Miss World Betting Odds

Home > Events Betting > Entertainment Betting > Miss World

Miss World Betting Odds

Miss World Betting

The first Miss World contest was held in 1951. The competition was founded by Eric Morley, and it was the first major international beauty pageant. However, while it was dubbed Miss World, it was anything but as 20 of the first 26 entrants were British. Despite a weighted field favoring a British woman winning the inaugural competition, Kiki Hakansson of Sweden was the first winner of the famous beauty pageant.

It wasn’t until 1953 that Miss World only allowed one entrant per nation. In that year, London citizens gathered to watch 15 women from around the world compete for the title, and the number of entrants has grown almost exponentially since that point. The last Miss World saw entrants from 111 nations take the stage, but the 2020 Miss World competition is under threat of being cancelled due to the coronavirus epidemic.

Miss World Preview

The very first Miss World was a glorified swimsuit contest, and the winner was crowned while wearing a swimsuit for each of the contest’s first 25 years. It wasn’t until 1976 that evening gowns became the go-to attire, and the competition has further evolved since that point. In 1980, the format grew to make Miss World more than just a looks-based pageant, as there were personality and intelligence tests added to go along with a new slogan, “Beauty with a Purpose”. That slogan has been used in conjunction with Miss World since that point.

Accordingly, there are other smaller competitions that run alongside Miss World now. There is a Beauty with a Purpose portion of the competition where contestants highlight a charity project in their nation, a talent show, and a modeling segment

Miss World Winners

2019 Toni-Ann Singh Jamaica
2018 Vanessa Ponce Mexico
2017 Manushi Chhillar India
2016 Stephanie Del Valle Puerto Rico
2015 Mireia Lalaguna Spain
2014 Rolene Strauss South Africa
2013 Megan Young Philippines
2012 Yu Wenxia China
2011 Ivian Sarcos Venezuela
2010 Alexandria Mills United States
2009 Kaiane Aldorino Gibraltar
2008 Ksenia Sukhinova Russia
2007 Zhang Zilin China
2006 Tatana Kucharova Czech Republic
2005 Unnur Birna Vilhjalmsdottir Iceland
2004 Maria Julia Mantilla Peru
2003 Rosanna Davison Ireland
2002 Azra Akin Turkey
2001 Agbani Darego Nigeria
2000 Priyanka Chopra India
1999 Yukta Mookhey India
1998 Linor Abargil Israel
1997 Diana Hayden India
1996 Irene Skliva Greece
1995 Jacqueline Aguilera Venezuela
1994 Aishwarya Rai India
1993 Lisa Hanna Jamaica
1992 Julia Kourotchkina Russia
1991 Ninibeth Leal Venezuela
1990 Gina Tolleson United States
1989 Aneta Kreglicka Poland
1988 Linda Petursdottir Iceland
1987 Ulla Weigerstorfer Austria
1986 Giselle Laronde Trinidad and Tobago
1985 Holmfriour Karlsdottir Iceland
1984 Astrid Carolina Herrera Venezuela
1983 Sarah-Jane Hutt United Kingdom
1982 Mariasela Alvarez Dominican Republic
1981 Pilin Leon Venezuela
1980 Gabriella Brum / Kimberley Santos Germany / Guam
1979 Gina Swainson Bermuda
1978 Silvana Suarez Argentina
1977 Mary Stavin Sweden
1976 Cindy Breakspeare Jamaica
1975 Wilnelia Merced Puerto Rico
1974 Helen Morgan / Anneline Kriel United Kingdom / South Africa
1973 Marjorie Wallace / Patsy Yuen United States / Jamaica
1972 Belinda Green Australia
1971 Lucia Petterle Brazil
1970 Jennifer Hosten Grenada
1969 Eva Rueber-Staier Austria
1968 Penelope Plummer Australia
1967 Madeleine Hartog-Bel Peru
1966 Reita Faria India
1965 Lesley Langley United Kingdom
1964 Ann Sidney United Kingdom
1963 Carole Joan Crawford Jamaica
1962 Catharina Lodders Netherlands
1961 Rosemarie Frankland United Kingdom
1960 Norma Cappagli Argentina
1959 Corine Rottschafer Netherlands
1958 Penelope Anne Coelen South Africa
1957 Marita Lindahl Finland
1956 Petra Schurmann Germany
1955 Susana Duijm Venezuela
1954 Antigone Costanda Egypt
1953 Denise Perrier France
1952 May-Louise Flodin Sweden
1951 Kiki Hakansson Sweden

India and Venezuela have each seen six of their women be crowned Miss World, making these two countries the most successful in this competition. Four different contestants from India won the competition in a seven-year stretch from 1994 to 2000 (highlighted by the incomparable Aishwarya Rai), while Venezuela’s winners have been more spread out since Susana Duijm became the first South American to win Miss World in 1955.

Three women have been forced to give up the crown, but we haven’t seen that happen in this competition since 1980. The first American to win (Marjorie Wallace) was stripped of her title due to some sensationalized scandals in the tabloids, and first runner-up Evangeline Pascual refused to replace her. The very next year, Helen Morgan was forced to resign after tabloids ran scurrilous stories about her having a child out of wedlock, and Gabriella Brum was only Miss World for a day in 1980 after the media discovered nude photos of Brum in a magazine.

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best Entertainment Betting Odds and information about this and all other betting events!

Join Now!

Best Online Casino Promo Code in USA
Back to Top