Dancing With The Stars Betting Odds

Dancing with the Stars Betting

Dancing With The Stars Betting

ABC broke into the reality television scene in 2005 with the debut of Dancing with the Stars, a series which pits celebrities against each other in a dancing contest. The stars are paired with dancing experts, many of which have been on the show for years and years, and it's up to those experts to draw the best out of their partners.

The prize money won is relatively nominal by the standards of the superstars, though most of the people on the show are paid for their appearance regardless of how they perform. Instead, the big draw for celebrities is the chance to grow their brand. Most of the celebrities featured on the show are niche stars looking to broaden their appeal in a mainstream audience, and their appearance has generally helped them accomplish that goal. The winner receives the "Mirrorball," the now iconic trophy of Dancing with the Stars.

Each season of Dancing with the Stars generally begins with around a dozen competitors. The biggest field yet featured 16 competitors in the fall of 2009, but that was seen as too many people to cram into a season that lasts just 11 weeks. Since that tipping point, we have seen 10 to 13 competitors take part in the show.

Generally, contestants are eliminated one-by-one until there are just three contestants remaining. Though there are judges for commentary, the decision of who is going home and who will ultimately win is up to the viewers who vote via social media and the Dancing with the Stars website/phone lines.

Dancing with the Stars Winners

1 Kelly Monaco Alec Mazo
2 Drew Lachey Cheryl Burke
3 Emmitt Smith Cheryl Burke
4 Apolo Anton Ohno Julianne Hough
5 Helio Castroneves Julianne Hough
6 Kristi Yamaguchi Mark Ballas
7 Brooke Burke Derek Hough
8 Shawn Johnson Mark Ballas
9 Donny Osmond Kym Johnson
10 Nicole Scherzinger Derek Hough
11 Jennifer Grey Derek Hough
12 Hines Ward Kym Johnson
13 J.R. Martinez Karina Smirnoff
14 Donald Driver Peta Murgatroyd
15 Melissa Rycroft Tony Dovolani
16 Kellie Pickler Derek Hough
17 Amber Riley Derek Hough
18 Meryl Davis Maksim Chmerkovskiy
19 Alfonso Ribeiro Witney Carson
20 Rumer Willis Valentin Chmerkovskiy
21 Bindi Irwin Derek Hough
22 Nyle DiMarco Peta Murgatroyd
23 Laurie Hernandez Valentin Chmerkovskiy
24 Rashad Jennings Emma Slater
25 Jordan Fisher Lindsay Arnold
26 Adam Rippon Jenna Johnson
27 Bobby Bones Sharna Burgess
28 Hannah Brown Alan Bersten

The most successful dancer in the history of Dancing with the Stars is Derek Hough. Although his sister, Julianne Hough, won multiple Mirror Ball Trophies before Derek won his first, he has become the most decorated dancer since the show’s inception. Hough won his first Mirror Ball Trophy in Season 7, and he has helped lead his celebrity to five other victories since his initial success. He is the only dancer to win this competition in consecutive seasons multiple times in his tenure.

Cheryl Burke was the first repeat winner, and Julianne Hough was the only other dancer to win consecutive titles. Mark Ballas, Peta Murgatroyd, Kym Johnson, and Valentin Chmerkovskiy are the other multiple time winners among the dancers.

Athletes have been incredibly successful on this show over the years. There have been four NFL players (Emmitt Smith, Hines Ward, Donald Driver, and Rashad Jennings) that have hoisted the Mirror Ball Trophy, and nearly half of the show’s celebrity winners have been athletes. Apolo Anton Ohno was a speed skater, Kristi Yamaguchi and Adam Rippon were figure skaters, Shawn Johnson and Laurie Hernandez were gymnasts, and Meryl Davis was an ice dancer.

Reality show contestants have had a lot of success too, owing mainly to their fans making their voices heard with fervent voting. Kellie Pickler and Bobby Bones both rose to prominence through American Idol, while the most recent winner (Hannah Brown) made a name for herself in The Bachelor and The Bachelorette. Pop stars like Drew Lachey, Donny Osmond, Nicole Scherzinger, and Jordan Fisher have all used their talents to win the season too.

Log into BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best Entertainment Betting Odds and information about this and all other betting events!

Join Now!

Back to Top