2019 Breeders' Cup Odds - Longines Distaff Lines

Home > Horse Racing Betting > Breeders' Cup Betting > Longines Distaff

Breeders' Cup Longines Distaff

Breeders' Cup Longines Distaff

The big race for the female horses has moved from Friday to Saturday and into a premier spot on the Breeders’ Cup schedule. The Longines Distaff will take place on Saturday each year and feature a prize purse of $2 million dollars. The best fillies and mares in the world will travel 1 1/8 miles in the 7th race of 9 races on Saturday.

The Breeders' Cup Longines Distaff takes place at Santa Anita Park on Saturday, November 2 on NBC Sports Network. Post time for the Distaff is scheduled for 7:00 p.m. ET.

2019 Longines Distaff at a Glance

Race Distance: 1 1/8 miles (changed from 1 1/4 miles in 1988)

Record: 1:46.15 (Inside Information, 1995)

Purse: $2 million

Qualification: 3-year olds and up (fillies and mares)

2019 Breeders' Cup Longines Distaff Field

The post time favorite for this race should be Midnight Bisou for trainer Steve Asmussen. The horse has won 12 times in 18 starts including all seven starts this year. The horse finished third in last year’s Distaff and has lost just once in her career at Santa Anita Park.

The second choice in the betting odds could be Elate for trainer Bill Mott. Elate has won 7 times in 18 starts, but the horse may be entered into the Breeders’ Cup Classic instead of the Distaff. Elate has never beaten Midnight Bisou, so it may not make much sense to try again.

Darkhorse contenders include Dunbar Road and Guarana for trainer Chad Brown and Blue Prize for trainer Ignacio Correas. There is a chance Guarana could be entered into the Filly & Mare Sprint.

Longshots in this race include La Force, Ollie’s Candy, Paradise Woods, Secret Spice, Wow Cat, Street Band, Serengeti Empress and She’s a Julie.

Breeders' Cup Longines Distaff Qualifying

The Breeders' Cup Longines Distaff is always one of the most competitive races at the Breeders' Cup. The field is full virtually every single year at 14 fillies and mares, more than half of the spots of which are filled by winners of the following "Win and You're In" races from earlier in the year.

Breeders' Cup Longines Distaff "Win and You're In" Races

Gran Premio Criadores Hipodromo de Palermo May
Ogden Phipps Stakes Belmont Park June
Fleur de Lis Handicap Churchill Downs June
Clement L. Hirsch Handicap Del Mar Racetrack July
Personal Ensign Handicap Saratoga Race Course August
Cotillion Stakes Parx Racing September
Zenyatta Stakes Santa Anita Park October
Spinster Stakes Keeneland Race Course October

There is obviously going to be a huge advantage to the winner of the Zenyatta Stakes, as the winner is going to be hot coming into the Breeders' Cup each and every year. Most of the other racers in this field are going to end up being Americans, though Argentina's filly or mare champion is also coming to the Breeders' Cup Longines Distaff and often ends up being a serious threat to win the race when it's said and done with.

Breeders' Cup Longines Distaff Winners

2018 Monomoy Girl Florent Geroux Brad Cox 3 1:49.79
2017 Forever Unbridled John Velazquez Dallas Stewart 5 1:50.25
2016 Beholder Gary Stevens Richard Mandella 6 1:49.22
2015 Stopchargingmaria Javier Castellano Todd Pletcher 4 1:48.98
2014 Untapable Rosie Napravnik Steven Asmussen 3 1:48.68
2013 Beholder Gary Stevens Richard Mandella 3 1:47.77
2012 Royal Delta Mike Smith William Mott 4 1:48.80
2011 Royal Delta Mike Smith William Mott 3 1:50.78
2010 Unrivaled Belle Kent Desormeaux William Mott 4 1:50.04
2009 Life Is Sweet Garrett Gomez John Shirreffs 4 1:48.58
2008 Zenyatta Mike Smith John Shirreffs 4 1:46.85
2007 Ginger Punch Rafael Bejarano Robert Frankel 4 1:50.11
2006 Round Pond Edgar Prado Michael Matz 4 1:50.50
2005 Pleasant Home Cornelio Velasquez Shug McGaughey 4 1:48.34
2004 Ashado John Velazquez Todd Pletcher 3 1:48.26
2003 Adoration Pat Valenzuela David Hoffmans 4 1:49.17
2002 Azeri Mike Smith Laura de Seroux 4 1:48.64
2001 Unbridled Elaine Pat Day Dallas Stewart 3 1:49.21
2000 Spain Victor Espinoza D. Wayne Lukas 3 1:47.66

The Breeders' Cup Longines Distaff is one of these races you'd figure would end up having a number of multiple winners in it. Instead, we've only had a pair of fillies go back-to-back. Bayakoa, one of the two international fillies/mares to be named champions of this race won it in both 1989 and 1990. Royal Delta went back-to-back in 2011 and 2012.

Beholder made some history by becoming the first horse to win this race with gaps between her victories. She was a three-year old when she first won the race in 2013, and she came back in 2016 and won it again for trainer, Richard Mandella.

It should be noted that even some of the top fillies in the world didn't end up winning (or winning as much as they probably should have) at the Breeders' Cup Longines Distaff. Zenyatta only has one title in this race (though she did run with the boys in the Breeders' Cup Classic), and Rachel Alexandra never won the Distaff either.

Mike Smith is the top jockey of the Breeders' Cup Longines Distaff having won it five times, most recently in 2012.

William Mott is a five-time winner of the Breeders' Cup Longines Distaff as well. He's got wins in 1997, 1998, 2010, 2011 and 2012 in this race and is sure to be a trainer to watch out for.

Keep an eye on the younger fillies and mares in this race. The Breeders' Cup Longines Distaff was won by either a three-year old or a four-year old horse each year between 1998 and 2015. Bayakoa and Beholder are the only six-year olds to ever win the Breeders' Cup Longines Distaff.

Horse Racing Betting Bonus

Load your betting bankroll from your smartphone with BookMaker’s new cashier feature! Depositing and withdrawing funds from your account has never been easier for the Breeders' Cup. BookMaker's live betting platform means you always have access to odds, Articles and lines to every sporting event. Click here and start wagering today!

Join Now!

Back to Top