NFC South Betting - NFL Futures

Home > Sports Betting > Football Betting > NFC South

NFC South Betting Odds

NFC South Betting

The big story of the offseason is the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Tom Brady will bring his six Super Bowl rings to Tampa Bay in arguably the biggest free agency acquisition in league history. Brady is out to lead the Bucs to the postseason for the first time since 2007, and his signing led to this team’s NFL futures odds being halved across the board. The New Orleans Saints won’t be easy to topple though, as Drew Brees has led this team to 13 wins in consecutive seasons.

NFC South Futures Odds

New Orleans Saints -130

Tampa Bay Buccaneers +156

Atlanta Falcons +865

Carolina Panthers +2400

NFC South Betting

The two contenders in this division are both led by quarterbacks in their 40s, but both signal callers will be first ballot Hall of Famers. Drew Brees is the NFL’s all-time leading passer, and he has the best wide receiver in the league in Michael Thomas. The duo combined to torch defenses throughout last season, and the Saints have one of the most dynamic running backs in the game in Alvin Kamara. This defense has three excellent players too in Marshon Lattimore, Marcus Davenport, and Cameron Jordan.

Rob Gronkowski came out of retirement to play with Tom Brady again, and Tampa Bay’s expectations are sky high. The offense already had two great receivers in Mike Evans and Chris Godwin, and O.J. Howard has been a playmaking tight end too. On defense, the linebacker corps is exceptional with leading sack master Shaquil Barrett back alongside Lavonte David and Devin White.

Atlanta closed out the season with six wins in its last eight games, saving head coach Dan Quinn’s job in the process. This offense is exciting with Matt Ryan connecting with Julio Jones and Calvin Ridley, and Todd Gurley will receive a lot of cheers as a former Georgia Bulldog coming back home. The defense has some real concerns though.

This will be a rebuilding year for Carolina. The Panthers said goodbye to Cam Newton and Ron Rivera and brought in Matt Rhule and Joe Brady from the college ranks. Christian McCaffrey will see a lot of touches in Brady’s offense, and it appears that Teddy Bridgewater will finally get a chance to be a starting quarterback.

NFC South Winners (2002)

2019 New Orleans Saints 13-3
2018 New Orleans Saints 13-3
2017 New Orleans Saints 11–5
2016 Atlanta Falcons 11–5
2015 Carolina Panthers 15–1
2014 Carolina Panthers 7–8–1
2013 Carolina Panthers 12–4
2012 Atlanta Falcons 13–3
2011 New Orleans Saints 13–3
2010 Atlanta Falcons 13–3
2009 New Orleans Saints 13–3
2008 Carolina Panthers 12–4
2007 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 9–7
2006 New Orleans Saints 10–6
2005 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 11-5
2004 Atlanta Falcons 11–5
2003 Carolina Panthers 11–5
2002 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 12–4

The NFC South was born out of realignment in 2002 when the NFL moved to eight four-team divisions. If you like offense, this division is for you. Atlanta rode the league’s highest scoring offense to the Super Bowl in 2016 and Carolina did the same the previous season. New Orleans has always had one of the highest scoring offenses in the league since Sean Payton and Drew Brees teamed up, and there is hope in Tampa with Tom Brady coming to town.

If parity is what the NFL is striving for, the league got it right with the NFC South. The division did not have a repeat winner until the 2014 season and each team has at least three division titles. The Carolina Panthers became the first to repeat when they won the 2014 division title, but it was tarnished a bit by the fact they had a losing record at 7-8-1. They are one of just two teams in league history to win their division with a sub-.500 record.

New Orleans won just two division titles in its first 39 years with both coming as a member of the NFC West. They have been the team to beat over the last decade and a half though, claiming six NFC South titles during the franchise’s most successful stretch in its history.

NFC South Division Titles

New Orleans Saints 6
Carolina Panthers 5
Atlanta Falcons 4
Tampa Bay Buccaneers 3

While some divisions lack geographical sense, the NFC South isn’t one of them, and the Atlanta/New Orleans rivalry is the most underrated in the NFL. These teams joined the league a season apart in the mid-1960s and have played each other every season since that point. They were placed together in the NFC West before realignment took place, and their battles have continued in the NFC South.

None of these teams are what you would consider powerhouses in the history of the league. Atlanta and Carolina have each been to two Super Bowls and lost both, while the Saints and Bucs won their only trips to the biggest stage. However, this is one of only two divisions to see all four of its teams make the Super Bowl since realignment.

Football Betting Bonus

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best NFL Betting Odds, NFL Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top