2024 Waste Management Phoenix Open Betting - Bet on FedExCup

2024 Waste Management Phoenix Open PGA Betting

Waste Management Phoenix Open PGA Tour Betting

Once we hit the end of the spring, none of the golfers are going to want to be in the desert heat in Scottsdale. But in early February, it's a fantastic time of year to be in Arizona, and the WM Phoenix Open is considered to be a great early-season tournament. The event had previously been known as the Waste Management Phoenix Open but perhaps WM is easier to market for the media. The 2024 WM Phoenix Open did not make the cut in terms of a Signature Event with a $20 million dollar prize purse, so players will have to accept the $8.8 million dollar purse. The field is still strong this year, led by World No.1 and two-time defending champion Scottie Scheffler, Sam Burns, Xander Schauffele, Rickie Fowler, Cameron Young, and Justin Thomas, among others.

Catch all of the action at the WM Phoenix Open from Thursday, February 8 through Sunday, February 11.

2023-2024 PGA Tour Betting Lines

2024 Waste Management Phoenix Open at a Glance

Course: TPC Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ

Par: 71

Course Lengths: 7,261 yards

Defending Champion: Scottie Scheffler

Tournament Record: -28 (Mark Calcavecchia 2001, Phil Mickelson 2013)

This is one of the oldest tournaments in the history of the PGA Tour. Once known as the Arizona Open, the WM Phoenix Open dates all the way back to 1932.

The one notable factor about the WM Phoenix Open is that it concludes on Super Bowl Sunday. Generally speaking, the end of this event doesn't end up coinciding with the start of the Super Bowl, but if the event goes to a playoff, there's always that chance.

Waste Management Phoenix Open Winners (2000)

2023 Scottie Scheffler -19
2022 Scottie Scheffler -16
2021 Brooks Koepka -19
2020 Webb Simpson -17
2019 Rickie Fowler -17
2018 Gary Woodland -18
2017 Hideki Matsuyama -17
2016 Hideki Matsuyama -14
2015 Brooks Koepka -15
2014 Kevin Stadler -16
2013 Phil Mickelson -28
2012 Kyle Stanley -15
2011 Mark Wilson -18
2010 Hunter Mahan -16
2009 Kenny Perry -14
2008 J.B. Holmes -14
2007 Aaron Baddeley -21
2006 J.B. Holmes -21
2005 Phil Mickelson -17
2004 Jonathan Kaye -18
2003 Vijay Singh -23
2002 Chris DiMarco -17
2001 Mark Calcavecchia -28
2000 Tom Lehman -14

The list of winners at the WM Phoenix Open features Scheffler, Koepka, Simpson, Fowler, Matsuyama and Mickelson but also includes Vijay Singh, Sandy Lyle, Paul Azinger, Johnny Miller and Arnold Palmer.

Golf Betting Bonus

Most Career Wins

3 Phil Mickelson 1996, 2005, 2013
3 Mark Calcavecchia 1989, 1992, 2001
3 Gene Littler 1955, 1959, 1969
3 Arnold Palmer 1961, 1962, 1963

You'd think that a tournament with this type of history would have someone win it more than three times in a career. Arnold Palmer had the greatest run in the history of the WM Phoenix Open, winning it three straight years from 1961 through 1963, making him a rare back-to-back winner. Phil Mickelson is the most recently to pull off the trio of wins at the WM Phoenix Open. He captured the crown in 1996 for one of the first victories of his career, and most recently, he was the winner in 2013. Mark Calcavecchia and Gene Littler are also three-time winners of the event. Eleven different men have won the WM Phoenix Open twice.

Best Winning Tournament Scores

-28 (256) Phil Mickelson 2013
-28 (256) Mark Calcavecchia 2001
-26 (258) Steve Jones 1997
-24 (260) Johnny Miller 1975
-23 (261) Vijay Singh 2003
-23 (261) Miller Barber 1971

Though it really looks like the scores have been historically low at the WM Phoenix Open; that really isn't the case. Most of the winning scores have been in the mid-teens. That said, every now and again, someone has come up with a fantastic individual effort to really put away a big-time tournament here in Scottsdale, the most recently of which was when Phil Mickelson fired a -28 and beat the field by four strokes in 2013 for his third championship at the WM Phoenix Open.

The only other time someone shot anywhere near that low was in 2001 when Mark Calcavecchia went off for -28 as well, and he won by eight shots. The biggest margin of victory in the history of the WM Phoenix Open was an insane 14 strokes, a mark which Johnny Miller won by in his second of back-to-back titles in 1975 with his -24 effort.

Join BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best PGA Golf Odds and Golf Articles on the Web, along with sports betting lines, promotions and prop bets for all major sporting events around the world.

Join Now!

Back to Top