2019 Gold Cup Betting Odds - Bet on CONCACAF Soccer

Home > Sports Betting > Soccer Betting > CONCACAF Gold Cup

2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup Betting

CONCACAF Gold Cup Betting

Over the years, the Gold Cup has seen a number of changes. The competition came from humble beginnings in the 1960s, starting off as the CONCACAF Championship. It was the result of two confederations merging to make CONCACAF the governing body of international football in North and Central America, and it held its first tournament in 1963.

2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup at a Glance

Host Countries: United States, Costa Rica and Jamaica

Dates: Saturday, June 15th - Sunday July 7th, 2019

Teams: 16

Venues: 17 (in 16 host cities)

Defending Champions: United States

View updated 2019 Soccer Futures Odds here!

For the first decade of its existence, the Gold Cup was played in alternating years. The format changed after Haiti’s surprising win in 1973 though. From 1973 to 1989, it was played once every four years, but the competition wasn’t as prioritized as others. That began to change once it was rebranded as the Gold Cup though.

Since its rebranding in 1991, every single Gold Cup has been hosted in some form by the United States. That has allowed the tournament to get a measure of stability it didn’t previously have when it was bouncing around smaller countries. However, there was a trial and error period for its first dozen years as no one seemed to know the best way to schedule it. It moved from once every two years, to once every three years, and it was even played in consecutive years once. That led to some confusion about the competition until determining that it should be played once every two years. Additionally, although it was founded as a regional tournament, guest teams like Brazil, Colombia, Peru, and South Korea have been invited to compete in the past.

Unsurprisingly, the two countries that have dominated the Gold Cup are the United States and Mexico. Mexico has won the most titles of the two nations, capturing three when it was labeled the CONCACAF Championship, and then earning seven more under its current name. The United States failed to win a title before becoming permanent hosts in 1991, but since that time the U.S. has been able to claim six Gold Cups. Costa Rica is the only other nation with multiple wins, claiming the first and last CONCACAF Championships.

2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup Groups

Mexico Costa Rica (H) Honduras United States (H)
Canada Haiti Jamaica Panama
Martinique Nicaragua El Salvador Trinidad & Tobago
Cuba Bermuda Curacao Guyana

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the quarter-finals.

The winner and runner-up of each group will automatically progress to the knockout stages, with the bottom two group finishers being eliminated.

The final of the 2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup will be held at Soldier Field in Chicago. It has a capacity of 61,500 and the final will be held on July 7, 2019.

2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup Venues

Allianz Field St. Paul, Minnesota
Banc of California Stadium Los Angeles, California
Bank of America Stadium Charlotte, North Carolina
BBVA Compass Stadium Houston, Texas
Children’s Mercy Park Kansas City, Kansas
Estacio Nacional de Costa Rica San Jose, Costa Rica
Independence Park Kingston, Jamaica
FirstEnergy Stadium Cleveland, Ohio
Lincoln Financial Field Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Nissan Stadium Nashville, Tennessee
NRG Stadium Houston, Texas
Red Bull Arena Harrison, New Jersey
Rose Bowl Pasadena, California
Soldier Field Chicago, Illinois
Sports Authority Field at Mile High Denver, Colorado
Toyota Stadium Frisco, Texas
University of Phoenix Stadium Glendale, Arizona
Soccer Betting Picks

List of Gold Cup Winners Since 2000

2019 Mexico United States 1-0
2017 United States Jamaica 2-1
2015 Mexico Jamaica 3-1
2013 United States Panama 1-0
2011 Mexico United States 4-2
2009 Mexico United States 5-0
2007 United States Mexico 2-1
2005 United States Panama 3-1 (pen)
2003 Mexico Brazil 1-0 (a.s.d.e.t)
2002 United States Costa Rica 2-0
2000 Canada Colombia 2-0

The 2019 Gold Cup is currently set to be the biggest field ever. The field has increased rapidly as interest has picked up in the event over the years, and many Central American and Caribbean nations will send teams to the event. Bermuda and Guyana are making their first appearances in the competition, while Jamaica are out to win the Gold Cup after finishing runner-up in 2015 and 2017.

The Stars and Stripes and El Tri have combined to win the last nine Gold Cups with the United States winning five titles and Mexico winning four. Those two countries are again the favorites headed into this year’s event, and they are expected to meet at the final in Soldier Field.

This will mark the first time that Gold Cup matches are held outside the North American continent. Group stage matches in San Jose, Costa Rica and Kingston, Jamaica will be the first of their kind in Central America and the Caribbean. Those stadiums are expected to be packed for the competition.

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best Soccer Betting Odds, Soccer Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Back to Top