2024 Genesis Invitational Betting - Bet on FedExCup

2024 Genesis Invitational PGA Betting

Genesis Invitational PGA Tour Betting

The Genesis Invitational is the last event of the "West Coast Swing" to kick off the new calendar year, and it used to be that many players would skip this event to head down to Florida but that is no longer the case, as The Genesis Invitational is a Signature Event. Riviera Country Club in Pacific Palisades, California is one of the top courses in the world and a great test of golfing skill. There is a good chance that the 2024 event will have a strong field, as The Genesis Invitational is a Signature Event and that means a $20 million dollar prize purse. It is almost a given that we will see the majority of the world’s top players in the field for this event. Jon Rahm is the defending champion.

Catch all of the action at the Genesis Invitational from Thursday, February 15 through Sunday, February 18.

2023-2024 PGA Tour Betting Lines

2024 Genesis Invitational at a Glance

Course: Riviera Country Club, Pacific Palisades, CA

Par: 71

Course Lengths: 7,322 yards

Defending Champion: Jon Rahm

Tournament Record: -20 (Lanny Wadkins, 1985)

The Genesis Invitational has been played all over the place in the Los Angeles area. In 1973, Riviera Country Club effectively became the permanent home of the event, though there have been a few examples of other courses taking over while Riviera was getting ready to host bigger events such as the PGA Championship in 1983 and the U.S. Senior Open in 1998.

Genesis Invitational Winners (2000)

2023 Jon Rahm -17
2022 Joaquin Niemann -19
2021 Max Homa -12
2020 Adam Scott -11
2019 J.B. Holmes -14
2018 Bubba Watson -12
2017 Dustin Johnson -17
2016 Bubba Watson -15
2015 James Hahn -6
2014 Bubba Watson -15
2013 John Merrick -11
2012 Bill Haas -7
2011 Aaron Baddeley -12
2010 Steve Stricker -16
2009 Phil Mickelson -15
2008 Phil Mickelson -12
2007 Charles Howell III -16
2006 Rory Sabbatini -13
2005 Adam Scott -9
2004 Mike Weir -17
2003 Mike Weir -9
2002 Len Mattiace -15
2001 Robert Allenby -8
2000 Kirk Triplett -12

The Genesis Invitational has usually been extremely competitive but in 2017 it was Dustin Johnson winning by five shots. Before that win you have to go back to 1997 for the last time the winner won by more than two shots, as Nick Faldo beat Craig Stadler by three shots.

The Genesis Invitational has been decided in a playoff eight times since 2001, including a whopping six-man playoff in '01 when Robert Allenby won the event.

Golf Betting Bonus

Most Career Wins

4 Macdonald Smith 1928, 1929, 1932, 1934
4 Lloyd Mangrum 1949, 1951, 1953, 1956
3 Ben Hogan 1942, 1947, 1948
3 Bubba Watson 2014, 2016, 2018
3 Arnold Palmer 1963, 1966, 1967

The career winnings list at the Genesis Invitational is almost all about the old-time players. The first four-time winner of this event, Macdonald Smith, had his fourth win at that then Los Angeles Open before any of today's golfers were even born. His triumphs came in 1928, 1929, 1932 and 1934. Shortly after Smith won his four, Ben Hogan and Lloyd Mangrum dominated the links in Tinseltown. The two combined for seven titles between 1942 and 1956. The great Arnold Palmer had one of the best runs in this tournament's history as well, winning in 1963, 1966 and 1967. Bubba Watson broke into the three-time winner’s group by winning in 2018. There are 12 golfers who have won this event twice on top of this list of five golfers.

Best Winning Tournament Scores

-20 (264) Lanny Watkins 1985
-19 (265) Joaquin Niemann 2022
-18 (266) Fred Couples 1990
-17 (267) Jon Rahm 2023
-17 (267) Mike Weir 2004
-17 (267) Chip Beck 1988

The history of the Genesis Invitational suggests that there are going to be some relatively good scores but that has not always been the case. In 2015, James Hahn won this event at -6 at Riviera, and in 2012, Bill Haas wasn't much better in his winning year at -7. This is a tournament that has featured six winners with above par scores, including a whopping +12 that Denny Shute won this event with back in 1930 – and he won by four shots!

The best score ever carded in the history of the Genesis Invitational was -20 back in 1985 when Lanny Watkins, of all people, reached that magical number. Since then, six golfers have hit -17 or better, the most recent of which was Jon Rahm in 2023.

Join BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best PGA Golf Odds and Golf Articles on the Web, along with sports betting lines, promotions and prop bets for all major sporting events around the world.

Join Now!

Back to Top