2024 The American Express Betting - Bet on FedExCup

2024 The American Express Betting

The American Express PGA Tour Betting

The American Express, a tournament that many people still think of as the Bob Hope Classic, takes place in La Quinta, California in mid-January. Unlike many PGA Tour events, this tournament takes place over three courses, the Jack Nicklaus Tournament Course at PGA West, The Stadium Course at PGA West and La Quinta Country Club. The tournament finally got rid of the five-round format in 2012, so now it is the traditional 72-hole format. The 2024 event will take place from January 18-21 with Jon Rahm as the defending champion.

Catch all of the action at The American Express from Thursday, January 18 through Sunday, January 21.

2024 PGA Tour Betting Lines

2024 The American Express at a Glance

Courses: Nicklaus PGA West, PGA West Stadium, La Quinta Country Club

Par: 72

Course Lengths: 7,181 yards (NT), 7,140 yards (S), 7,060 yards (LQ)

Defending Champion: Jon Rahm

Tournament Record: -28 (Patrick Reed, 2014)

The final round of this event is played on the PGA West Stadium Course in La Quinta, California. It was designed by Pete Dye and has been listed as one of the top 100 courses in the United States by Golf Digest. The course is part of the TPC network of courses and is technically known as the TPC Stadium Course at PGA West.

The Jack Nicklaus Course at PGA West is just under 7,200 yards long and has a stroke rating of 75.3 and a slope rating of 143. It features two island greens.

The course at the La Quinta Country Club was designed by Pete Dye and features pot bunkers, elevated tees and bunkers surrounding many of the greens.

The American Express Winners (2000)

2023 Jon Rahm -27
2022 Hudson Swafford -23
2021 Si Woo Kim -23
2020 Andrew Landry -26
2019 Adam Long -26
2018 Jon Rahm -22
2017 Hudson Swafford -20
2016 Jason Dufner -25
2015 Bill Haas -22
2014 Patrick Reed -28
2013 Brian Gay -25
2012 Mark Wilson -24
2011 Jhonattan Vegas -27
2010 Bill Haas -30
2009 Pat Perez -33
2008 D.J. Trahan -26
2007 Charley Hoffman -17
2006 Chad Campbell -25
2005 Justin Leonard -28
2004 Phil Mickelson -30
2003 Mike Weir -30
2002 Phil Mickelson -30
2001 Joe Durant -36
2000 Jesper Parnevik -27

This event has seen a lot of low scores through the years, but keep in mind that it was a five-round tournament for many of those years. The tournament switched to the traditional four-rounds in 2012 and the scores are more in line with what you normally see at other PGA Tour events.

Golf Betting Bonus

Most Career Wins

5 Arnold Palmer 1960, 1962, 1968, 1971, 1973
2 Jon Rahm 2018, 2023
2 Hudson Swafford 2017, 2022
2 Billy Casper 1965, 1969
2 John Cook 1992, 1997
2 Bill Haas 2010, 2015
2 John Mahaffey 1979, 1984

This tournament was dominated by Arnold Palmer in the 1960’s and early 1970’s, as he won it five times. No one has come close to matching Arnie’s success, but six other players have won the event twice, including Jon Rahm who got his second win in 2023. Because not all of the top players in the world play in this event, it is unlikely Palmer’s record will ever be matched.

Best Winning Tournament Scores

-28 (260) Patrick Reed 2014
-27 (261) Jon Rahm 2023
-26 (262) Andrew Landry 2020
-26 (262) Adam Long 2019
-25 (263) Jason Dufner 2016
-25 (263) Brian Gay 2013

This tournament changed in 2012 to a traditional 72-hole event, so we’ll just list the record since 2012, which is Patrick Reed’s 28-under in 2014. If you go back to the 90-hole event, the record would be -36, set by Joe Durant in 2001.

Join BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best PGA Golf Odds and Golf Articles on the Web, along with sports betting lines, promotions and prop bets for all major sporting events around the world.

Join Now!

Back to Top