Allstate Sugar Bowl Odds

HomeNCAA Football LinesNCAA Football Articles › Allstate Sugar Bowl

Allstate Sugar Bowl Betting OddsCollege Football Betting Online: As part of the CFP rotation of games, the Sugar Bowl gets its second semifinal matchup with the 2017 season playing. The bowl hosted a semifinal tilt in the first year of the CFP during the 2014 season and watched its beloved SEC team Alabama get thumped by Ohio State. The game has a long-standing relationship with the SEC and has hosted some of the league’s greatest players and teams over the last 83 years.

The 2017 Allstate Sugar Bowl will take place on Monday, January 1, 2018 at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans. Kickoff is scheduled for 8:45 p.m. ET with ESPN carrying the CFP semifinal matchup.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Odds at

Alabama Crimson Tide -2

Clemson Tigers +2

Over/Under TBD

After their loss to Auburn, the Crimson Tide were in danger of not making the College Football Playoffs, but squeezed in as the No.4 team. Despite ranking fourth, Alabama is favored against No. 1 Clemson.

The Alabama versus Clemson matchup has become a tradition in the College Football Playoffs. Having met in the National Championship game each of the last two years, we’re assured that the matchup will be different this season as this time, the two will duke it out to see who will get to advance to the title game.

Clemson has had a tough schedule this year and already has a win over the same Auburn team that beat Alabama. Playing a different style of ball without DeShaun Watson, the defense is as good as ever.

Jalen Hurts didn’t matchup against Watson last year, but Hurts looks more favorable compared to Kelly Bryant. Bryant is an effective runner with 11 rushing touchdowns. He’s also got a higher completion percentage and more total yards than Hurt, but he’s not quite as reliable either. Hurts threw only one interception all year long. Bryant is a potentially more prolific option, but he’s also more prone to a mistake.

With the matchup close on this again, the final could come down to which team makes the fewest mistakes. That would likely be ‘Bama, but the talent advantage may play in Clemson’s favor. The Tigers topped the Tide a season ago and could very well do so again.

Sugar Bowl Format

Much like the Rose Bowl’s gentlemens agreement with the now Pac-12 and its teams, the Sugar Bowl has had a similar relationship with the Southeastern Conference. From the 1950 playing through the 1995 season game, all but one bowl had a SEC representative.

The SEC’s opponent in the bowl has varied over the years. The old Southwest Conference provided a team, as did the Big 8. The game has also featured major independent programs due to its lack of affiliation with another conference. The Big 12 has most recently stepped in to provide opposition.

The Sugar Bowl was a part of the BCS and hosted two national championship games before the title tilt broke off on its own. Now a part of the CFP New Year’s Six games, the Sugar Bowl will host its second national semifinal in the 2017 season playing. For the 2014 season playing, Ohio State defeated Alabama in a national semifinal on its way to winning the first CFP Championship game.

Sugar Bowl Game Results

Season Winners Losers
2015MississippiOklahoma State
2014Ohio StateAlabama
2011MichiganVirginia Tech
2010Ohio StateArkansas
2006LSUNotre Dame
2005West VirginiaGeorgia
2004AuburnVirginia Tech
2002GeorgiaFlorida State
2000Miami, Fla.Florida
1999Florida StateVirginia Tech
1998Ohio StateTexas AM
1997Florida StateOhio State
1996FloridaFlorida State
1995Virginia TechTexas
1994Florida StateFlorida
1993FloridaWest Virginia
1992AlabamaMiami, Fla.
1991Notre DameFlorida
1989Miami, Fla.Alabama
1988Florida StateAuburn
1985TennesseeMiami, Fla.
1982Penn StateGeorgia
1980GeorgiaNotre Dame
1978AlabamaPenn State
1977AlabamaOhio State
1975AlabamaPenn State
1973Notre DameAlabama
1972OklahomaPenn State
1970TennesseeAir Force
1955Georgia TechPittsburgh
1953Georgia TechWest Virginia
1952Georgia TechMississippi
1948OklahomaNorth Carolina
1946GeorgiaNorth Carolina
1945Oklahoma StateSaint Mary's (CA)
1943Georgia TechTulsa
1940Boston CollegeTennessee
1939Texas AMTulane
1938TCUCarnegie Mellon
1937Santa ClaraLSU
1936Santa ClaraLSU

*1987 Sugar Bowl ended in tie

With the SEC considered one of, if not the strongest football conference in the country, the Sugar Bowl has seen its share of great teams and great players. The game traditionally hosted the SEC champion against another top-tier opponent, though that arrangement has been altered slightly over the last 20 years due to bowl alliances and conference realignment.

The bowl has hosted four mythical national championship games in the past. The 1992 season ended with Alabama beating Miami in the Bowl Coalition title game. The Bowl Alliance had Florida against Florida State in the championship game following the 1996 season. The BCS title for the 1999 season saw Florida State beat Virginia. The Sugar Bowl hosted the BCS title game four years later with LSU defeating Oklahoma.

In years it doesn’t host a national semifinal, the bowl will place the highest ranked SEC team against the highest ranked Big 12 club according to the CFP. This arrangement started with the new playoff system, but was delayed a year due to the game hosting a semifinal in the 2014 season. The 2015 season playing saw No. 12 Mississippi knockoff of Oklahoma State 48-20.

Last season’s game matched Big 12 champion Oklahoma against Auburn in what was Bob Stoops’ last game as coach of the Sooners. His team easily handled the Tigers, posting a 35-19 victory. It was Oklahoma’s second Sugar Bowl win in the last four games and their sixth overall. OU has the most bowl wins of any team not currently in the SEC.

Most All-Time Wins at Sugar Bowl

Wins Team Years Won
8Alabama1961, 1963, 1966, 1975, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1992
6LSU1958, 1964, 1967, 2001, 2003, 2006
6Mississippi1957, 1959, 1960, 1962, 1969, 2015
6Oklahoma1948, 1949, 1971, 1972, 2013, 2016
4Florida State1988, 1994, 1997, 1999
4Georgia1946, 1980, 2002, 2007
4Georgia Tech1943, 1952, 1953, 1955
4Tennessee1942, 1970, 1985, 1990

It stands to reason that SEC teams would be littered throughout the list of squads that have competed in and won the most Sugar Bowls. Alabama is tops in both categories with eight wins in its 15 appearances. The Tide have lost their last three trips to the Sugar Bowl, falling in the 2015, 2014 and 2009 games. With the bowl hosting a CFP semifinal this season, we could see Bama with a chance to end that slide.

LSU has appeared in the second-most games and is tied with Ole Miss and Oklahoma in wins with six behind Alabama. The Tigers are the only program to lose three straight Sugar Bowls, falling in 1936, 1937 and 1938 with the last two defeats at the hands of Santa Clara University.

We’ll see another top-10 matchup in this season’s game with a CFP semifinal taking place. It’ll be the 17 game between highly-ranked programs in the last 25 years.

Don't miss out on your opportunity to cash in college football's Bowl Season, one of the most exciting periods in sports every year. With the sportsbook's college football odds articles, you'll get daily updates to all available wagers. And when you win, Bookmaker offers several quick and easy payout options for you to collect your winnings.

2017 Bowl Championship Series

2017 College Bowl Games

Join Now!

Live Lines

Back to Top