2021 Copa America Betting Online

2021 CONMEBOL Copa America Betting

2021 CONMEBOL Copa America Betting

We finally have some certainty in regards to 2021 Copa America. It was originally going to be held in Colombia and Argentina, but Colombia was taken out as a host country due to protests and Argentina was removed as a host country due to rising COVID-19 cases. The tournament will now be held in Brazil from June 11 to July 10, 2021. All ten member nations of CONMEBOL will be participating, and Argentina and Brazil are the familiar favorites. Eight of the ten South American countries in CONMEBOL have won this competition, but Venezuela and Ecuador are looking for their first victories. It should be noted that this Copa America is actually a postponement as the tournament was originally scheduled for 2020 but postponed a year due to COVID. Brazil is the defending champion, as they won their ninth title in 2019.

2021 Copa America at a Glance

Host Country: Brazil

Dates: June 11 – July 10, 2021

Teams: 10

Venues: 8

Defending Champion: Brazil

Brazil are one of the favorites to win this year’s Copa America. The Green and Yellow are always one of the favorites at any international competition, as they have a bevy of talent to call upon at any time. Neymar is the most familiar name with 64 goals in 103 appearances, and Philippe Coutinho, Richarlison, Roberto Firmino, and Gabriel Jesus will ensure this attack is potent.

Lionel Messi is back for at least one more international tournament. Messi has done it all in his career except lead Argentina to an international title, and that has caused tons of anguish for himself and Argentina. This is probably his last quality chance at the age of 33 years old. Messi, Sergio Aguero, Angel Di Maria, and Nicolas Otamendi are the old guard members of this roster.

Colombia has just one Copa America title to its credit. Los Cafeteros’ lone cup win came in 2001 when Colombia hosted the tournament for the first time ever. They are the dark horse with talents like Radamel Falcao, Duvan Zapata, James Rodriguez, and Juan Cuadrado.

2021 Copa America Groups

Argentina Colombia
Bolivia Brazil
Uruguay Venezuela
Chile Ecuador
Paraguay Peru

The Group Stage doesn’t matter much in the revamped format of this year’s Copa America. Due to COVID, Australia and Qatar bowed out of the competition to make it an exclusively South American affair. That led to the structure changing from three groups of four teams to two groups of five teams, but eight teams still make the knockout stages. That means only the bottom team from each group will be eliminated, and that is likely to be Bolivia or Paraguay in Group A and Venezuela in Group B.

Argentina and Colombia will have an advantage as they will host all the games in the Group Stage. We have seen two of the last three hosts of this competition go on to win it all, including Brazil in 2019. Brazil needed to overcome a scoreless 120 minutes against Paraguay before beating up on Argentina and Peru to win its ninth Copa America.

2021 Copa America Venues

Venues for 2021 Copa America have yet to be announced, but all locations will be in the host country of Brazil. It is likely that three World Cup stadiums, Mane Garrincha, Arenas da Amazonia and Arena das Dunas will be three of the locales used.

Copa America Winners (1975)

2021 Brazil Argentina Brazil 1-0
2019 Brazil Brazil Peru 3-1
2016 United States Chile Argentina 0-0 (4-2) Pen
2015 Chile Chile Argentina 0-0 (4-1) Pen
2011 Argentina Uruguay Paraguay 3-0
2007 Venezuela Brazil Argentina 3-0
2004 Peru Brazil Argentina 2-2 (4-2) Pen
2001 Colombia Colombia Mexico 1-0
1999 Paraguay Brazil Uruguay 3-0
1997 Bolivia Brazil Bolivia 3-1
1995 Uruguay Uruguay Brazil 1-1 (5-3) Pen
1993 Ecuador Argentina Mexico 2-1
1991 Chile Argentina Brazil *
1989 Brazil Brazil Uruguay **
1987 Argentina Uruguay Chile 1-0
1983 Various Uruguay Brazil 2-0 / 1-1
1979 Various Paraguay Chile 3-0 / 0-1
1975 Various Peru Colombia 0-1 / 2-1

* The tournament winner was decided by a final round-robin group contested by four teams (Argentina, Brazil, Chile, and Colombia).

** The tournament winner was decided by a final round-robin group contested by four teams (Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, and Uruguay).

Surprisingly, Uruguay has won more Copa America titles than any other country. Uruguay was one of the behemoths of international soccer from the 1910s to the 1930s, and that’s when the country won seven of its 15 Copa America crowns.

Argentina has won the second most Copa America championships with 14 titles. Argentina has also finished runner-up a record 14 times, and the Argentines have not won a Copa America title since 1993.

Brazil has won the most World Cups of any team in the world, but the Brazilians are behind the curve in South America. The country has claimed just 8 Copa America titles, and Brazil won just three championships in the first 75 years of the competition.

Soccer Betting Picks

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best Soccer Betting Odds, Soccer Betting Articles and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Back to Top