149th Kentucky Derby Betting - Horse Racing Odds

149th Kentucky Derby Betting

Kentucky Derby Horse Racing Betting

The 2022 Kentucky Derby was one of the most exciting horse races of all-time. Rich Strike was a late entrant and made history as an 80-1 underdog per the horse racing betting odds. No one gave the alternate a chance of winning the Run for the Roses given that he was starting from the 20th post in a crowded field, but he zigged and zagged his way to the front of the field in arguably the biggest Cinderella story in the sporting world in 2022. It will be tough for this year’s race to top the excitement of the greatest two minutes in sports we saw last year.

2023 Kentucky Derby At a Glance

Date: Saturday, May 6, 2023, 7 p.m. ET

Location: Churchill Downs, Louisville, KY

Length: 1 1/4 miles ( 10 furlongs ), dirt track

Purse: Approximately $3 million

Kentucky Derby TV Coverage: NBC

Kentucky Derby Format

Typically, we see 20 horses qualify for the Derby with up to four alternates in case something happens. The qualification process is extensive with horses accumulating points over the course of their two- and three-year-old seasons. The horses with the most points earn a spot in the Kentucky Derby field as long as their connections choose to race them.

A maximum of 20 horses run in the Kentucky Derby each year, and for the most part, the slots are always filled. The horses that end up as the favorites to win the Kentucky Derby are the ones which win major Grade 1 races held in March and April. The only exception is the UAE Derby winner who almost always ends up being one of the longer shots on the board. To this day, no horse which won the UAE Derby has come anywhere near winning the Kentucky Derby.

Kentucky Derby Winners (2000)

2022 Rich Strike 80.00 Sonny Leon Eric Reed 2:02.61
2021 Mandaloun 26.00 Florent Geroux Brad Cox 2:01.36
2020 Authentic 8.40 John Velazquez Bob Baffert 2:00.61
2019 Country House 30.00 Flavien Prat Bill Mott 2:03.93
2018 Justify 2.90 Mike Smith Bob Baffert 2:04.20
2017 Always Dreaming 4.70 John Velazquez Todd Pletcher 2:03.59
2016 Nyquist 2.00 Mario Gutierrez Doug O'Neill 2:01.31
2015 American Pharoah 2.50 Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert 2:03.02
2014 California Chrome 2.50 Victor Espinoza Art Sherman 2:03.66
2013 Orb 5.00 Joel Rosario Shug McGaughey 2:02.89
2012 I'll Have Another 15.00 Mario Gutierrez Doug O'Neill 2:01.83
2011 Animal Kingdom 20.00 John Velazquez Graham Motion 2:02.04
2010 Super Saver 50.00 Calvin Borel Todd Pletcher 2:04.45
2009 Mine That Bird 8.00 Calvin Borel Bennie Woolley Jr. 2:02.66
2008 Big Brown 3.50 Kent Desormeaux Richard Dutrow 2:01.82
2007 Street Sense 4.50 Calvin Borel Carl Nafzger 2:02.17
2006 Barbaro 6.00 Edgar Prado Michael Matz 2:01.36
2005 Giacomo 50.30 Mike Smith John Shirreffs 2:02.75
2004 Smarty Jones 4.10 Stewart Elliott John Servis 2:04.06
2003 Funny Cide 12.80 Jose Santos Barclay Tagg 2:01.19
2002 War Emblem 20.50 Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert 2:01.13
2001 Monarchos 10.50 Jorge Chavez John Ward Jr. 1:59.97
2000 Fusaichi Pegasus 2.30 Kent Desormeaux Neil Drysdale 2:01.00

Authentic upset Tiz the Law to win the 2020 Kentucky Derby with the fastest time in almost two decades. Monarchos finished the 2001 Kentucky Derby in 1:59.97, but no horse had finished the race with a time under 2:01 since that point.

Horse Racing Betting Bonus

Fastest Times

1973 Secretariat 1:59.40
2001 Monarchos 1:59.97
1964 Northern Dancer 2:00.00
1985 Spend A Buck 2:00.20
1962 Decidedly 2:00.40

Running the Kentucky Derby in anything less than 2:01 is considered blazing fast. Secretariat has held the track record for nearly 50 years, running the 1973 Kentucky Debry in 1:59.40, and he is one of two horses to finish the race in under two minutes.

Longest Odds To Win

1913 Donerail 91.45
2022 Rich Strike 80
2005 Giacomo 50.30
2010 Super Saver 50
1940 Gallahadion 35.20
1999 Charismatic 31.30

Donerail had the longest odds of any horse that went on to win the Kentucky Derby, but Rich Strike gave him a run for his money in 2022. No one gave Rich Strike a chance to win the Run for the Roses as jockey Sonny Leon had not even won a graded stakes race prior to last May’s triumph. Additionally, Rich Strike was a late entrant and only made the field after Ethereal Road was scratched the day before the race. He started from the 20th post but went on to run one of the greatest races in the history of horse racing, picking his way through 14 horses in the last half-mile to beat Epicenter by ¾ of a length to win the Kentucky Derby.

Most Jockey Wins

Eddie Arcaro 5 1938, 1941, 1945, 1948, 1952
Bill Hartack 5 1957, 1960, 1962, 1964, 1969
Bill Shoemaker 4 1955, 1959, 1965, 1986
Angel Cordero Jr. 3 1974, 1976, 1985
Calvin Borel 3 2007, 2009, 2010
Earl Sande 3 1923, 1925, 1930
Gary Stevens 3 1988, 1995, 1997
Isaac Murphy 3 1894, 1890, 1891
Kent Desormeaux 3 1998, 2000, 2008
Victor Espinoza 3 2002, 2014, 2015
John Velazquez 3 2011, 2017, 2020

It's becoming tougher and tougher for modern jockeys to have success in a race like this one, but there are a few who really stand out. Calvin Borel has made a living out of winning the Kentucky Derby with late-charging horses who love running on the rail. Victor Espinoza won consecutive Derbies in 2014 and 2015 with California Chrome and American Pharoah. John Velazquez won three Kentucky Derby titles from 2011 to 2020.

Most Trainer Wins

Ben Jones 6 1938, 1941, 1944, 1948, 1949, 1952
Bob Baffert 6 1997, 1998, 2002, 2015, 2018, 2020
D. Wayne Lukas 4 1988, 1995, 1996, 1999
Herbert Thompson 4 1921, 1926, 1932, 1933

If you thought it was tough to try to figure out which jockey was going to win the Kentucky Derby year in and year out, trying to pick the trainer is even harder. Of this list of four men who have won the Run for the Roses at least four times, only one is relatively modern in Bob Baffert. He has trained three recent winners with American Pharoah in 2015, Justify in 2018, and Authentic in 2020.

When Doug O'Neill won the race with Nyquist in 2016 that ended a stretch of 13 consecutive years in which a different trainer won the Kentucky Derby. O'Neill also trained I'll Have Another in 2012.

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best Racebook Betting Odds, Racebook Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top