NFL Betting Odds - Green Bay Packers Season Recap

Home > Football Betting > NFL Betting > Green Bay Packers

Green Bay Packers Betting

Green Bay Packers Betting

Aaron Rodgers might end his career with a single Super Bowl title. At the start of the 2010s, it looked certain that Rodgers would win multiple championships. He was proclaimed the most talented quarterback in the NFL, and he led the Packers to eight straight playoff appearances from 2009 to 2016. However, he has now lost his last three NFC Championship Games, and he just turned 36 years old in December. That has to make Green Bay Packers’ fans somewhat melancholy headed into the offseason, as this team missed out on what might be Rodgers’ last chance to win it all.

Season Recap

The Packers were one of the best teams in the regular season. They went 13-3 and didn’t drop a divisional game on their way to a sixth NFC North title in nine years. During their run, Rodgers was as solid as ever, completing 62 percent of his passes for 4,002 yards and 26 touchdowns with just four interceptions. He threw more underneath passes than he has in the past, but he continued to limit turnovers despite being sacked 36 times on the season.

Rodgers targeted Davante Adams twice as often as any other receiver this season. Adams was targeted 127 times by Rodgers during the regular season, and the next most targeted receiver was Marquez Valdes-Scantling, who was targeted 56 times. That shows Rodgers’ lack of trust in other receivers as Adams missed four games due to injury, and no other player finished with more than 500 receiving yards on the season.

The run game was quite solid for the first time in six seasons though. Green Bay has had a lot of trouble running the ball the last few years, as Mike McCarthy largely eschewed running the ball in favor of putting the game in the hands of Aaron Rodgers. Aaron Jones thrived in the first season under Matt LaFleur though, carrying the ball for 1,084 yards and 16 touchdowns while being a constant threat in the passing game too. That helped this offense keep the opposition off balance.

Offensive lines go overlooked often, but the Packers have the best left tackle in the game in David Bakhtiari. Bakhtiari helps keep Rodgers’ blind side clean, and he will be the anchor of this unit for the foreseeable future.

Green Bay’s defense improved dramatically this season with the addition of two free agents. Preston Smith and Za’Darius Smith were both excellent free agent signings, and their play helped this defense solidify over the latter half of the season. Neither Smith was selected for the Pro Bowl although Za’Darius Smith had 13.5 sacks and Preston Smith had 12 sacks, but those snubs did not age well after both players shined in the playoffs.

There will be an impetus to continue to improve in the front seven after San Francisco ran all over Green Bay in the NFC Championship Game. Raheem Mostert shredded the Packers’ run defense, and the 49ers advanced to the Super Bowl with Jimmy Garoppolo throwing just eight passes all game.

2020 Season Preview

We might see a significant roster overhaul this offseason as some key Green Bay players are free agents. Right tackle Bryan Bulaga has admitted he has likely played his last game in green and yellow, and both Blake Martinez and Tramon Williams might leave the Packers too. The core of this team remains intact though with stars like Rodgers, Adams, Bakhtiari, and the Smith’s signed up to extended deals.

The Packers will be the favorites per the NFL futures odds to win the NFC North provided Rodgers stays healthy. Minnesota is set to lose even more pieces on the defensive side of the ball, while Chicago and Detroit have both taken a step backwards. Green Bay benefitted from playing a relatively soft schedule in 2019 though, and the Packers are set to play a more difficult slate after winning the division.

Green Bay will take on each team from the AFC South and NFC South, and there are few guaranteed wins against teams from those divisions. Tennessee just made it to the AFC Championship Game and New Orleans was projected to be favored in Lambeau Field if the Saints beat Minnesota in the playoffs.

2019 Green Bay Packers Betting Schedule

Week 1 Packers at Chicago Bears Thursday, Sept. 5, 8:20 p.m. ET NBC
Week 2 Packers vs. Minnesota Vikings Sunday, Sept. 15, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 3 Packers vs. Denver Broncos Sunday, Sept. 22, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 4 Packers vs. Philadelphia Eagles Thursday, Sept. 26, 8:20 p.m. ET FOX/NFLN
Week 5 Packers at Dallas Cowboys Sunday, Oct. 6, 4:25 p.m. ET FOX
Week 6 Packers vs. Detroit Lions Monday, Oct. 14, 8:15 p.m. ET ESPN
Week 7 Packers vs. Oakland Raiders Sunday, Oct. 20, 1 p.m. ET CBS
Week 8 Packers at Kansas City Chiefs Sunday, Oct. 27, 8:20 p.m. ET NBC
Week 9 Packers at Los Angeles Chargers Sunday, Nov. 3, 4:25 p.m. ET CBS
Week 10 Packers vs. Carolina Panthers Sunday, Nov. 10, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 11 BYE - -
Week 12 Packers at San Francisco 49ers Sunday, Nov. 24, 4:25 p.m. ET FOX
Week 13 Packers at New York Giants Sunday, Dec. 1, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 14 Packers vs. Washington Redskins Sunday, Dec. 8, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 15 Packers vs. Chicago Bears Sunday, Dec. 15, 1 p.m. ET FOX
Week 16 Packers at Minnesota Vikings Monday, Dec. 23, 8:15 p.m. ET ESPN
Week 17 Packers at Detroit Lions Sunday, Dec. 29, 1 p.m. ET FOX
NFL Football Picks

Past Green Bay Packers Seasons

2018 6-9-1 None
2017 7-9 None
2016 10-6 Lost Conference Championship
2015 10-6 Lost Divisional Round
2014 12-4 Lost Conference Championship
2013 8-7-1 Lost Wild Card Round
2012 11-5 Lost Divisional Round
2011 15-1 Lost Divisional Round
2010 10-6 Won Super Bowl
2009 11-5 Lost Wild Card Round
2008 6-10 None
2007 13-3 Lost Conference Championship
2006 8-8 None
2005 4-12 None
2004 10-6 Lost Wild Card Round
2003 10-6 Lost Divisional Round
2002 12-4 Lost Wild Card Round
2001 12-4 Lost Divisional Round
2000 9-7 None
Full List
1999 8-8 None
1998 11-5 Lost Wild Card Round
1997 13-3 Lost Super Bowl
1996 13-3 Won Super Bowl
1995 11-5 Lost Conference Championship
1994 9-7 Lost Divisional Round
1993 9-7 Lost Divisional Round
1992 9-7 None
1991 4-12 None
1990 6-10 None
1989 10-6 None
1988 4-12 None
1987 5-9-1 None
1986 4-12 None
1985 8-8 None
1984 8-8 None
1983 8-8 None
1982 5-3-1 Lost Divisional Round
1981 8-8 None
1980 5-10-1 None
1979 5-11 None
1978 8-7-1 None
1977 4-10 None
1976 5-9 None
1975 4-10 None
1974 6-8 None
1973 5-7-2 None
1972 10-4 Lost Divisional Round
1971 4-8-2 None
1970 6-8 None
1969 8-6 None
1968 6-7-1 None
1967 9-4-1 Won Super Bowl
1966 12-2 Won Super Bowl

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best NFL Betting Odds, NFL Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top