Super Bowl LVII MVP Odds - Chiefs vs. Eagles Betting

NFL Super Bowl LVII MVP Odds

An additional week between conference championships and Super Sunday was designed to give participating teams time to rest and game plan. Or was it? Taking full advantage of the extra days, sportsbooks come up with a wide variety of proposition bets, also giving bettors a chance to handicap the markets. Organizers of the World Cup might say otherwise, but the Super Bowl is the biggest sporting spectacle on the planet taking in billions at the betting window. Not only can you wager on the game and its outcome, but a creative prop market just adds to the excitement and the dollar amount. One of the more popular props is on the game’s MVP, and considering quarterbacks have won the award 31 times in the previous 56 Super Bowls it’s not surprising to see Philadelphia’s Jalen Hurts and Kansas City’s Patrick Mahomes at the top of the odds board.

NFL Super Bowl LVII Betting Odds

Super Bowl LVII – Kansas City Chiefs vs. Philadelphia Eagles

Date and Time: Sunday, February 12, 2023, 6:30 p.m. ET

Location: State Farm Stadium, Glendale, AZ

Opening NFL Odds: Philadelphia -2, O/U 49.5

Chiefs vs. Eagles TV Coverage: FOX

Super Bowl LVII MVP Odds

Jalen Hurts +120

Patrick Mahomes +135

Travis Kelce +1000

AJ Brown +1600

Devonta Smith +2200

Miles Sanders +2200

Haason Reddick +2500

Isaiah Pacheco +4000

Chris Jones +5000

Jerick McKinnon +5000

Kenneth Gainwell +7500

Marquez Valdes-Scantling +7500

Dallas Goedert +10000

JuJu Smith-Schuster +10000

Kadarius Toney +10000

Boston Scott +15000

Harrison Butker +15000

Jake Elliott +15000

Quez Watkins +15000

Mecole Hardman +20000

It’s common to see the starting quarterback with the favored team have the shortest odds. And guess what? There’s Hurts leading the way. With the Eagles emerging as a slight favorite, Hurts hit the board at +120 to become yet another QB to win the honor. Hurts led the Eagles to the best record in the NFC matching the Chiefs for the top overall mark in the league. He threw for 3,701 yards and 22 touchdowns during the season and his value to the club was evident when he missed two games near the end of the campaign.

The Eagles lost both games with Gardner Minshew starting, but Hurts returned for the finale leading the Eagles to the No. 1 seed with a victory over the Giants. With a ground game that averaged nearly 150 yards during the season and produced 268 yards in the divisional round win over New York, Hurts might not have enough opportunities to collect the numbers required to win the award.

Speaking of putting up numbers that’s all Mahomes has done during his career. That and win games. Dealing with a high ankle sprain sustained the week before, Mahomes threw for 326 yards and two touchdowns beating the Bengals, 23-20, in the AFC Championship rematch as the Chiefs earned their third Super Bowl appearance in four years. Mahomes won league MVP in 2018 and was Super Bowl MVP the following year in KC’s win over San Francisco.

For someone other than a quarterback to win the award, they will have to have a big game. Rams receiver Cooper Kupp earned the hardware last season with two touchdown receptions, including the game winner in the final minutes. Kupp became the eighth receiver to win the award giving the position the second most MVPs in Super Bowl history. And by the way you can wager on a position rather than an individual to win MVP.

There is value in pass catchers with both teams stacked at the position. And the last five MVPs from the offensive side that weren’t QBs were wide receivers. Though he’s officially a tight end, KC’s Travis Kelce plays more like a receiver and is the favorite target of Mahomes. Kelce had career-bests of 110 receptions and 12 receiving touchdowns during the season and has three scoring grabs this postseason. He’s third on the odds board at +1000. Rounding out the top-5 favorites are Philly receivers A.J. Brown and Devonta Smith.

A few defenders have won the award, the last being Denver’s Von Miller in Super Bowl 50 when he collected 2.5 sacks, two forced fumbles and six tackles. Typically defenders don’t put up enough tangible stats to make them worthy of the honor. But if you want to talk about difference-makers on defense Haasan Reddick comes to mind. The Eagles led the NFL with 70 sacks with Reddick tying for the second-most with 16. He added 3.5 more in the postseason with a sack of Brock Purdy in the NFC Championship essentially winning the game. Reddick is the favorite among defenders at +2500.

In order to cash a winning ticket on this bet you first have to get the winning team right. Only once in Super Bowl history has the MVP come from the losing team, and that was way back in 1971 when Dallas linebacker Chuck Howley earned the honor with a pair of interceptions and a fumble recovery.

Football Betting Bonus

BookMaker offers play-by-play betting odds for live sporting events every day! The user-friendly wagering interface on your smartphone provides an easy way to place bets on the go. Mobile betting lines are updated by the minute, so click here to start gambling on thrilling live action at BookMaker Sportsbook!

Check out the latest odds at BookMaker

Back to Top