2024 Puerto Rico Open Betting - Bet on FedExCup

2024 Puerto Rico Open PGA Betting

2024 Puerto Rico Open PGA Betting

An alternate event on the PGA Tour is the Puerto Rico Open. Oftentimes the event has been held opposite a WGC event, but in 2024 it is going to be held the same week as the Arnold Palmer Invitational. What that means is that the quality of the field in Puerto Rico will be weak. What will not change is that it will be a good chance for a player to get his first PGA Tour win, because none of the top players in the world will be in the field. The event was first played in 2008 and it is played at the Grand Reserve Country Club, in Rio Grande, Puerto Rico. The winner of this event does get FedEx Cup points and some other perks like entry into the Players Championship and a two-year PGA Tour exemption, but there is no Masters invite. Nico Echavarria is the defending champion.

Catch all of the action at the Puerto Rico Open from Thursday, March 7 through Sunday, March 10.

2023-2024 PGA Tour Betting Lines

2024 Puerto Rico Open at a Glance

Course: Grand Reserve Country Club, Rio Grande, Puerto Rico

Par: 72

Course Lengths: 7,506 yards

Defending Champion: Nico Echavarria

Tournament Record: -21 (Nico Echavarria 2023, Chesson Hadley, 2014)

This event awards 300 FedEx Cup points compared to the 500 for a normal PGA Tour event. All of the top players in the world are either at the Arnold Palmer Invitational or not playing this event, so the field is weaker than in a normal week. That is good news for the players who are looking for their first PGA Tour victory. The prize pool is still pretty good, with over a half a million dollars going to the winner and regardless of whether it is a full PGA Tour event or not, it counts as a PGA Tour win and comes with a two-year exemption.

Puerto Rico Open Winners (2000)

2023 Nico Echavarria -21
2022 Ryan Brehm -20
2021 Branden Grace -19
2020 Viktor Hovland -20
2019 Martin Trainer -15
2018 Not Held
2017 D.A. Points -20
2016 Tony Finau -12
2015 Alex Cejka -7
2014 Chesson Hadley -21
2013 Scott Brown -20
2012 George McNeill -16
2011 Michael Bradley -16
2010 Derek Lamely -19
2009 Michael Bradley -14
2008 Greg Kraft -14

The list of winners of this event is definitely not a who’s who, as most of the players are those who rarely crack the top 50 at a normal PGA Tour event. There are some exceptions however, as sometimes younger players who are on their way up have won this event in the past. One of those is Tony Finau, who won this event in 2016 and is one of the young stars in golf. Viktor Hovland is another one, as he won this event in 2020.

Golf Betting Bonus

Most Career Wins

2 Michael Bradley 2009, 2011

The only two-time winner of this event is Michael Bradley who won this event in 2009 and in 2011. Bradley is one of those golfers who has enough talent to win on the PGA Tour but has never really delivered on his potential.

Best Winning Tournament Scores

-21 Nico Echavarria 2023
-21 Chesson Hadley 2014
-20 Ryan Brehm 2022
-20 Viktor Hovland 2020
-20 D.A. Points 2017
-20 Scott Brown 2013

The scores in this event have been getting better in recent seasons. Nico Echavarria shot a record-tying 21-under in 2023. Chesson Hadley first set the record when he shot 21-under par in 2014. The victory in 2017 by Points was the third one in his PGA Tour career. It was a huge win for Points who had lost his PGA Tour card and received a two-year exemption.

Join BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best PGA Golf Odds and Golf Articles on the Web, along with sports betting lines, promotions and prop bets for all major sporting events around the world.

Join Now!

Back to Top