2019 NCAA Football Heisman Trophy Odds - College Football Lines

Home > Sports Betting > Football Betting > NCAA Football Heisman Trophy

2019 NCAA Football Heisman Trophy Odds

NCAA Football Heisman Trophy Betting

Quarterbacks have won the Heisman Trophy in eight of the past nine years, and the oddsmakers believe it will be more of the same this season. Alabama quarterback Tua Tagavailoa is  one of the favorites to come home with the hardware after finishing runner-up to Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray a year ago. Murray was the No. 1 overall pick in the NFL draft, paving the way for Tagovailoa to claim the Heisman in 2019. However, there are still many others who are expected to push him for that crown, including Clemson star signal-caller Trevor Lawrence, who has been bumped up past Tagovailoa with the best odds in the country.

There are plenty of others who figure to put up mind-boggling numbers in 2019 and push for the Heisman Trophy, and early on nearly all of the main candidates are quarterbacks. It will be interesting to see if a skill player or a defensive star can make a push.

Of all of the great individual awards given in sports, the most coveted is the Heisman Trophy. Being the best player in college football is considered to be a true honor, one that it's difficult to win once and virtually impossible to capture a second time. Though many have come close in recent years, Archie Griffin remains the only man to ever hoist the trophy named after the great John Heisman multiple times.

The 2019 Heisman Trophy presentation will take place in December on ESPN

2019 Heisman Trophy Odds at BookMaker.eu

Trevor Lawrence +260

Tua Tagovailoa +300

Jalen Hurts +650

Justin Fields +900

Adrian Martinez +1000

Jake Fromm +1400

Sam Ehlinger +1600

D’Andre Swift +1700

Jonathan Taylor +1700

Travis Etienne +2000

Lawrence was only a freshman last season but put up dominant numbers and led Clemson to the national championship. The Tigers are expected to be in that hunt once again and if Lawrence takes a step forward he should be in the conversation. Tagovailoa has been dominant at Alabama and more of the same is expected in 2019. These two are the most sure-thing options on the table.

Jalen Hurts lost his job with the Crimson Tide to Tagovailoa and is now at Oklahoma, hoping to be the third straight Heisman Trophy winner there after Murray and Baker Mayfield. Justin Fields, Jake Fromm, Adrian Martinez and Sam Ehlinger are some of the other top quarterbacks on the short list.

Georgia’s D’Andre Swift is the top running back candidate but it’s hard to imagine in this day and age the award not going to a quarterback.

2019 Heisman Trophy Format

Voting for the Heisman Trophy is kept relatively secret throughout the season. Members of the AP as well as past Heisman Trophy winners all have the right to cast a ballot for the Heisman, and he who amasses the most points ultimately will be declared the winner.

There generally isn't much drama coming into the awards weekend in college football. Usually, by the time the award's winner is announced or leaked, the favorite is at least -1000 and could feature significantly lower odds than that. The 2018 race was a tight one, with Murray doing enough to hold off Tagovailoa for the crown.

Notre Dame and Ohio State have two of the most storied programs in college football, thus it shouldn't be all that surprising that they have the most Heisman Trophies in their school's showrooms with seven apiece. USC would have had seven Heisman Trophy awards as well if not for the fact that Reggie Bush's 2005 honor was ultimately vacated for NCAA violations. Oklahoma now has seven Heisman Trophy winners as well, while no one else in the country has had more than three honors.

Quarterbacks and running backs are basically the only ones who have won the Heisman Trophy in recent years. The last man who wasn't a quarterback or a running back to win the Heisman Trophy was Charles Woodson in 1997, and prior to that was Desmond Howard in 1991.

A total of just 23 Heisman Trophy awards have been given out to non-seniors. Johnny Manziel became the first freshman to ever win the honor in 2012, though Jameis Winston followed him up by doing the same thing in 2013. Lamar Jackson became the first sophomore win the Heisman Trophy in 2016 while 20 juniors have captured the award. It has become more commonplace as many of the best prospects tend to leave school early for the NFL. It will be interesting to see who comes away with the coveted Heisman Trophy at the end of the 2019 season.

2019 NCAA Football Schedule

NCAA Football Teams

NCAA Football Conferences

Football Betting Bonus

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best NCAA Football Betting Odds, NCAA Football Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Live Lines

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top