2022 FIFA World Cup Betting Odds - Qatar World Cup Lines

2022 FIFA World Cup Betting

2022 FIFA World Cup Betting

The world will turn its attention to the tiny nation of Qatar this winter. Qatar will host the 2022 World Cup, but due to the scorching summer temperatures in the Middle East, this competition has been moved to the winter. That will make for an interesting tournament as it will take place right in the middle of the season for the top domestic leagues in the world.

The 2022 World Cup will take place at eight sites in Qatar from November 21 to December 18. In the United States, all of the games will be broadcast on either FOX or FS1.

2022 FIFA World Cup Odds

Brazil +450 England +675 France +615
Spain +825 Argentina +650 Germany +875
Belgium +1500 Portugal +1000 Netherlands +1350
Denmark +3000 Croatia +5000 Uruguay +4350
Switzerland +8500 Senegal +6500 USA +8000
Poland +15000 Serbia +15000 Mexico +13000
Ecuador +15000 Cameroon +25000 Japan +28500
Canada +15000 Qatar +37000 Morocco +27000
South Korea +27000 Saudi Arabia +75000 Ghana +27000
Wales +15000 Tunisia +45000 Iran +60000
Australia +40000 Costa Rica +60000 -

*Odds as of Monday, September 26, 4:00 PM ET

Brazil is the favorite to win the 2022 World Cup. They were fantastic in qualifying and have one of the easiest paths to the knockout rounds. They are heavy favorites to advance to the Round of 16 in a group with Serbia, Switzerland, and Cameroon, and Brazil is looking to add a sixth star to its crest.

Germany can match Brazil and win its fifth World Cup in Qatar. Unfortunately for the Germans, they were a Pot 2 team, so that means they were drawn in the same group as Spain. This is still one of the most technically sound teams in the world, and the young midfield should perform well this winter.

Is this the year that England finally wins a second World Cup? The football mad nation has had a lot of international heartbreak over the decades since lifting the trophy at home in 1966. However, Gareth Southgate has had a ton of success leading the Three Lions as England made the semifinals of the 2018 World Cup and the 2020 European Championship Finals.

2022 FIFA World Cup Groups & Teams

Qatar England Argentina France
Netherlands United States Mexico Denmark
Ecuador Iran Poland Tunisia
Senegal Wales Saudi Arabia Australia
Spain Belgium Brazil Portugal
Germany Croatia Switzerland Ghana
Japan Canada Serbia Uruguay
Costa Rica Morocco Cameroon South Korea
Soccer Betting Picks

FIFA World Cup Format

Qualifying for the World Cup is a drag for the entire world. There's no such thing as an easy road to get to the World Cup, aside from the host nation who will automatically qualify for the field.

The easiest region to get through is CONMEBOL. South America’s federation only has 10 teams, and four of the 10 teams automatically qualify after a double-round robin. The fifth-place team usually has a good chance of getting to the World Cup too through the inter-confederation playoffs.

The rest of the world has its own qualifying procedure. Every FIFA-registered nation has a chance to qualify for the World Cup, but the process takes well over a year for most of the world.

AFA 46 5 + 1 in Intercontinental Playoff
CAF 54 5
CONCACAF 34 3 + 1 in Intercontinental Playoff
CONMEBOL 10 4 + 1 in Intercontinental Playoff
OFC 7 1 in Intercontinental Playoff
UEFA 55 13

Once the field is whittled down to 32 teams, the teams are split into eight, four-team groups. The groups are drawn in such a way to be as fair as possible. That said, Group A, the group that houses the host nation every year, is usually one of the weaker groups by design, knowing that the host nation often isn't one of the global powers.

Each team will play three matches in the group stage. The teams that finish first and second advance into the Round of 16, and that's when the knockout portion of the tournament begins.

The winner of Group A will play the runner-up of Group B, the runner-up of Group A will play the winner of Group B, etc. Unlike in the group stage where all matches are over after 90 minutes, win, lose or draw, there are definitive winners in the knockout rounds. If 90 minutes doesn't decide the match, the fixture will include another 30 minutes of play. If that doesn't separate the teams, a five-round shootout will cruelly determine the team that advances

FIFA World Cup Winners

2018 France Croatia
2014 Germany Argentina
2010 Spain Netherlands
2006 Italy France
2002 Brazil Germany
1998 France Brazil
1994 Brazil Italy
1990 West Germany Argentina
1986 Argentina West Germany
1982 Italy West Germany
1978 Argentina Netherlands
1974 West Germany Netherlands
1970 Brazil Italy
1966 England West Germany
1962 Brazil Czechoslovakia
1958 Brazil Sweden
1954 West Germany Hungary
1950 Uruguay Brazil
1938 Italy Hungary
1934 Italy Czechoslovakia
1930 Uruguay Argentina

World powers have become known as world powers for a reason, and the list of World Cup winners shows us just how much better European and South American soccer has been than the rest of the world. There has never been a team from any other confederation that has made it to the World Cup final.

Brazil, Germany and Italy are the three national powers to watch in every World Cup. These three countries have all won at least four World Cups and have combined to win 13 of the 20 previous tournaments. Brazil's five World Cups top the world, though Germany holds the record for the most finals appearances with eight. Italy will miss the World Cup for the second straight time though despite winning the 2020 European Championships.

At least one European team has been represented in the World Cup final of each tournament since 1950, and 19 of the 21 championship matches all-time have had a team from the region.

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best Soccer Betting Odds, Soccer Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top