2024 Stanley Cup Betting Odds - NHL Lines

2024 Stanley Cup Betting Online

NHL Stanley Cup Betting

The 2024 Stanley Cup Playoffs are down to the final four teams with the Florida Panthers and New York Rangers meeting in the Eastern Conference Finals, while the Edmonton Oilers take on the Dallas Stars in the Western Conference Finals. The Stanley Cup Playoffs began on April 20, 2024, and will conclude no later than June 24, 2024, with the 2024 Stanley Cup Finals. Parity has always been a defining feature of the Stanley Cup playoffs. The NHL regularly sees clubs surpass expectations in the regular season, elude the playoffs, make a run to the Stanley Cup Final, and frequently even win it, possibly more than any other major professional sports league. The current favorite to win the Cup heading into the conference finals is the Dallas Stars. They are just a slight favorite, with the Florida Panthers a close second. The New York Rangers finished with the best record in the NHL this season and they have home ice advantage in the Eastern Conference Finals against the Panthers, yet the Rangers are listed behind the Panthers in Stanley Cup odds. The Edmonton Oilers are the third choice in Stanley Cup odds and Edmonton is just a slight underdog against Dallas in the Western Conference Finals.

NHL Betting Lines

Stanley Cup Betting Odds

Dallas Stars +350 Edmonton Oilers +195
Florida Panthers +155 New York Rangers +785

*Odds as of Friday, May 24, 9:00 AM ET

The 2023-2024 Stanley Cup Playoffs have seen the favorites do surprisingly well. What has proven to be true in the past is that favorites falter, perhaps even big favorites. The New York Rangers won the 2023-2024 President’s Trophy, but history has not been kind to President Trophy winners, as no team that won the President’s Trophy won the Stanley Cup in the same season since the 2012-13 Chicago Blackhawks. The Rangers continue to buck history and with a win against Florida in the Eastern Conference Finals they would play in the Stanley Cup Finals. New York has consistently been underestimated by NHL oddsmakers throughout this year’s playoffs and that is the case again in the Eastern Conference Finals even though New York has the home ice advantage in the best-of-seven game series. The Florida Panthers are actually favored against the Rangers in terms of Stanley Cup odds and a win by Florida in the Eastern Conference Finals would send them back to the Stanley Cup Finals for the second straight year. The Panthers lost in the finals last year to the Vegas Golden Knights.

The Dallas Stars finished with the best record in the Western Conference and they were just one point behind the Rangers for the best record in the NHL. Dallas has had to run the gauntlet already in this year’s playoffs, as they eliminated the defending Stanley Cup champion Vegas Golden Knights in the first round and then the Stars took out a previous Stanley Cup champion in the Colorado Avalanche in the second round. The Edmonton Oilers continue to get a lot of respect from the NHL oddsmakers, as Edmonton is just a slight underdog against the Dallas Stars in the Western Conference Finals. The Oilers have not looked good enough to win the Stanley Cup, just getting past Los Angeles and Vancouver in the first two rounds of the NHL Playoffs, yet the Oilers are close behind Dallas and Florida in Stanley Cup odds.

Stanley Cup Winners (2000)

2023 Vegas Golden Knights Florida Panthers
2022 Colorado Avalanche Tampa Bay Lightning
2021 Tampa Bay Lightning Montreal Canadiens
2020 Tampa Bay Lightning Dallas Stars
2019 St. Louis Blues Boston Bruins
2018 Washington Capitals Vegas Golden Knights
2017 Pittsburgh Penguins Nashville Predators
2016 Pittsburgh Penguins San Jose Sharks
2015 Chicago Blackhawks Tampa Bay Lightning
2014 Los Angeles Kings New York Rangers
2013 Chicago Blackhawks Boston Bruins
2012 Los Angeles Kings New Jersey Devils
2011 Boston Bruins Vancouver Canucks
2010 Chicago Blackhawks Philadelphia Flyers
2009 Pittsburgh Penguins Detroit Red Wings
2008 Detroit Red Wings Pittsburgh Penguins
2007 Anaheim Ducks Ottawa Senators
2006 Carolina Hurricanes Edmonton Oilers
2005 N/A N/A
2004 Tampa Bay Lightning Calgary Flames
2003 New Jersey Devils Anaheim Ducks
2002 Detroit Red Wings Carolina Hurricanes
2001 Colorado Avalanche New Jersey Devils
2000 New Jersey Devils Dallas Stars
Hockey Betting Bonus

The Stanley Cup was originally a Challenge Cup rather than a cup awarded at the end of a particular season or series. The first winners were the Montreal Hockey Club in 1893, and they "defended" their Cup in 1894 against Ottawa HC. The Cup changed hands periodically, including multiple times in several years. It wasn't until 1915 that the Stanley Cup became an official "League vs. League" championship series, the first of which was won by the PCHA's Vancouver Millionaires. The Montreal Canadiens won their first Stanley Cup in 1916, becoming the first NHA team to win it in this format.

In 1927, the NHL became the sole holder of the Stanley Cup, and the idea of different leagues "challenging" the NHL went out the window once and for all.

The format of the Stanley Cup Finals hasn't always been the best-of-seven series we're used to today. In the 1920s, this was a "first to two wins" format, though it switched to best-of-five in the 1930s. In 1939, the Boston Bruins won the first-ever best-of-seven Stanley Cup Finals by beating the Maple Leafs, and that format has remained the same ever since.

Stanley Cup Results By Team

Montreal Canadiens 24 1993
Toronto Maple Leafs 13 1967
Detroit Red Wings 11 2008
Boston Bruins 6 2011
Chicago Blackhawks 6 2015
Edmonton Oilers 5 1990
Pittsburgh Penguins 5 2017
New York Rangers 4 1994
Colorado Avalanche 3 2022
Tampa Bay Lightning 3 2021
New York Islanders 3 1983
New Jersey Devils 3 2003
Philadelphia Flyers 2 1975
Los Angeles Kings 2 2014
Vegas Golden Knights 1 2023
Washington Capitals 1 2018
Dallas Stars 1 1999
Calgary Flames 1 1989
Anaheim Ducks 1 2007
Carolina Hurricanes 1 2006
St. Louis Blues 1 2019
Vancouver Canucks 0 ---
Buffalo Sabres 0 ---
Florida Panthers 0 ---
Ottawa Senators 0 ---
San Jose Sharks 0 ---
Columbus Blue Jackets 0 ---
Minnesota Wild 0 ---
Nashville Predators 0 ---
Arizona Coyotes 0 ---
Winnipeg Jets 0 ---

NHL franchises have had some odd histories for sure, and that makes this chart a little skewed if you're a hockey history buff. The Ottawa Senators, for example, have won the Stanley Cup in the past. But the team that won the Cup in the 1920s folded before the advent of the new Ottawa Senators, who have only been to the Stanley Cup Finals once and have never won it.

Not surprisingly, there's a massive monopoly on the Stanley Cup, as Montreal, Toronto and Detroit have won 48 Cups between them, while no one else in the NHL has hoisted Lord Stanley's trophy more than six times. Is the field catching up? Sure.

Chicago, for example, has won three Cups since 2010 and looks poised for more in the near future, while Pittsburgh has won it four times since 2008, including becoming the first team to win back-to-back Stanley Cups since the 1997 and 1998 Detroit Red Wings in 2016 and 2017. With the parity in hockey though, it's becoming tougher and tougher to go on a huge run like we saw out of the Canadiens in the 1960s and 1970 or the Maple Leafs in the 1930s and 1940s.

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best NHL Betting Odds, NHL Betting News and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Back to Top