NFC North Division NFL Football Betting

NFC North Division Football Betting

NFC North Odds to Win

What a difference a year can make. The Green Bay Packers had long been seen as the team to beat in the NFC North with Aaron Rodgers at the helm. However, Rodgers was traded to the New York Jets in the offseason, so now the Packers have the longest odds to win the NFC North in the 2023 season. Instead, the Detroit Lions are the presumptive favorites to claim their first division title in three decades after eight of their last 10 games to close out the 2022 campaign.

NFL Betting Odds

It’s been a bleak time to be a sports fan in the Motor City over the last several years. However, the Detroit Lions might be poised to finally make a run in a weakened NFC. It’s been 32 years since this franchise won a postseason game, and the offense is chock full of talent. Detroit has surrounded Jared Goff with playmakers, including first-round draft picks Jameson Williams and Jahmyr Gibbs. The Lions brought back veteran receiver Marvin Jones Jr. in free agency, and they signed underrated running back David Montgomery too. Amon-Ra St. Brown has been a pleasant surprise as a true No. 1 WR over the last two seasons, so the Lions should have no trouble putting points on the board.

The general public is too down on the Minnesota Vikings. This team is coming off a 13-4 season, and while the Vikes definitely overachieved, they aren’t as bad as some would have you believe in the media. Minnesota has an eight-win floor with Kirk Cousins under center, and the Vikes are 46-33-1 in the regular season over the last five years with Cousins. That’s enough to find some value in Minnesota as long as the defense can show improvement.

How long can Justin Fields simply make things happen with his legs? Fields was a subpar passer last season for Chicago, but he was just as dynamic as Lamar Jackson when he decided to run with it. We saw Fields run for 1,143 yards and eight touchdowns in 2022 while averaging 7.1 YPC, but he did fumble nine times. Fields needs to show some development as a passer for the Bears to take the next step, and Chicago did acquire D.J. Moore in a package for the No. 1 overall pick.

Jordan Love has some enormous shoes to fill in Green Bay. For the last three decades, Green Bay has had a first-ballot Hall of Famer under center in either Brett Favre or Aaron Rodgers. Love has had plenty of time to wait behind Rodgers as he was drafted in the first round of the 2020 NFL Draft, but he has only thrown 83 passes. He is one of the biggest question marks entering the 2023 season for any team.

List of Division Champions (2000)

2022 Minnesota Vikings 13-4
2021 Green Bay Packers 13-4
2020 Green Bay Packers 13-3
2019 Green Bay Packers 13-3
2018 Chicago Bears 12-4
2017 Minnesota Vikings 13–3
2016 Green Bay Packers 10–6
2015 Minnesota Vikings 11–5
2014 Green Bay Packers 12–4
2013 Green Bay Packers 8–7–1
2012 Green Bay Packers 11–5
2011 Green Bay Packers 15–1
2010 Chicago Bears 11-5
2009 Minnesota Vikings 12–4
2008 Minnesota Vikings 10–6
2007 Green Bay Packers 13–3
2006 Chicago Bears 13-3
2005 Chicago Bears 11-5
2004 Green Bay Packers 10–6
2003 Green Bay Packers 10–6
2002 Green Bay Packers 12–4
2001 Chicago Bears 13–3
2000 Minnesota Vikings 11–5

It’s now been 30 years since the Detroit Lions last won a division title. The Tampa Bay Buccaneers won the NFC Central more recently than the Lions have won this current division, underscoring just how futile this franchise has been in the Super Bowl era.

Football Betting Bonus

NFC North Division Titles

Minnesota Vikings 21 31
Green Bay Packers 17 25
Chicago Bears 11 15
Detroit Lions 3 12

The NFC North evolved out of the NFC Central, which in its glory years was known as the "Black and Blue Division." This division has three of the oldest franchises in the NFL in the Chicago Bears, Green Bay Packers, and Detroit Lions, and they are entrenched as the most-played rivalries in the league. Given their status as relative newcomers, it has been impressive to see Minnesota win this many division titles even though the Vikings have yet to win a Super Bowl.

Access live betting lines and NFL Betting Lines from your mobile device at BookMaker Sportsbook! You can wager on sporting events as they unfold on television with BookMaker’s live betting platform.

Join Now!

Back to Top