2024 Indianapolis 500 Odds - IndyCar Series Betting

Indianapolis 500 Betting Online

IndyCar Series Indianapolis 500 Betting

The 2024 Indianapolis 500 takes place on Sunday, May 26, with 33 drivers attempting to pass under the checkered flag first. Positioned as the third favorite on the opening Indy 500 line, Kyle Larson will get plenty of attention. The NASCAR Cup Series driver is making his first IndyCar start and is scheduled to race in the Coca-Cola 600 on the same day. Two IndyCar greats are at the top of the Indy 500 odds board with Scott McLaughlin the favorite at +475 and defending champion Josef Newgarden listed at +500. A total of 12 drivers are listed with odds of 20/1 or shorter with four of those drivers having previously won at The Brickyard.

With his fourth career Indy 500 win in 2021, Helio Castroneves joined A.J. Foyt, Al Unser and Rick Mears with the most victories. One other driver in the field, Japan’s Takuma Sato, has multiple Indy 500 wins. Newgarden won his first Indy 500 last year. McLaughlin won the pole position with the fastest qualifying speed in Indy history and Team Penske earned all three spots on the front row. McLaughlin hasn’t seriously contended in the race, though, with a best finish of 14th in three starts.

2024 Indianapolis 500 At a Glance

Date: Sunday, May 26, 2024

Racetrack: Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis, IN

Track Length: 2.5 miles

Total Laps: 200

Defending Champion: Josef Newgarden

No race in the United States has the history or pageantry of the Indianapolis 500. This will be the 108th running of this race, and 300,000 fans will pack the stands. We are sure to see plenty of excitement as drivers look to drink the milk and kiss the bricks at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, but that latter tradition is relatively recent. Dale Jarrett was the first driver to ceremoniously kiss the bricks after winning the Brickyard 400 in 1996.

2024 Indianapolis 500 Betting Odds

Scott McLaughlin +475

Josef Newgarden +500

Kyle Larson +650

Will Power +725

Pato OWard +1000

Alex Palou +1050

Alexander Rossi +1250

Scott Dixon +1400

Colton Herta +1500

Kyle Kirkwood +1800

Rinus Veekay +2000

Santino Ferrucci +2000

Felix Rosenqvist +2200

David Malukas +2300

Takuma Sato +2500

Ryan Hunter Reay +3000

Christian Rasmussen +3300

Marcus Ericsson +4000

Helio Castroneves +4000

Marco Andretti +4500

For the first time in a decade a driver will attempt one of the most difficult feats in motorsport. Called Double Duty, the term refers to a driver running two races in the same weekend or on the same day. In this case the Indy 500 and Coca-Cola 600 on Sunday.

Kyle Larson, the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series champion qualified fifth in both races. The most accomplished driver in the IndyCar Series is looking for his second Indy 500 win. Scott Dixon has won a record six IndyCar driver’s championships, but his lone Indy 500 victory came in 2008.

2024 Indy 500 Starting Grid

Position, Driver (Car #), Team, Engine

1) Scott McLaughlin (3), Team Penske, Chevrolet

2) Will Power (12), Team Penske, Chevrolet

3) Josef Newgarden (2), Team Penske, Chevrolet

4) Alexander Rossi (7), Arrow McLaren, Chevrolet

5) Kyle Larson (17), Arrow McLaren, Chevrolet

6) Santino Ferrucci (14), AJ Foyt Enterprises, Chevrolet

7) Rinus Veekay (21), Ed Carpenter Racing, Chevrolet

8) Pato OWard (5), Arrow McLaren, Chevrolet

9) Felix Rosenqvist (60), Meyer Shank Racing, Honda

10) Takuma Sato (75), Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, Honda

11) Kyle Kirkwood (27), Andretti Global, Honda

12) Ryan Hunter Reay (23), DRR-CUSICK MOTORSPORTS, Chevrolet

13) Colton Herta (26), Andretti Global, Honda

14) Alex Palou (10), Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda

15) Callum Ilott (6), Arrow McLaren, Chevrolet

16) Marcus Armstrong (11), Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda

17) Ed Carpenter (20), Ed Carpenter Racing, Chevrolet

18) Kyffin Simpson (4), Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda

19) Marco Andretti (98), Andretti Herta, Honda

20) Helio Castroneves (06), Meyer Shank Racing, Honda

21) Scott Dixon (9), Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda

22) Agustin Canapino (78), Juncos Hollinger Racing, Chevrolet

23) Sting Ray Robb (21), A.J. Foyt Enterprises, Chevrolet

24) Christian Rasmussen (33), Ed Carpenter Racing, Chevrolet

25) Tom Blomqvist (66), Meyer Shank Racing, Honda

26) Romain Grosjean (77), Juncos Hollinger Racing, Chevrolet

27) Linus Lundqvist (8), Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda

28) Christian Lundgaard (45), Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, Honda

29) Conor Daly (24), DRR-CUSICK MOTORSPORTS, Chevrolet

30) Pietro Fittipaldi (30), Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, Honda

31) Katherine Legge (51), Dale Coyne Racing, Honda

32) Marcus Ericsson (28), Andretti Global, Honda

33) Graham Rahal (15), Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, Honda

Indianapolis 500 Winners (2000)

2023 Josef Newgarden Team Penske
2022 Marcus Ericsson Chip Ganassi Racing
2021 Helio Castroneves Meyer Shank Racing
2020 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
2019 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske
2018 Will Power Team Pinske
2017 Takuma Sato Andretti Autosport
2016 Alexander Rossi Bryan Herta Autosport
2015 Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske
2014 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport
2013 Tony Kanaan KV Racing Technology
2012 Dario Franchitti Chip Ganassi Racing
2011 Dan Wheldon Bryan Herta Autosport
2010 Dario Franchitti Chip Ganassi Racing
2009 Helio Castroneves Marlboro Team Penske
2008 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing
2007 Dario Franchitti Andretti Green Racing
2006 Sam Hornish Jr. Marlboro Team Penske
2005 Dan Wheldon Andretti Green Racing
2004 Buddy Rice Rahal Letterman Racing
2003 Gil de Ferran Marlboro Team Penske
2002 Helio Castroneves Marlboro Team Penske
2001 Helio Castroneves Marlboro Team Penske
2000 Juan Pablo Montoya Chip Ganassi Racing

Helio Castroneves won his fourth Indy 500 in 2021, becoming the fourth driver to win the race four times. He joined A.J. Foyt, Al Unser and Rick Mears with the most all-time wins. There have been 20 drivers to win this race more than once. Somewhat surprisingly, Scott Dixon is not among those drivers to win this race multiple times.

Most Career Wins (By Driver)

4 Helio Castroneves 2001, 2002, 2009, 2021
4 A.J. Foyt 1961, 1964, 1967, 1977
4 Al Unser, Sr. 1970, 1971, 1978, 1987
4 Rick Mears 1979, 1984, 1988, 1991
3 Louis Meyer 1928, 1933, 1936
3 Wilbur Shaw 1937, 1939, 1940
3 Mauri Rose 1941, 1947, 1948
3 Johnny Rutherford 1974, 1976, 1980
3 Bobby Unser 1968, 1975, 1981
3 Dario Franchitti 2007, 2010, 2012

In 2023, Josef Newgarden became the 75th different driver to win the Indianapolis 500. This is a race that has always been fairly wide open, as there has never been a driver to win it three straight times, and only five drivers have gone back-to-back. Castroneves became the first driver to win back-to-back Indy 500 titles since 1971 when he won here in 2001 and 2002.

Castroneves is one of the four drivers who have won the Indianapolis 500 at least four times. He joins A.J. Foyt, Al Unser Sr., and Rick Mears. All three of these men were contemporaries, as Foyt's wins spanned from 1961 through 1977, Unser's came from 1970 to 1987, and Mears' wins were between 1979 and 1991.

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best NTT IndyCar Series Betting Odds and information about this and all other sports betting events!

Join Now!

Back to Top