NASCAR Betting Odds

Home > Sports Betting > NASCAR Betting > NASCAR Cup Series

NASCAR Betting Online

NASCAR Betting

NASCAR is the most popular form of auto racing in the United States, and not surprisingly, it's the most common form of racing to wager on as well. The handle for the Daytona 500 is bigger than almost all of the other races combined on the calendar across all forms of auto racing, but that doesn't mean that there isn't plenty of betting action throughout the rest of the year as well.

There will be no title sponsor for NASCAR in 2020, as Monster Energy dropped their title sponsorship. The Cup Series will simply be known as the NASCAR Cup Series. There will be 36 races in the NASCAR Cup Series in 2020 with a number of changes incorporated into the schedule.  The series finale has been moved to ISM Raceway at Phoenix, there will be a 10-race postseason as drivers try to get to the finale in Phoenix and the race in Miami moves to March 22nd instead of being the season finale.

Other changes for 2020 include the first Cup race at night at Martinsville, the first weekend doubleheader for the Cup Series at Pocono on June 27 and 28, the Brickyard 400 moving to July 5, and the Daytona summer race moving to August 29 which will be the final Cup race of the regular season.

Drivers who win a race over the course of the year are the first ones eligible to join the Chase for the Championship. Assuming that there aren't 16 different drivers who reached Victory Lane over the course of the first 24 races, the rest of the slots are determined by the points scoring system the likes of which NASCAR has used for years and years.

Once the drivers get into the de facto playoff, they are whittled down in three race blocks. The first three races trim the field from 16 to 12, then next three from 12 to eight, the next three from eight to four, and at that point, the last four drivers standing – known as the Championship 4 – duke it out in Phoenix for the title. Advancement through each of the levels of the tournament is guaranteed with a victory in one of the three races in that stage, though the points reset after every stage.

List of NASCAR Winners (Since 2000)

2019 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
2018 Joey Logano Team Penske Ford
2017 Martin Truex Jr. Furniture Row Racing Toyota
2016 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
2015 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
2014 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing Chevrolet
2013 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
2012 Brad Keselowski Team Penske Dodge
2011 Tony Stewart Stewart-Haas Racing Chevrolet
2010 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
2009 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
2008 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
2007 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
2006 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
2005 Tony Stewart Joe Gibbs Racing Chevrolet
2004 Kurt Busch Roush Racing Ford
2003 Matt Kenseth Roush Racing Ford
2002 Tony Stewart Joe Gibbs Racing Pontiac
2001 Jeff Gordon Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
2000 Bobby Labonte Joe Gibbs Racing Pontiac

The days of Jimmie Johnson dominating the Monster Energy Cup seemed to be said and done with. One of NASCAR's best champions ever had a run of five straight titles from 2006 through 2010, but from 2011 through 2015, five different men ( including him in 2013 ) claimed championship glory, exactly the type of parity that was expected and hoped for out of the Chase for the Championship. That said, J.J. is back on top. He won the 2016 Chase for the Championship for his seventh all-time championship, tying him with the great Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt for the most in the history of this great sport.

NASCAR Betting Bonus

Most Career Monster Energy Championships (By Driver)

7 - Richard Petty - 1964, 1967, 1971, 1972, 1974, 1975, 1979

7 - Dale Earnhardt - 1980, 1986, 1987, 1990, 1991, 1993, 1994

7 - Jimmie Johnson - 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2013, 2016

4 - Jeff Gordon - 1995, 1997, 1998, 2001

3 - Lee Petty - 1954, 1958, 1959

3 - David Pearson - 1966, 1968, 1969

3 - Cale Yarborough - 1976, 1977, 1978

3 - Darrell Waltrip - 1981, 1982, 1985

3 - Tony Stewar - 2002, 2005, 2011

With all of the changes in NASCAR's version of the postseason, it was always looked upon as really hard for anyone to run down Petty and Earnhardt. Johnson was, of course, the only man who realistically had a shot to get the job done after his five straight titles and he tied those two by winning his seventh title in 2016.

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best NASCAR Betting Odds, NASCAR Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top