991 11-5 Lost Wild Card Round
1990 8-8 Lost Wild Card Round
1989 9-7 None
1988 10-6 None
1987 12-3 Lost Wild Card Round
1986 7-9 None
1985 5-11 None
1984 7-9 None
1983 8-8 None
1982 4-5 None
1981 4-12 None
1980 1-15 None
1979 8-8 None
1978 7-9 None
1977 3-11 None
1976 4-10 None
1975 2-12 None
1974 5-9 None
1973 5-9 None
1972 2-11-1 None
1971 4-8-2 None
1970 2-11-1 None
1969 5-9 None
1968 4-9-1 None
1967 3-11 None

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best NFL Betting Odds, NFL Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Live Lines

  • Time
  • Teams
  • Spread
  • Total
  • Odds
  • Feb 02

    4:30 PM

    • 101
    • San Francisco 49ers
    • +1-105
    • o54½-110
    • +106
    • 102
    • Kansas City Chiefs
    • -1-115
    • u54½-110
    • -126

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top