2024 Sentry Tournament of Champions Betting - Bet on FedExCup

2024 Sentry Tournament of Champions Betting

Sentry Tournament of Champions PGA Tour Betting

The first event of the 2024 calendar year is the Sentry Tournament of Champions in Hawaii. The tournament used to be for golfers who won at least one PGA Tour event in the previous calendar year, but now the field also includes players who finished in the Top 50 in last year’s FedExCup points list. The Sentry Tournament of Champions takes place at Kapalua Resort in Maui, with Jon Rahm the defending champion. Some of the top players eligible for the 2023 event include World No. 1 Scottie Scheffler, Jon Rahm, Rory McIlroy, Max Homa, Collin Morikawa, Viktor Hovland, and Tony Finau, among others. The Sentry will be one of eight signature events that have a prize purse of $8 million dollars. There are a total of eight signature events for 2024, not including the majors, Players Championship and playoff events.

Catch all of the action at the Sony Tournament of Champions from Thursday, January 4 through Sunday, January 7.

2024 PGA Tour Betting Lines

2024 Sentry Tournament of Champions At a Glance

Course: Plantation Course at Kapalua, Maui, HI

Par: 73

Course Length: 7,596 yards

Defending Champion: Jon Rahm

Tournament Record: -34 (Cameron Smith, 2022)

The Sentry Tournament of Champions began simply as the Tournament of Champions in 1953. A number of players have won this event more than once, including Jack Nicklaus, who holds the all-time record with five wins. Scoring has been excellent in the Tournament of Champions through the years. Cameron Smith holds the course record with a 34-under par in 2022. The course is unusual because it is a par 73, something rarely seen in golf. The course features large fairways and generous greens, plus the weather is almost always excellent in Maui.

Sentry Tournament of Champions Winners (2000)

2023 Jon Rahm -27
2022 Cameron Smith -34
2021 Harris English -25
2020 Justin Thomas -20
2019 Xander Schauffele -23
2018 Dustin Johnson -24
2017 Justin Thomas -22
2016 Jordan Spieth -30
2015 Patrick Reed -21
2014 Zach Johnson -19
2013 Dustin Johnson -16
2012 Steve Stricker -23
2011 Jonathan Byrd -24
2010 Geoff Ogilvy -22
2009 Geoff Ogilvy -24
2008 Daniel Chopra -18
2007 Vijay Singh -14
2006 Stuart Appleby -8
2005 Stuart Appleby -21
2004 Stuart Appleby -22
2003 Ernie Els -31
2002 Sergio Garcia -18
2001 Jim Furyk -18
2000 Tiger Woods -16

It should come as no surprise that it is a who’s who list of winners in this event since it is a winner’s only tournament. Somewhat surprisingly, there have been some runaway winners in this event. Geoff Ogilvy won by six shots in 2009 and Ernie Els won in 2003 by eight shots.

Golf Betting Bonus

Most Career Wins

5 Jack Nicklaus 1963, 1964, 1971, 1973, 1977
3 Stuart Appleby 2004, 2005, 2006
3 Gene Littler 1955, 1956, 1957
3 Arnold Palmer 1962, 1965, 1966
3 Tom Watson 1979, 1980, 1984

Jack Nicklaus dominated this event for more than a decade, winning it five times. Four other golfers have won this event three times, but none of those three-time winners are currently active.

Best Winning Tournament Scores

-32 (258) Cameron Smith 2022
-31 (261) Ernie Els 2003
-30 (262) Jordan Spieth 2016
-27 (265) Jon Rahm 2023
-26 (266) David Duval 1999
-24 (268) Dustin Johnson 2018
-24 (268) Jonathan Byrd 2011
-24 (268) Geoff Ogilvy 2009

The scores for this event have almost always been excellent, and Cameron Smith shot 34-under par in 2022 to set the record. Ernie Els previously held the record in 2003 at 31-under par. Jordan Spieth nearly matched that score in 2016 when he shot 30-under par. In eight of the last nine years, the winners of this event have shot at least 21-under par.

Join BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best PGA Golf Odds and Golf Articles on the Web, along with sports betting lines, promotions and prop bets for all major sporting events around the world.

Join Now!

Back to Top