156th Belmont Stakes Betting - Horse Racing Odds

156th Belmont Stakes Betting Online

Belmont Stakes Horse Racing Betting

The 156th running of the Belmont Stakes will take place on Saturday, June 8th and because of construction going on at Belmont Park it will take place at Saratoga Race Course in Saratoga Springs, New York. The Belmont Stakes is the last of the three Triple Crown races and is held in early June, three weeks after the Preakness Stakes which is held in mid-May. The Belmont Stakes is kind of an all-or-nothing type of race, as there are occasions where the excitement is high if a Triple Crown is on the line, but much less interest if history can’t be made. The last Triple Crown winner was Justify in 2018 and that was also the last time a horse made it to the Belmont in search of the Triple Crown. In each of the past five years, no horse has won the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes and that drought will stretch to six years, as 2024 Kentucky Derby winner Mystik Dan was beaten in the Preakness by Seize the Grey.

Horse that could run in the 2024 Belmont Stakes are Kentucky Derby winner Mystik Dan, Preakness winner Seize the Grey, Peter Pan Stakes winner Antiquarian, Sir Barton Stakes winner Corporate Power, Kentucky Derby morning-line favorite Fierceness, Dornoch, Honor Marie, Imperial Gun, Mindframe, Sierra Leone, The Wine Steward, Kentucky Oaks winner Thorpedo Anna and Tuscan Gold.

Horse Racing Betting Lines

2024 Belmont Stakes At a Glance

Date: Saturday, June 8, 2024

Location: Saratoga Race Course, Saratoga Springs, NY (Belmont Park Construction)

Length: 1 1/4 miles (10 furlongs), dirt track (Saratoga)

Purse: 2 million

Belmont Stakes TV Coverage: NBC

In 1905, Belmont Park became the permanent home of the Belmont Stakes and the usual distance of 1 1/2 miles was set in 1926. That makes this the longest of the three Triple Crown races, testing horses’ endurance. The mile and a half distance will not be run in 2024 with construction taking place at Belmont Park. The 2024 Belmont Stakes will take place at Saratoga Race Course and the distance will be a mile and a quarter. The last time the Belmont Stakes was not held at Belmont Park was from 1963 to 1967 when Belmont Park was under construction. The race was held at Aqueduct Race Track during that time period.

Fillies don't run in the Belmont Stakes often, but they do from time to time. With the Triple Tiara becoming less and less notable as time goes on, you'll sometimes see a filly get off that trail and run in the Belmont instead. A total of 23 fillies have run in the Belmont Stakes with three winning it. Rags to Riches was the last filly to win the Belmont Stakes in 2007.

Belmont Stakes Winners (2000)

2023 Arcangelo Javier Castellano Jena M. Antonucci 2:29:23
2022 Mo Donegal Irad Ortiz Jr. Todd Pletcher 2:28.28
2021 Essential Quality Luis Saez Brad Cox 2:27.11
2020 Tiz the Law Manny Franco Barclay Tagg 1:46.53
2019 Sir Winston Joel Rosario Mark E. Casse 2:28.30
2018 Justify Mike Smith Bob Baffert 2:28.18
2017 Tapwrit Jose Ortiz Todd Pletcher 2:30.02
2016 Creator Irad Ortiz Jr. Steve Asmussen 2:28.51
2015 American Pharoah Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert 2:26.65
2014 Tonalist Joel Rosario Christophe Clement 2:28.52
2013 Palace Malice Mike Smith Todd Pletcher 2:30.70
2012 Union Rags John Velazquez Michael Matz 2:30.42
2011 Ruler on Ice Jose Valdivia Jr. Kelly Breen 2:30.88
2010 Drosselmeyer Mike Smith William Mott 2:31.57
2009 Summer Bird Kent Desormeaux Tim Ice 2:27.54
2008 Da'Tara Alan Garcia Nick Zito 2:29.65
2007 Rags to Riches John Velazquez Todd Pletcher 2:28.74
2006 Jazil Fernandez Jara Kiaran McLaughlin 2:27.86
2005 Afleet Alex Jeremy Rose Timothy Ritchey 2:28.75
2004 Birdstone Edgar Prado Nick Zito 2:27.50
2003 Empire Maker Jerry Bailey Robert Frankel 2:28.26
2002 Sarava Edgar Prado Kenneth McPeek 2:29.71
2001 Point Given Gary Stevens Bob Baffert 2:26.56
2000 Commendable Pat Day D. Wayne Lukas 2:31.19

There really isn't a way to put Secretariat's run at the 1973 Belmont Stakes into perspective. To say that he was phenomenal that day is an understatement, as he ran the race in a record 2:24 flat and won by a record 31 lengths. There aren't many unbreakable records in sports, but this is one of them. We've never even seen a horse run the third leg of the Triple Crown in 2:25, let alone in 2:24, and to win any race by 30+ lengths is just stupefying.

Horse Racing Betting Bonus

Fastest Times

1973 Secretariat 2:24.00
1989 Easy Goer 2:26.00
1992 A.P. Indy 2:26.13
1988 Risen Star 2:26.40
2001 Point Given 2:26.56

You should consider anything under 2:27 a great time to win the Belmont Stakes. American Pharoah blazed through the mile and a half in 2:26.65, the second fastest time ever for a Triple Crown winner behind Secretariat, and he and Point Given are the only two horses to run the Belmont in less than 2:27 since 2000. The next closest since then was Birdstone in 2004, and he needed 2:27.50 to finish the race.

Longest Odds To Win

2002 Sarava 70.25
1961 Sherluck 65.05
1980 Temperence Hill 53.40
2008 Da' Tara 38.00
2004 Birdstone 36.00

Upsets in the Belmont Stakes have certainly been more frequent in recent years than in the past, and there have been some massive upsets in that mix. Sarava pulled off the upset of all upsets when he cashed in at a whopping price of 70 to 1 in 2002, ending the Triple Crown bid of War Emblem. He's one of the three who have ever won this race at a price of 50 to 1 or better.

Most Jockey Wins

Jim McLaughlin 6 1882, 1883, 1884, 1886, 1887, 1888
Eddie Arcaro 6 1941, 1942, 1945, 1948, 1952, 1955
Earl Sande 5 1921, 1923, 1924, 1927, 1930
Bill Shoemaker 5 1957, 1959, 1962, 1967, 1975

It really shouldn't be shocking that the old-time jockeys are the ones who have won the Belmont Stakes most often. The record of six held by Eddie Arcaro and Jim McLaughlin will probably never be touched. Arcaro is considered by many to be the greatest jockey of all-time, and it’s unlikely anyone surpasses him.

Most Trainer Wins

James G. Rowe Sr. 8 1883, 1884, 1901, 1904, 1908, 1910, 1913, 1931
Sam Hildreth 7 1899, 1909, 1916, 1917, 1921, 1923, 1924
Jim Fitzsimmons 6 1930, 1932, 1935, 1936, 1939, 1955
Woody Stephens 5 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986
Todd Pletcher 4 2007, 2013, 2017, 2022
Max Hirsch 4 1928, 1946, 1950, 1954
D. Wayne Lukas 4 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000
R. Wyndham Walden 4 1878, 1880, 1881, 1898

The greatest run in the history of any of the Triple Crown races for trainers came from 1982 through 1986 when the great Woody Stephens trained five consecutive winners at the Belmont Stakes. Stephens immediately became one of the best trainers in NYRA history, and no one will ever touch five straight Belmont Stakes victories ever again. James G. Rowe Sr.'s record of eight Belmont victories will very likely also never be touched.

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best Racebook Betting Odds, Racebook Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Back to Top