2023-24 Spanish La Liga Soccer Betting

2023-24 Spanish La Liga Betting

Spain La Liga Soccer Online Betting

Founded in 1929, La Liga is the top professional soccer league in Spain. La Liga is known for its two power brands, Real Madrid and Barcelona. Indeed, not only have Real Madrid and Barcelona dominated La Liga, but they have also been two of the most successful clubs in the history of the powerhouse UEFA Champions League. Once again, Real Madrid and Barcelona, along with upstart Girona, are favored to win the 2024 La Liga championship.

Soccer Betting Lines

2023-24 Relegation and Promotion

Elche, Espanyol, and Valladolid were relegated from La Liga to the second-tier Segunda Division. Grenada, Las Palmas, and Alaves were promoted from the Segunda Division to La Liga.

2023-24 La Liga Top Clubs

At the onset of the 2023-24 season, Real Madrid won 15 games with three draws and one loss with a goal differential of +29. Girona was tied with Real Madrid with an identical record and a goal differential of +22. In third place was Barcelona, with 12 wins, five draws, two losses, and a goal differential of +14.

Real Madrid – The First Dynasty

Real Madrid boasts 35 La Liga championships, with its latest title in 2021-22. The Whites are equally famous for their success in the UEFA Champions League, where they have won 14 championships, including their latest title in 2021-22. Real Madrid won four UEFA Champions League titles from 2014 through 2018, including three in a row from 2015-16 through 2017-18.

Manager Carlo Ancelotti won a La Liga title for Real Madrid in 2021-22. Ancelotti also won major league championships at AC Milan in Serie A, Chelsea in the English Premier League, and Paris Saint-Germain in Ligue 1.

Jude Bellingham led Real Madrid with 13 goals in its first 17 matches.

Barcelona – The Second Dynasty

Barcelona rivals Real Madrid as the power franchise of La Liga. Barcelona has 27 La Liga titles, including last season. Since 2004-05, Barcelona has won 11 titles. Barcelona has five UEFA Champions League titles, with its most recent championship in 2015.

Xavi has been manager of Barcelona since 2021 and led them to the 2022-23 La Liga title. As a player, he was named World Soccer Player of the Year in 2010. He was a star midfielder for Barcelona from 1998-99 to 2014-15.

Of course, Barcelona has one of the all-time great forwards, Robert Lewandowski. Lewandowski began the 2023-24 campaign with a team-best eight goals in La Liga play. Lewandowski arrived from Bayern Munich of the German Bundesliga in 2022 and has 31 goals in 51 apps for Barcelona. While at Bayern Munich, Lewandowski scored 238 goals in 253 apps. The highly decorated Lewandowski is a two-time FIFA Best Men’s Player (2020 and 2021).

Girona – The Emerging Power

Girona is not nearly the brand of Barcelona, but they are one of the emerging powers in La Liga. And since casuals and squares know little about them, Girona offers consistently superior wagering value compared to the mega brands. Girona has never won a La Liga title.

Miguel Angel Sanchez Munoz is the manager of Girona, where he has served since July 9, 2021. He won two Segunda Division titles at Rayo Vallecano (2017-18) and Huesca (2019-20).

A major contributor to the new success of Girona is forward Artem Dovbyk. The Ukrainian national team star has 11 goals for Girona. It is his first season with the club. Dovbyk has seven goals in 23 apps for the Ukraine national team.

Spanish La Liga Winners (2000)

2022-2023 FC Barcelona
2021-2022 Real Madrid C.F.
2020-2021 Atletico Madrid
2019-2020 Real Madrid C.F.
2018-2019 FC Barcelona
2017-2018 FC Barcelona
2016-2017 Real Madrid C.F.
2015-2016 FC Barcelona
2014-2015 FC Barcelona
2013-2014 Atletico Madrid
2012-2013 FC Barcelona
2011-2012 Real Madrid C.F.
2010-2011 FC Barcelona
2009-2010 FC Barcelona
2008-2009 FC Barcelona
2007-2008 Real Madrid C.F.
2006-2007 Real Madrid C.F.
2005-2006 FC Barcelona
2004-2005 FC Barcelona
2003-2004 Valencia CF
2002-2003 Real Madrid C.F.
2001-2002 Valencia CF
2000-2001 Real Madrid C.F.

Aside from Barcelona and Real Madrid, the next most successful club in Spanish football is Atletico Madrid. Diego Simeone led this club to the 2020-21 La Liga title, and that was the 11th league championship in the club’s long history.

Athletic Bilbao were the team of the 1930s, winning four of their eight La Liga championships during that decade. This club has been incredibly successful given its Basque policy that severely limits its potential player pool. Their youth system sparks envy in a lot of clubs since they must develop their talent as much as possible.

Soccer Betting Picks

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best Soccer Betting Odds, Soccer Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Back to Top