2023 NCAA Tournament Betting - National Championship Odds

2023 NCAA Tournament Online Betting

NCAA Tournament Online Betting

For the first time ever, a No. 4 seed will play a No. 5 seed for the national championship. San Diego State is trying to become the first No. 5 seed to ever win it all, but the Aztecs are sizeable underdogs against the Connecticut Huskies per the college basketball betting odds. This is the first time that San Diego State has ever made it to the national championship game, while Connecticut is 4-0 at this stage. The Huskies are hoping to win their fifth national title in the last quarter century, and that would make them the most successful program in college basketball during that time period.

Check the latest NCAA Basketball Betting Lines today!

NCAA Championship Game

Date: Monday, April 3

Location: NRG Stadium in Houston, Texas

(4) UConn Huskies vs. (5) San Diego State Aztecs – 9:20 PM (ET)

San Diego State Aztecs +7.5

Connecticut Huskies -7.5

Total 132.5

Money Line: San Diego State +310, Connecticut -390

The Connecticut Huskies have been the most dominant team in the NCAA Tournament by a mile. UConn has won every game during March Madness by double digits, and the Huskies have easily covered the spread in each of those tilts. Meanwhile, the San Diego State Aztecs only won one game by double digits, and the Aztecs won their last two games by just one point. That has a lot of people picking the Huskies to win it all on Monday night.

NCAA Tournament History

The NCAA Tournament began in 1939, growing in size and stature over the years. The first tournament consisted of eight teams, and the format remained unchanged until 1951, when the field was doubled to 16. The number of participating schools doubled again to 32 in 1975 and reached 64 in 1985.

Now, there are slots for 68 of the best D-I college basketball squads in America. There are 32 spaces reserved for automatic qualifiers – teams that win their end-of-the-season conference tournament. The selection committee picks the other 36 teams as at-large entrants based on their overall record, RPI, net rating, and other factors.

We may see another big change coming to March Madness in the very near future. The NCAA Transformation Committee recommended expanding the number of teams in the NCAA Tournament to accommodate the growing number of Division I teams in the country. There are now more than 350 Division I college basketball teams, and the committee wants to guarantee that at least a quarter of those programs can potentially make the NCAA Tournament. That could mean an expansion to a 96-team March Madness in as little as two years.

Basketball Betting Bonus

Most National Championships

11 UCLA 1964, 1965, 1967-73, 1975, 1995
8 Kentucky 1948, 1949, 1951, 1958, 1978, 1996, 1998, 2012
6 North Carolina 1957, 1982, 1993, 2005, 2009, 2017
5 Duke 1991, 1992, 2001, 2010, 2015
5 Indiana 1940, 1953, 1976, 1981, 1987
4 Kansas 1952, 1988, 2008, 2022
4 Connecticut 1999, 2004, 2011, 2014
3 Villanova 1985, 2016, 2018
3 Louisville 1961, 1962
2 Florida 2006, 2007
2 Michigan State 1979, 2000
2 N.C. State 1974, 1983
2 Oklahoma State 1945, 1946
2 San Francisco 1955, 1956

In today’s era of "one and done" players leaving for the NBA and the transfer portal utilizing a perpetual revolving door, the idea of winning a 68-team tournament is much harder than it was in the 1960s and 1970s during the greatest dynasty in the history of men's college basketball.

UCLA's record of 11 titles won't be touched for quite some time. As great as John Calipari has been at Kentucky, his Wildcats have just one National Championship since 1998 and eight in totality. There has also been a shift in college basketball recruiting as teams are now rarely going all-in on freshmen that will be one and done. We are continually seeing veteran teams that grow together like Villanova, Virginia, Baylor, and Kansas win national titles while the uber-talented freshmen teams implode.

National Championship Games (2000)

2022 Kansas North Carolina Caesars Superdome
2021 Baylor Gonzaga Lucas Oil Stadium
2020 Event Canceled
2019 Virginia Texas Tech U.S. Bank Stadium
2018 Villanova Michigan Alamodome
2017 North Carolina Gonzaga University of Phoenix Stadium
2016 Villanova North Carolina NRG Stadium
2015 Duke Wisconsin Lucas Oil Stadium
2014 Connecticut Kentucky AT&T Stadium
2013 Louisville Michigan Georgia Dome
2012 Kentucky Kansas Mercedes-Benz Superdome
2011 Connecticut Butler Reliant Stadium
2010 Duke Butler Lucas Oil Stadium
2009 North Carolina Michigan State Ford Field
2008 Kansas Memphis Alamodome
2007 Florida Ohio State Georgia Dome
2006 Florida UCLA RCA Dome
2005 North Carolina Illinois Edward Jones Dome
2004 Connecticut Georgia Tech Alamodome
2003 Syracuse Kansas Louisiana Superdome
2002 Maryland Indiana Georgia Dome
2001 Duke Arizona Metrodome
2000 Michigan State Florida RCA Dome

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best Basketball Betting Odds, Basketball Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top