2019 Triple Crown Betting - Horse Racing Odds

Home > Horse Racing Betting > Horse Racing News > Triple Crown

2019 Triple Crown Betting

Triple Crown Betting

There arguably isn't a more impressive accomplishment in all of sports than winning the Triple Crown. Three-year old horses who often haven't run more than a handful of times in their careers have to win races on the first Saturday of May, the third Saturday of May and the second Saturday of June when they aren't truly raised to race more than once every five to six weeks, and they have to do so against different fields, at different distances and at different tracks. There's a reason that only 12 in the history of the Sport of Kings have ever won the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes to claim the Triple Crown.

2019 Triple Crown Races At a Glance

145th Kentucky Derby

Horse racing takes on a life of its own in the Spring. Bettors who don't pay a lick of attention to the Sport of Kings for the entire year all of a sudden try to become expert handicappers for the Kentucky Derby. Each year, the Derby provides great hope for the next Triple Crown winner, and no matter who ultimately wins the race, the question which is immediately asked is if that horse can go on to win both the Preakness Stakes and the Belmont Stakes. More

144th Preakness Stakes

The beauty of the Preakness Stakes is that one horse heads there every single year knowing that two more wins in a row will give him the Triple Crown. Rare is the race in which the Kentucky Derby winner doesn't run in the second leg of the Triple Crown even though these thoroughbreds really aren't trained to run twice in a matter of just 14 days at two different tracks. More

151st Belmont Stakes

The Test of Champions. Many are the horses who lived to tell about the first two legs of the Triple Crown, but rare is the horse who can finish the deed and win the Triple Crown, although it has happened twice recently, with American Pharoah winning in 2015, while Justify won in 2018. The grueling 1 1/2-mile Belmont Stakes is known as the toughest race in the Sport of Kings to win, particularly for a colt who has already run in the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes. Still, those who survive to win this race, even if they aren't Triple Crown winners, go down in immortality in the history of horse racing. More

Horse Racing Betting Bonus

Triple Crown Format

What isn't often considered when it comes to winning the Triple Crown is the fact that horses have to qualify just to run in the Kentucky Derby nowadays. There's no such thing as a cheap way into the field anymore, as ponies have to either win one of the major prep races leading into the Run for the Roses or finish in the money multiple times over the course of their two- and three-year old years. Horses don't just go from maidens to Triple Crown winners, and often times, they don't retire without accomplishing other great things as well.

Of course, nowadays, horses who win the Triple Crown are going to be more valuable as studs than anything else. That's why American Pharoah, the most recent Triple Crown winner from 2015, retired as a three-year old, though he did run through the end of the year and wrapped up his career by winning the Breeders' Cup Classic.

List of Triple Crown Winners

2015 American Pharoah Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert
1978 Affirmed Steve Cauthen Laz Barrera
1977 Seattle Slew Jean Cruguet William H. Turner Jr.
1973 Secretariat Ron Turcotte Lucien Laurin
1948 Citation Eddie Arcaro Horace A. Jones
1946 Assault Warren Mehrtens Max Hirsch
1943 Count Fleet Johnny Longden Don Cameron
1941 Whirlaway Eddie Arcaro Ben Jones
1937 War Admiral Charley Kurtsinger George Conway
1935 Omaha Willie Saunders Jim Fitzsimmons
1930 Gallant Fox Earl Sande Jim Fitzsimmons
1919 Sir Barton Johnny Loftus H. Guy Bedwell

The longest stretch in the history of horse racing without a Triple Crown was from 1978 through 2015 before American Pharoah finally broke through and got the job done in one of the best moments in horse racing over the course of the last four decades. Prior to that, Seattle Slew and Affirmed won the Triple Crown in consecutive years, the only time that has happened to date.

The Triple Crown was claimed a whopping three times in the 1930s and four times in the 1940s, and it's unlikely we'll ever see anything like that degree of dominance again.

Only one jockey and one trainer have ever won the Triple Crown twice. Eddie Arcaro was the rider for both Whirlaway in 1941 and Citation in 1948. Jim Fitzsimmons trainer Gallant Fox and Omaha in 1930 and 1935.

But of course, we would be remiss if we didn't mention the great Secretariat. Not only did the horse nicknamed "Big Red" win all three legs of the Triple Crown, but he did so in record time in each race. All three records continue to stand to this day, and his 1973 Belmont Stakes winning time of 2:24 flat with a margin of victory of 31 lengths is still one of the most impressive displays all-time in the history of sports.

Load your betting bankroll from your smartphone with BookMaker’s new cashier feature! Depositing and withdrawing funds from your account has never been easier for the Triple Crown Races. BookMaker's live betting platform means you always have access to odds, Articles and lines to every sporting event. Click here and start wagering today!

Join Now!

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top