Epsom Derby Betting - Horse Racing Odds

Home > Horse Racing Betting > Horse Racing News > Epsom Derby

Epsom Derby Betting

Epsom Derby Horse Racing Betting

The Epsom Derby is a Grade 1 race held each year in England at Epsom Derby Racecourse in Surrey. It is a race run over a distance of a mile and four furlongs on the first Saturday in June. The 2019 Epsom Derby will be held on Saturday, June 1, 2019. Because of sponsorship, the race is official known as the Investec Derby, but by many people in England it is simply known as the Derby. It is the middle race in the England Triple Crown, as it follows the 2000 Guineas Stakes and is followed by the St Leger.

2019 Epsom Derby At a Glance

Race Distance: 1 mile, four furlongs and 6 yards

Record: 2:31.33 (Workforce in 2010)

Purse: $1 Million

Qualification: 3-year olds and up

The Epsom Derby has a rich history that goes back many years with the first race being held in May of 1780. The race was won by Diomed and run at a distance of a mile. The current distance of a mile and a half was instituted in 1784. The race was first run in late May or early June. The race was moved to the first Saturday in June in 1995 and has held that day ever since. The Epsom Derby has been run every year except during the World Wars. The race was run at Newmarket from 1915 to 1918 and 1940 to 1945.

The current sponsor of the race is Investec who took over Derby sponsorship in 2009. Their current deal runs until 2022. Previous sponsors were Ever Ready and Vodafone.

The largest winning margin was 10 lengths by Shergar in 1981 and the biggest winning favorite was Ladas in 1894 at odds of 2-9. The longest odds winner was 100-1 in 1898, 1908 and 1913.

List of Epsom Derby Winners (Since 2000)

2018 Masar William Buick Charlie Appleby 2:34.93
2017 Wings of Eagles Padraig Beggy Aidan O'Brien 2:33.02
2016 Harzand Pat Smullen Dermot Weld 2:40.09
2015 Golden Horn Frankie Dettori John Gosden 2:32.32
2014 Australia Joseph O'Brien Aidan O'Brien 2:33.63
2013 Ruler of World Ryan Moore Aidan O'Brien 2:39.06
2012 Camelot Joseph O'Brien Aidan O'Brien 2:33.90
2011 Pour Moi Mickael Barzalona André Fabre Magnier 2:34.54
2010 Workforce Ryan Moore Sir Michael Stoute 2:31.33
2009 Sea the Stars Michael Kinane John Oxx 2:36.74
2008 New Approach Kevin Manning Jim Bolger 2:36.50
2007 Authorized Frankie Dettori Peter Chapple-Hyam 2:34.77
2006 Sir Percy Martin Dwyer Marcus Tregoning 2:35.23
2005 Motivator Johnny Murtagh Michael Bell 2:35.69
2004 North Light Kieren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute 2:33.72
2003 Kris Kin Kieren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute 2:33.35
2002 High Chaparral Johnny Murtagh Aidan O'Brien 2:39.45
2001 Galileo Michael Kinane Aidan O'Brien 2:33.27
2000 Sinndar Johnny Murtagh John Oxx 2:36.75

Most Jockey Wins in Epsom Derby History

The top jockey in this race was Lester Piggott who won this race nine times. He won in 1954 with 1954, Crepello in 1957, St. Paddy in 1960, Sir Ivor in 1968, Nijinsky in 1970, Roberto in 1972, Empery in 1976, The Minstrel in 1977 and Teenoso in 1983.

Most Trainer Wins in Epsom Derby History

Three trainers have won this race seven times, Robert Robson won with Waxy in 1793, Tyrant in 1802, Pope in 1809, Whalebone in 1810, Whisker in 1815, Azor in 1817 and Emilius in 1823. John Porter won with Blue Gown in 1868, Shotover in 1882, St. Blaise in 1883, Ormonde in 1886, Sainfoin in 1890, Common in 1891 and Flying Fox in 1899.  Fred Darling won with Captain Cuttle in 1922, Manna in 1925, Coronach in 1926, Cameronian in 1931, Bois Roussel in 1938, Pont l'Eveque in 1940 and Owen Tudor in 1941.

Horse Racing Betting Bonus

Load your betting bankroll from your smartphone with BookMaker’s new cashier feature! Depositing and withdrawing funds from your account has never been easier for the 2019 Epsom Derby. BookMaker's live betting platform means you always have access to odds, Articles and lines to every sporting event. Click here and start wagering today!

Join Now!

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top