2018 Sony Open in Hawaii

HomeGolf LinesGolf Articles › Sentry Tournament of Champions

Sentry Tournament of Champions Betting OddsPGA Tour Golf Betting Odds: The first full-field PGA Tour event of the new calendar year is the Sony Open in Hawaii. It follows on the heels of the Sentry Tournament of Champions in Maui that was a winners-only event. The Sony Open in Hawaii takes place at the Waialae Country Club in Honolulu, Hawaii.  The 2018 event takes place from January 11 through January 14 with 144 golfers competing for $6.2 million in prize money, with the winner taking home just over $1.1 million. This tournament has a rich history, as it began in 1965 as the Hawaii Open. Reigning Player of the Year, Justin Thomas is the defending champion.

Catch all of the action at the Sony Open in Hawaii from Thursday, January 11 through Sunday, January 14.

Sony Open in Hawaii Odds Preview

Sony Open in Hawaii Picks

2018 Sony Open in Hawaii At a Glance

Course: Waialae Country Club, Honolulu, HI

Par: 70

Course Length: 7,044 yards

Defending Champion: Justin Thomas

Tournament Record: -28 (John Huston, 1998)

The Waialae Country Club is located in Honolulu and was founded in 1927. It was designed as a par 72 but it is a par 70 for the Sony Open in Hawaii. The course has a number of interesting holes based on holes from other famous courses. The 8th hole is based on a hole at the North Berwick Golf Club in Scotland. The 10th hole is similar to the 17th or Road hole at St. Andrews in Scotland. The 13th hole is designed based on a hole at the Biarritz Course in France and the 16th hole is similar to a hole at the National Golf Links of America at Southampton, Long Island.

List of Sony Open in Hawaii Winners (Since 2000)

Year Winner Score To Par
2017 Justin Thomas -27
2016 Fabian Gomez -20
2015 Jimmy Walker -23
2014 Jimmy Walker -17
2013 Russell Henley -24
2012 Johnson Wagner -13
2011 Mark Wilson -16
2010 Ryan Palmer -15
2009 Zach Johnson -15
2008 K.J. Choi -14
2007 Paul Goydos -14
2006 David Toms -19
2005 Vijay Singh -11
2004 Ernie Els -18
2003 Ernie Els -16
2002 Jerry Kelly -14
2001 Brad Faxon -20
2000 Paul Azinger -19

Justin Thomas was great in 2016, as he shot 27-under par to win this event. That is one shot off the record that was set in 1998 when the event was known as The United Airlines Hawaii Open. Scores have been low in recent years, as in four of the last five years the winner has shot at least 20-under par. Before Henley shot 24-under par in 2013, the previous 11 winners all shot 19-under or worse.

Most Career Wins at Sony Open in Hawaii

Wins Golfer Years
2 Hubert Green 1978, 1979
2 Corey Pavin 1986, 1987
2 Lanny Wadkins 1988, 1991
2 Ernie Els 2003, 2004
2 Jimmy Walker 2014, 2015

Five golfers have won this event twice, most recently Jimmy Walker who won the event in 2014 and 2015. Some famous names are on the list, including Ernie Els who won this event in 2003 and in 2004.

Best Winning Tournament Scores at Sony Open in Hawaii

Score Golfer Year
-28 (260) John Huston 1998
-27 (253) Justin Thomas 2017

Huston has the record for most under par in this event at -28 under set in 1998, but Thomas did shoot -27 in 2017 and had a lower overall score at 253, but the course was different in 1998 for Huston, as it was a par 72, while Thomas played the course at par 70 in 2017.

Join BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best PGA golf betting odds on the Web, along with Golf Articles, sports betting lines, promotions and prop bets for all major sporting events around the world.

Join Now!
Back to Top