147th Preakness Stakes Betting - Horse Racing Odds

147th Preakness Stakes Betting

Preakness Stakes Horse Racing Betting

The field for the Preakness Stakes has been set. Only nine horses will race in the premier event at Pimlico this weekend, and we won’t have a Triple Crown winner after Kentucky Derby champion Rich Strike opted to rest instead of run on Saturday. He won’t be the only horse that hit the board at Churchill Downs to skip this race too as Zandon also was scratched off the list of possibles over the weekend.

2022 Preakness Stakes At a Glance

Date: Saturday, May 21, 2022

Location: Pimlico Race Course, Baltimore, MD

Race Distance: 1 3/16 Miles

Record: 1:53 (Secretariat, 1973)

Purse: $1.5 million

Qualification: Three-year-old thoroughbreds

The 2021 Preakness Stakes was won by Rombauer. Flavien Prat and Michael McCarthy each won their first Preakness Stakes with the relative longshot, as he was able to best top horses like Midnight Bourbon, Medina Spirit, and Concert Tour. Rombauer was the second straight horse with odds of over 10-1 to win the Preakness Stakes following in the hoofs of Swiss Skydiver.

Preakness Stakes Betting Odds

Epicenter +105

Early Voting +429

Secret Oath +515

Simplification +655

Creative Minister +1247

Skippylongstocking +1800

Armagnac +2137

Happy Jack +2683

Fenwick +6050

Epicenter is now close to an even-money favorite. He was the favorite per the horse racing betting odds coming into the Kentucky Derby, and a lot of money has come in on the runner-up at Churchill Downs.

The second favorite is now Early Voting. The winner of the Withers Stakes and runner-up at the Wood Memorial didn’t run at Churchill Downs, so he will have fresh legs at Baltimore on Saturday. Early Voting had a 102 speed figure at Aqueduct last month, but it will be unseasonably warm so the New York based horse may have trouble.

A lot of the early hype on Creative Minister has cooled off, but many still like the chances of Secret Oath. The filly was great at the Kentucky Oaks the day before the Derby, and she hit the board at the Arkansas Derby.

Preakness Stakes Winners (2000)

2021 Rombauer 11.80 Flavien Prat Michael McCarthy 1:53.62
2020 Swiss Skydiver 11.70 Robby Albarado Kenneth McPeek 1:53:28
2019 War of Will 6.10 Tyler Gaffalione Mark E. Casse 1:54.34
2018 Justify 0.40 Mike Smith Bob Baffert 1:55.93
2017 Cloud Computing 13.40 Javier Castellano Chad Brown 1:55.98
2016 Exaggerator 3.00 Kent Desormeaux Keith Desormeaux 1:58.31
2015 American Pharoah 0.90 Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert 1:58.46
2014 California Chrome 0.60 Victor Espinoza Art Sherman 1:54.84
2013 Oxbow 15.00 Gary Stevens D. Wayne Lukas 1:57.54
2012 I'll Have Another 3.00 Mario Gutierrez Doug O'Neill 1:55.94
2011 Shackleford 12.00 Jesus Castanon Dale Romans 1:56.21
2010 Lookin At Lucky 2.40 Martin Garcia Bob Baffert 1:55.47
2009 Rachel Alexandra 1.80 Calvin Borel Steve Asmussen 1:55.05
2008 Big Brown 0.20 Kent Desormeaux Richard Dutrow 1:54.80
2007 Curlin 3.40 Robby Albarado Steve Asmussen 1:55.05
2006 Bernardini 12.90 Javier Castellano Tom Albertrani 1:54.65
2005 Afleet Alex 3.30 Jeremy Rose Timothy Ritchey 1:55.04
2004 Smarty Jones 0.70 Stewart Elliott John Servis 1:55.59
2003 Funny Cide 1.90 Jose Santos Barclay Tagg 1:55.61
2002 War Emblem 2.80 Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert 1:56.36
2001 Point Given 2.30 Gary Stevens Bob Baffert 1:55.51
2000 Red Bullet 6.20 Jerry Bailey Joe Orseno 1:56.00

Fastest Times

1973 Secretariat 1:53.00
2020 Swiss Skydiver 1:53.28
1996 Louis Quatorze 1:53.40
1985 Tank's Prospect 1:53.40
2007 Curlin 1:53.46
1990 Summer Squall 1:53.60

The great Secretariat still reigns supreme at the Preakness Stakes, but there have been times where other horses have challenged his record time of 1:53.00. Four horses have finished within a half-second, and filly Swiss Skydiver came the closest yet to breaking Secretariat’s record at this track.

Swiss Skydiver was tied for the third favorite at post time, but she bested Authentic at the wire by a head to win the 2020 Preakness Stakes. She was the first filly to win The Run for the Black-Eyed Susans since Rachel Alexandra in 2009.

Longest Odds To Win

1975 Master Derby 23.40
1925 Coventry 21.80
1926 Display 19.35
2013 Oxbow 15.00
1900 Hindus 15.00
1909 Effendi 15.00

It's hard to believe that there has never been a horse win the Preakness Stakes with a price of even 25 to 1 on his head. Master Derby is the longest shot to ever win the second leg of the Triple Crown at 23.40. Unlike the other legs of the Triple Crown where horses go off the board at 50 to 1 all the time and occasionally win, the Preakness Stakes rarely sees horses go off at those lofty odds. Oxbow, who was 15 to 1 in 2013, is largely considered to have pulled off one of the biggest upsets in Preakness Stakes history. Cloud Computing represented one of the bigger upsets in recent history as well at a price of 13.40 to win the 2017 Preakness Stakes.

Most Jockey Wins

Eddie Arcaro 6 1941, 1948, 1950, 1951, 1955, 1957
Pat Day 5 1985, 1990, 1994, 1995, 1996
George Barbee 3 1873, 1876, 1883
Bill Hartack 3 1956, 1964, 1969
Lloyd Hughes 3 1875, 1879, 1880
Gary Stevens 3 1997, 2001, 2013
Victor Espinoza 3 2002, 2014, 2015
Kent Desormeaux 3 1998, 2002, 2016

Most of the jockeys you see on this list won the Preakness Stakes several times back in the day. However, it isn't out of the ordinary to see an active jockey go on a bit of a run. The most famous recent run came from Victor Espinoza, who won the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes in consecutive years with California Chrome and American Pharoah respectively.

Kent Desormeaux won his third Preakness Stakes aboard Exaggerator in 2016, giving him a span of 18 years from his first Preakness victory until his third.

The record of six Preakness Stakes victories held by Eddie Arcaro figures to stand up for quite some time in the future though, as no active jockey has more than three career Preakness Stakes wins.

Most Trainer Wins

R. Wyndham Walden 7 1875, 1878, 1879, 1880, 1881, 1882, 1888
Bob Baffert 7 1997, 1998, 2001, 2002, 2010, 2015, 2018
D. Wayne Lukas 6 1980, 1985, 1994, 1995, 1999, 2013
Thomas J. Healey 5 1901, 1922, 1923, 1926, 1929
Jim Fitzsimmons 4 1930, 1935, 1955, 1957
Jimmy Jones 4 1947, 1948, 1956, 1958

R. Wyndham Walden and Bob Baffert hold the record for Preakness Stakes victories with seven. The record of seven by Walden stood for 120 years, but Baffert tied the record in 2018 with Justify’s win. D. Wayne Lukas has six Preakness Stakes wins. It's plausible for him to get his seventh as well, though it's been a while since he's trained a champion three-year old pony, and his options are incredibly limited at the end of his career.

Horse Racing Betting Bonus

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best Racebook Betting Odds, Racebook Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top